Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a6a8eb8cb34093200007a

Reconstruct the Sentence

Get the sentence back in the proper order, remove duplicate lines, and then combine the separate lines into one.

Start file
time you're 7
in the 4
proper order 5
will be 2
by the 5
by the 5
put back 3
Vim! 10
done with 8
put back 3
This sentence 1
it in 9
End file
This sentence will be put back in the proper order by the time you're done with it in Vim!

View Diff

1,12c1
< time you're 7
< in the 4
< proper order 5
< will be 2
< by the 5
< by the 5
< put back 3
< Vim! 10
< done with 8
< put back 3
< This sentence 1
< it in 9
---
> This sentence will be put back in the proper order by the time you're done with it in Vim!

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 324 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#325 Chirag Tailor / @ctailor2 - Score: 164 - 01/27/14 @ 02:14
jjjjjjjjjjdd0ggpuPjjjjddkkkpuPjjjjjjddkkkkkPjjd2dkP<Down><Down><Down>ddkkpkkkjjjjjjkkjddjkkjjddkPjjjddkPjjdd:%s/ \d//g<CR>u:%s/ \d*/<Left>$<Right>/g<CR>dd<Up><Down>A<Esc>u<Up>ou<Esc>uo<Esc>uJ<Up>J<Up>uu<Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up>JJJJJJJJJ:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @elasticdog

325 active golfers, 1038 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
21
#181 - Brian Olpin / @bolpin

04/03/2014 at 04:28AM

21
#182 - John Meisner / @jmeisned

06/27/2014 at 12:17AM

21
#183 - Clark DuVall / @theclarkatron

06/01/2015 at 04:39AM

21
#184 - Dimitar Dimitrov / @kurkale6ka

03/18/2016 at 03:12PM

21
#185 - Chenut Ludovic / @7Brwa7

04/04/2016 at 11:39AM

21
#186 - jn / @j1357924

09/14/2016 at 07:35PM

21
#187 - Daniel / @Daniel00288663

03/30/2017 at 03:37PM

21
#188 - Brandon Height / @Lask0x

08/09/2017 at 08:31PM

21
#189 - Ben Hill / @KaizenSoze70

01/16/2018 at 12:59PM

21
#190 - Brendan B Amdocs / @AmdocsB

09/27/2018 at 04:38PM

21
#191 - Jonghyun Yun / @JonghyunYun

10/03/2018 at 07:40PM

21
#192 - Mihai / @mihaicristiant

01/09/2019 at 09:58AM

21
#193 - Ivo Blöchliger / @aigledesalpes

08/23/2019 at 12:13PM

21
#194 - Lory / @Lory46845742

11/22/2019 at 02:37PM

22
#195 - Aaron Bull Schaefer / @elasticdog

12/29/2010 at 08:05PM

22
#196 - Douglas Stockwell / @dstockwell

12/30/2010 at 12:14AM

22
#197 - Mikel Ward / @mikelward

12/30/2010 at 09:11PM

22
#198 - kmymtksh / @kmymtksh

12/31/2010 at 07:04PM

22
#199 - Roman Mašek / @romario333

01/04/2011 at 08:44PM

22
#200 - duckdalbe / @duckdalbe

01/14/2011 at 12:46PM

22
#201 - Bradly Feeley / @bradly

01/23/2011 at 11:58PM

22
#202 - Jam / @jam00_bcn

06/25/2011 at 02:14PM

22
#203 - Mislav Marohnić / @mislav

12/05/2011 at 05:51PM

22
#204 - William Dunand / @wdunand

12/08/2011 at 07:00AM

22
#205 - akira_simpson / @akira_simpson

02/01/2012 at 08:30AM

22
#206 - Daumantas / @dbaltrus

05/03/2012 at 05:09AM

22
#207 - Piotr H / @PiotrHuk

09/17/2012 at 01:20PM

22
#208 - jimauthors / @jimauthors

02/10/2014 at 08:14AM

22
#209 - Walker Boh / @walker_boh

10/13/2015 at 08:26AM

22
#210 - some call me mattp / @mattpep

05/19/2016 at 09:11PM