Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a6a8eb8cb34093200007a

Reconstruct the Sentence

Get the sentence back in the proper order, remove duplicate lines, and then combine the separate lines into one.

Start file
time you're 7
in the 4
proper order 5
will be 2
by the 5
by the 5
put back 3
Vim! 10
done with 8
put back 3
This sentence 1
it in 9
End file
This sentence will be put back in the proper order by the time you're done with it in Vim!

View Diff

1,12c1
< time you're 7
< in the 4
< proper order 5
< will be 2
< by the 5
< by the 5
< put back 3
< Vim! 10
< done with 8
< put back 3
< This sentence 1
< it in 9
---
> This sentence will be put back in the proper order by the time you're done with it in Vim!

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 323 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#324 Chirag Tailor / @ctailor2 - Score: 164 - 01/27/14 @ 02:14
jjjjjjjjjjdd0ggpuPjjjjddkkkpuPjjjjjjddkkkkkPjjd2dkP<Down><Down><Down>ddkkpkkkjjjjjjkkjddjkkjjddkPjjjddkPjjdd:%s/ \d//g<CR>u:%s/ \d*/<Left>$<Right>/g<CR>dd<Up><Down>A<Esc>u<Up>ou<Esc>uo<Esc>uJ<Up>J<Up>uu<Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up>JJJJJJJJJ:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @elasticdog

324 active golfers, 1034 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
20
#61 - JonLz / @LzJon

12/26/2012 at 05:10PM

20
#62 - Averell Dalton / @webtwoosucks

01/02/2013 at 10:53PM

20
#63 - Alec Goebel / @zego5360

01/07/2013 at 01:07AM

20
#64 - Jimmy Mabey / @mabeyj

01/20/2013 at 03:03AM

20
#65 - Niels Madan / @nielsmadan

01/23/2013 at 11:05AM

20
#66 - Taro Yamada / @t_yamada8karad

01/23/2013 at 01:48PM

20
#67 - Yann Moisan / @YannMoisan

02/01/2013 at 04:33PM

20
#68 - xavier kt / @xav_kt

02/03/2013 at 08:59PM

20
#69 - Ryan Scarbery / @ryan_scarbery

02/05/2013 at 06:19PM

20
#70 - Adam Bell / @adamgbell

02/17/2013 at 11:48PM

20
#71 - Andrew Hlavats / @farthestworld

03/01/2013 at 06:51AM

20
#72 - igoodrich / @igoodrich

03/05/2013 at 07:40AM

20
#73 - Matt Adelman / @Xavierstein

03/20/2013 at 06:26PM

20
#74 - Trevor Powell / @DoomedBunnies

03/25/2013 at 06:05AM

20
#75 - Brent Carmer / @brent_carmer

04/09/2013 at 01:34AM

20
#76 - Kate / @Arohanui

05/03/2013 at 01:38AM

20
#77 - Petro Тrouq / @zulolosi

05/03/2013 at 06:04AM

20
#78 - Marco Hinz / @_mhinz_

05/22/2013 at 10:15AM

20
#79 - shark dick / @DickShark

05/26/2013 at 01:03PM

20
#80 - Adam Pohorecki / @apohorecki

06/12/2013 at 11:07AM

20
#81 - Woojung Kim 김우중 / @_kimwz

07/12/2013 at 07:58AM

20
#82 - Bradd Szonye / @bszonye

07/13/2013 at 09:30AM

20
#83 - Ingo / @ist3fani

07/30/2013 at 02:32PM

20
#84 - Stephen Drodge / @sjdrodge

09/19/2013 at 02:35AM

20
#85 - A. N. / @arez42

10/24/2013 at 10:36AM

20
#86 - Joonas Pihlajamaa / @jokkebk

03/19/2014 at 12:31PM

20
#87 - RB / @powerage88

03/23/2014 at 07:35PM

20
#88 - John Braxler / @braxler

04/02/2014 at 01:13PM

20
#89 - Michael Comerford / @MComerford1

09/24/2014 at 11:48PM

20
#90 - Jakob / @jajob

10/26/2014 at 07:04PM