Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a8bf2b8cb3409320002c4

Search and Replace 0

Replace every instance of 'aaa' with 'xaaax'.

Start file
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
End file
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb

View Diff

1c1
< aaa
---
> xaaax
5c5
< aaa
---
> xaaax
9c9
< aaa
---
> xaaax
13c13
< aaa
---
> xaaax
17c17
< aaa
---
> xaaax

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1346 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1347 Richard Kaufman / @sparragus - Score: 96 - 12/29/10 @ 14:56
:/<BS>%/<Left><Left><Right>s<Right>'aa'<Left>a<Right>/<Left><Left>x<Left><Right><Right><BS><BS><Left><Left><Left><BS><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right>xaaax/g<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @wolever

1347 active golfers, 4145 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
12
#391 - Paul / @MapCalculator

06/23/2015 at 12:11AM

12
#392 - Skúli Jóhannsson / @skulibj

06/26/2015 at 07:27PM

12
#393 - Jack Z / @itszhou

06/28/2015 at 05:43PM

12
#394 - Louis Burke / @LambdaABeta

07/07/2015 at 05:21PM

12
#395 - Mutter Mumble / @muttermumble

07/10/2015 at 12:45PM

12
#396 - Teemu Okkonen / @TeemuOkkonen

07/13/2015 at 03:54PM

12
#397 - Maxim Prokopenko / @max1cp

07/21/2015 at 06:02PM

12
#398 - Dan Piponi / @sigfpe

07/21/2015 at 07:56PM

12
#399 - David Willming / @wdialvmeo

07/30/2015 at 04:31AM

12
#400 - Roben Kleene / @robenkleene

07/31/2015 at 01:21AM

12
#401 - Ferdev vimgolf / @fergvimgolf

08/11/2015 at 10:24PM

12
#402 - Liam Thurston / @lthurston188

08/18/2015 at 01:38AM

12
#403 - Sergey Semushin / @Predelnik

08/28/2015 at 06:32AM

12
#404 - Kirill Cherkashin / @kirjs

09/20/2015 at 02:34PM

12
#405 - Kevin Merlin / @mp3merlin

09/21/2015 at 12:23PM

12
#406 - Tamas Gal (Tom) / @tamasgal

09/26/2015 at 09:44PM

12
#407 - Mike Adams / @davis_cromwell

10/01/2015 at 06:57PM

12
#408 - ardila.d.ardila / @ardiladardila1

10/02/2015 at 05:06AM

12
#409 - compuserved / @compuserved

10/04/2015 at 12:40AM

12
#410 - Walker Boh / @walker_boh

10/05/2015 at 10:46AM

12
#411 - Daniel Pham / @dany_pham

10/16/2015 at 04:38AM

12
#412 - DespicableJerk / @JerkDespicable

10/22/2015 at 02:58PM

12
#413 - Domingue Justin / @_jdomingue

10/27/2015 at 06:24PM

12
#414 - Mateusz / @foobar98765

10/31/2015 at 05:40PM

12
#415 - Paulo Romeira / @pauloromeira

11/08/2015 at 08:34AM

12
#416 - Gabriel Lima / @ewilazarus

11/24/2015 at 11:20PM

12
#417 - kiou / @smallletterquu

12/05/2015 at 01:16AM

12
#418 - Wilmer Bandres / @WilmerBandres

12/13/2015 at 01:55PM

12
#419 - Aris Kotzias / @ArisKotzias

12/23/2015 at 02:31PM

12
#420 - jackliusr / @jackliusr

01/13/2016 at 09:59AM