Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a6a8eb8cb34093200007a

Reconstruct the Sentence

Get the sentence back in the proper order, remove duplicate lines, and then combine the separate lines into one.

Start file
time you're 7
in the 4
proper order 5
will be 2
by the 5
by the 5
put back 3
Vim! 10
done with 8
put back 3
This sentence 1
it in 9
End file
This sentence will be put back in the proper order by the time you're done with it in Vim!

View Diff

1,12c1
< time you're 7
< in the 4
< proper order 5
< will be 2
< by the 5
< by the 5
< put back 3
< Vim! 10
< done with 8
< put back 3
< This sentence 1
< it in 9
---
> This sentence will be put back in the proper order by the time you're done with it in Vim!

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 324 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#325 Chirag Tailor / @ctailor2 - Score: 164 - 01/27/14 @ 02:14
jjjjjjjjjjdd0ggpuPjjjjddkkkpuPjjjjjjddkkkkkPjjd2dkP<Down><Down><Down>ddkkpkkkjjjjjjkkjddjkkjjddkPjjjddkPjjdd:%s/ \d//g<CR>u:%s/ \d*/<Left>$<Right>/g<CR>dd<Up><Down>A<Esc>u<Up>ou<Esc>uo<Esc>uJ<Up>J<Up>uu<Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up>JJJJJJJJJ:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @elasticdog

325 active golfers, 1038 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
21
#151 - david ta / @tadavid

04/16/2012 at 12:56AM

21
#152 - mnx / @mnxx

05/09/2012 at 03:25PM

21
#153 - Kerson Hsiao / @KersonHsiao

07/23/2012 at 12:22PM

21
#154 - Tim Uruski / @timuruski

08/12/2012 at 01:14AM

21
#155 - Martin Petrov / @mgpetrov

08/23/2012 at 01:38PM

21
#156 - vansan / @VinceVansan

08/25/2012 at 05:31PM

21
#157 - tmr / @tmr314

09/08/2012 at 05:50PM

21
#158 - Tom Cammann / @tea_sea

10/12/2012 at 12:24PM

21
#159 - Darcy Parker / @DarcyParker

10/16/2012 at 06:15PM

21
#160 - G. Ahtune / @gahtune

11/03/2012 at 11:51AM

21
#161 - Marcin Sza / @coot_

11/22/2012 at 11:05PM

21
#162 - Lieven Keersmaekers / @LievenKeersmaek

12/15/2012 at 09:03PM

21
#163 - z0k / @z0k

12/19/2012 at 11:40PM

21
#164 - nirosys / @nirosys

01/17/2013 at 02:07AM

21
#165 - Tom Duijf / @tomduijf

01/29/2013 at 11:08PM

21
#166 - Steve Tjoa / @stevetjoa

01/30/2013 at 08:14AM

21
#167 - Kai Yuan / @kentyuan

02/21/2013 at 06:13PM

21
#168 - Claes Mogren / @claesmogren

03/23/2013 at 11:01PM

21
#169 - Tyler / @tylerbindon

03/31/2013 at 05:21AM

21
#170 - Eric Potter / @pottereric

06/07/2013 at 04:59PM

21
#171 - Nathan / @NathanHarperoni

07/24/2013 at 04:32PM

21
#172 - A / @Tower_1980

07/29/2013 at 01:55PM

21
#173 - cj / @cj01101

08/08/2013 at 07:51PM

21
#174 - yaon / @yaon4

09/12/2013 at 09:34AM

21
#175 - Oliver Christ / @0liverChrist

09/25/2013 at 09:27PM

21
#176 - Dom Armstrong / @dom_cycleface

09/26/2013 at 12:59PM

21
#177 - Casey Dwyer / @caseydwyer

11/04/2013 at 05:33AM

21
#178 - Karun Ramakrishnan / @the_karun

11/27/2013 at 12:55AM

21
#179 - Salleyron Julien / @juguul

12/30/2013 at 05:45PM

21
#180 - Quota / @Quotad

01/29/2014 at 08:53AM