Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a8bf2b8cb3409320002c4

Search and Replace 0

Replace every instance of 'aaa' with 'xaaax'.

Start file
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
End file
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb

View Diff

1c1
< aaa
---
> xaaax
5c5
< aaa
---
> xaaax
9c9
< aaa
---
> xaaax
13c13
< aaa
---
> xaaax
17c17
< aaa
---
> xaaax

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1452 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1453 Zac sliker / @Zacsliker - Score: 111 - 01/29/20 @ 16:26
i<Esc>dw<Down><Down><Down><Down>dw<Down><Down><Down><Down>dw<Down><Down><Down><Down>dw<Down><Down><Down><Down>dwi<50-53>xaaax<Esc>[201~<Up><Up><Up><Up><50-53>xaaax<Esc>[201~<Up><Up><Up><Up><50-53>xaaax<Esc>[201~<Up><Up><Up><Up><50-53>xaaax<Esc>[201~<Up><Up><Up><Up><50-53>xaaax<Esc>[201~<Esc>:wq!<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @wolever

1453 active golfers, 4391 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
15
#991 - Goopy Flux / @GoopyFlux

12/21/2017 at 06:53PM

15
#992 - Veljko Dimic / @v2dimic

02/12/2018 at 02:45PM

15
#993 - 赤佐田奈葉 / @akasatanaha_

06/20/2018 at 04:39AM

15
#994 - vimgolfer24271 / @vimgolfer24271

05/13/2019 at 08:27AM

15
#995 - Baine Wedlock / @BaineWedlock

09/24/2019 at 11:47AM

15
#996 - 0xNinja / @0x_Ninja

11/14/2019 at 10:16AM

16
#997 - Mike Plotz / @antisuji

12/29/2010 at 02:46AM

16
#998 - Ryan Kanno / @ryankanno

12/29/2010 at 11:27AM

16
#999 - Glorp Norp / @glorpglorp

12/29/2010 at 02:13PM

16
#1000 - dcbaok / @dcbaok

12/29/2010 at 08:48PM

16
#1001 - uoɹɹɐɥƆ ꞁǝnɯɐS / @samuelcharron

12/30/2010 at 01:06AM

16
#1002 - Pierre / @Pihour

12/30/2010 at 06:36AM

16
#1003 - Jordan Lewis / @JordanALewis

12/30/2010 at 06:48PM

16
#1004 - Denis Odorcic / @denisodorcic

12/30/2010 at 07:44PM

16
#1005 - Rune Botten / @runeb

12/31/2010 at 01:36AM

16
#1006 - Peter Anselmo / @peter_anselmo

01/02/2011 at 06:45AM

16
#1007 - Foo Foo / @foofoofoo42

01/03/2011 at 07:37AM

16
#1008 - Ilya Strukov / @i1ey

05/02/2011 at 05:34AM

16
#1009 - Ragunathan Pattabi / @rpattabi

05/06/2011 at 12:37PM

16
#1010 - Unreal Name / @morphles

06/03/2011 at 11:05AM

16
#1011 - Raphael Sofaer / @rsofaer

06/13/2011 at 01:47AM

16
#1012 - Carl Helmertz / @chelmertz

08/15/2011 at 04:51PM

16
#1013 - Dave Lyon / @daveisonthego

09/16/2011 at 01:00AM

16
#1014 - Dario Cazzaro / @darioqa

09/17/2011 at 06:42PM

16
#1015 - こばばー / @symmet

09/28/2011 at 01:06AM

16
#1016 - Maciej Suchecki / @mcSuchecki

11/20/2011 at 10:43PM

16
#1017 - Flugsio / @flugsio

11/26/2011 at 05:42PM

16
#1018 - Jyun-Fan Tsai / @fakecolor

02/04/2012 at 11:41AM

16
#1019 - bray / @bray

05/23/2012 at 03:08AM

16
#1020 - Feanor Celebrimbor / @tumbaletaurea

06/04/2012 at 04:09AM