Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a8bf2b8cb3409320002c4

Search and Replace 0

Replace every instance of 'aaa' with 'xaaax'.

Start file
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
End file
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb

View Diff

1c1
< aaa
---
> xaaax
5c5
< aaa
---
> xaaax
9c9
< aaa
---
> xaaax
13c13
< aaa
---
> xaaax
17c17
< aaa
---
> xaaax

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1355 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1356 Richard Kaufman / @sparragus - Score: 96 - 12/29/10 @ 14:56
:/<BS>%/<Left><Left><Right>s<Right>'aa'<Left>a<Right>/<Left><Left>x<Left><Right><Right><BS><BS><Left><Left><Left><BS><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right>xaaax/g<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @wolever

1356 active golfers, 4170 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
14
#751 - Behnam Esfahbod / @zwnj

12/30/2010 at 12:59PM

14
#752 - Stephen Celis / @stephencelis

12/30/2010 at 02:43PM

14
#753 - Jim Garvin / @coderifous

12/30/2010 at 02:57PM

14
#754 - Akira Matsuda / @a_matsuda

12/30/2010 at 03:44PM

14
#755 - bmaddy / @bmaddy

12/30/2010 at 07:20PM

14
#756 - Przemysław Pawełczyk / @przemoc86

12/30/2010 at 08:30PM

14
#757 - Andrei Chirila / @andrei_chirila

12/30/2010 at 10:52PM

14
#758 - Will Hardy / @whrde

12/30/2010 at 11:34PM

14
#759 - Mikel Ward / @mikelward

12/31/2010 at 06:00AM

14
#760 - Jordan Owens / @signalhandler

12/31/2010 at 07:31PM

14
#761 - larsd / @larsd

12/31/2010 at 09:37PM

14
#762 - Richard Sanchez / @vimlearner

01/01/2011 at 06:28AM

14
#763 - Cristi Balan / @evilchelu

01/01/2011 at 06:59AM

14
#764 - El Jacko / @mrjackinc

01/03/2011 at 02:58AM

14
#765 - Pete O'Grady / @peteog

01/04/2011 at 10:42AM

14
#766 - Clive Evans / @swish_bob

01/17/2011 at 11:30PM

14
#767 - Vladimir Parfinenko / @cypok

01/19/2011 at 05:26AM

14
#768 - Jouko Karvonen / @joukokar

02/03/2011 at 04:33AM

14
#769 - Levon Lloyd / @levonlloyd

02/04/2011 at 05:37PM

14
#770 - Wade Simmons / @wadey

03/26/2011 at 04:59PM

14
#771 - Tim Andersson / @Boerworz

04/19/2011 at 10:08PM

14
#772 - erktime / @erktime

09/16/2011 at 01:07AM

14
#773 - Brian Dunn / @higgaion

09/16/2011 at 01:18AM

14
#774 - Derrick Spell / @dcsesq

09/28/2011 at 05:13AM

14
#775 - Infertux / @Infertux

11/04/2011 at 01:51PM

14
#776 - William Dunand / @wdunand

12/05/2011 at 08:26AM

14
#777 - Brian Tse / @dapangro

12/15/2011 at 03:25AM

14
#778 - fred6 / @_fred6

12/19/2011 at 12:18AM

14
#779 - Matthew Cupps / @matthewcupps

12/21/2011 at 09:52PM

14
#780 - suhair hassan / @suhairhassan

12/27/2011 at 11:39AM