Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a8bf2b8cb3409320002c4

Search and Replace 0

Replace every instance of 'aaa' with 'xaaax'.

Start file
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
End file
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb

View Diff

1c1
< aaa
---
> xaaax
5c5
< aaa
---
> xaaax
9c9
< aaa
---
> xaaax
13c13
< aaa
---
> xaaax
17c17
< aaa
---
> xaaax

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1367 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1368 Richard Kaufman / @sparragus - Score: 96 - 12/29/10 @ 14:56
:/<BS>%/<Left><Left><Right>s<Right>'aa'<Left>a<Right>/<Left><Left>x<Left><Right><Right><BS><BS><Left><Left><Left><BS><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right>xaaax/g<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @wolever

1368 active golfers, 4206 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
14
#841 - Jacob Branaugh / @jacobbranaugh

06/25/2014 at 08:40PM

14
#842 - Nic West / @west_nic

07/03/2014 at 06:03PM

14
#843 - iamevn / @iamevn

07/08/2014 at 04:56PM

14
#844 - Paul Axe / @Paul_Axe

07/29/2014 at 02:40PM

14
#845 - Eric Wang / @gnawrice

08/06/2014 at 12:30AM

14
#846 - joshuavial / @joshuavial

08/16/2014 at 01:42AM

14
#847 - Daniel Mita / @Mienaikage

09/02/2014 at 10:50AM

14
#848 - vim doof / @vimdoof

09/23/2014 at 08:50PM

14
#849 - Lupus Woulfe / @vim_mernd

09/23/2014 at 08:51PM

14
#850 - Violette Vanadium / @ViolettVanadium

10/08/2014 at 06:04AM

14
#851 - Malte R / @maltoe

11/30/2014 at 02:58PM

14
#852 - mnx / @mnxx

12/23/2014 at 10:35AM

14
#853 - Mariano Macchi / @mmacchif

03/05/2015 at 09:04PM

14
#854 - Hendrik Lammers / @hendriklammers

04/18/2015 at 11:32PM

14
#855 - Gael Roue / @gaelroue

05/02/2015 at 03:19PM

14
#856 - Stefan Knudsen / @knud32

05/05/2015 at 06:52AM

14
#857 - Alex Bartol / @alexbartol

05/06/2015 at 05:42AM

14
#858 - luffy / @raxcoi

06/06/2015 at 04:50PM

14
#859 - Maxime / @Maxime_VII

06/23/2015 at 03:02PM

14
#860 - Lindsay Swift / @_lindsai_

07/07/2015 at 09:16PM

14
#861 - Endre Galaczi / @galacziendre

08/05/2015 at 02:34PM

14
#862 - MrTchuss / @buffer_x90

08/08/2015 at 11:24AM

14
#863 - Lifepillar / @lifepillar

10/01/2015 at 05:55PM

14
#864 - Mark Brody / @_markbrody

10/16/2015 at 04:23PM

14
#865 - Andrey Mishchenko / @mishchea

10/17/2015 at 03:59AM

14
#866 - Anshu Avinash / @anshu_avinash

10/18/2015 at 05:57PM

14
#867 - merphant / @merphant

10/23/2015 at 01:13AM

14
#868 - Sean Stout / @s183s657

12/09/2015 at 07:41AM

14
#869 - fuck GFW / @ravishGFW

01/05/2016 at 05:02AM

14
#870 - Durga Swaroop Perla / @durgaswaroop

02/10/2016 at 08:26PM