Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a8bf2b8cb3409320002c4

Search and Replace 0

Replace every instance of 'aaa' with 'xaaax'.

Start file
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
End file
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb

View Diff

1c1
< aaa
---
> xaaax
5c5
< aaa
---
> xaaax
9c9
< aaa
---
> xaaax
13c13
< aaa
---
> xaaax
17c17
< aaa
---
> xaaax

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1229 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1230 Richard Kaufman / @sparragus - Score: 96 - 12/29/10 @ 14:56
:/<BS>%/<Left><Left><Right>s<Right>'aa'<Left>a<Right>/<Left><Left>x<Left><Right><Right><BS><BS><Left><Left><Left><BS><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right>xaaax/g<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @wolever

1230 active golfers, 3789 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
12
#1 - Phil / @phil30075

12/29/2010 at 06:23AM

12
#2 - Ruben Gomez / @AccedoSW

12/29/2010 at 08:59AM

12
#3 - Tordek / @Tordek

12/29/2010 at 09:13AM

12
#4 - Josh Triplett / @josh_triplett

12/29/2010 at 09:54AM

12
#5 - Pierre Senellart / @pierresenellart

12/29/2010 at 10:12AM

12
#6 - Nadja Untendiegruft / @nadjau

12/29/2010 at 10:40AM

12
#7 - Henri Bourcereau / @mmai

12/29/2010 at 10:46AM

12
#8 - Erik Ferčák / @ErikFercak

12/29/2010 at 11:14AM

12
#9 - Utkarsh Kukreti / @utkarshkukreti

12/29/2010 at 11:26AM

12
#10 - Hendrik Nigul / @nigulh

12/29/2010 at 01:01PM

12
#11 - Jeremy Johnstone / @jsjohnst

12/29/2010 at 01:18PM

12
#12 - David Bengoa / @DvdBng

12/29/2010 at 01:44PM

12
#13 - Dan / @opello

12/29/2010 at 01:50PM

12
#14 - Arjen Schat / @arjenschat

12/29/2010 at 02:36PM

12
#15 - Kishyr Ramdial / @kishyr

12/29/2010 at 03:20PM

12
#16 - togi / @togi

12/29/2010 at 04:41PM

12
#17 - Austin Taylor / @austintaylor

12/29/2010 at 04:42PM

12
#18 - Aaron Bull Schaefer / @elasticdog

12/29/2010 at 04:43PM

12
#19 - GiordanoScalzo / @giordanoscalzo

12/29/2010 at 04:49PM

12
#20 - Henrik Nyh / @henrik

12/29/2010 at 04:54PM

12
#21 - Leonard Chin / @lchin

12/29/2010 at 06:15PM

12
#22 - Stephen Morrow / @yawmark

12/29/2010 at 09:43PM

12
#23 - Andy Goldstein / @andygoldstein

12/29/2010 at 09:58PM

12
#24 - Adam Pohorecki / @apohorecki

12/30/2010 at 12:09AM

12
#25 - Josh Weinberg / @jcweinberg

12/30/2010 at 12:10AM

12
#26 - Vitaly Kushner / @vkushner

12/30/2010 at 01:01AM

12
#27 - Brad / @bjjwillis

12/30/2010 at 01:03AM

12
#28 - Kornél Lugosi / @Coornail

12/30/2010 at 01:14AM

12
#29 - Ricardo Mendes / @locks

12/30/2010 at 02:20AM

12
#30 - Paul King / @nrocy

12/30/2010 at 07:28AM