Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a8bf2b8cb3409320002c4

Search and Replace 0

Replace every instance of 'aaa' with 'xaaax'.

Start file
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
End file
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb

View Diff

1c1
< aaa
---
> xaaax
5c5
< aaa
---
> xaaax
9c9
< aaa
---
> xaaax
13c13
< aaa
---
> xaaax
17c17
< aaa
---
> xaaax

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1360 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1361 Richard Kaufman / @sparragus - Score: 96 - 12/29/10 @ 14:56
:/<BS>%/<Left><Left><Right>s<Right>'aa'<Left>a<Right>/<Left><Left>x<Left><Right><Right><BS><BS><Left><Left><Left><BS><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right>xaaax/g<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @wolever

1361 active golfers, 4187 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
19
#1231 - Hans-Wilhelm / @hanswilw

06/26/2019 at 03:46PM

20
#1232 - Jacob Miller / @pwnies

12/29/2010 at 01:19AM

20
#1233 - cnolan / @optimusgrime

12/29/2010 at 05:26AM

20
#1234 - héctor acosta / @_hacosta

12/29/2010 at 06:02AM

20
#1235 - Rob Hanlon / @ohwillie

12/29/2010 at 08:27AM

20
#1236 - Jonathan Pui / @jpui

12/29/2010 at 09:10AM

20
#1237 - kārlis / @skazhy

12/29/2010 at 09:46AM

20
#1238 - Marian Schubert / @MarianSchubert

12/29/2010 at 12:43PM

20
#1239 - Jens-Chr. Fischer / @jcfischer

12/29/2010 at 12:52PM

20
#1240 - Veg / @originalveghead

12/29/2010 at 02:36PM

20
#1241 - jonlorusso / @jonlorusso

12/29/2010 at 03:45PM

20
#1242 - Dezső Zoltán / @zakiazigazi

12/29/2010 at 04:38PM

20
#1243 - Daniel Corrêa / @dnl_correa

12/29/2010 at 10:01PM

20
#1244 - Tom Morris / @tommorris

12/30/2010 at 08:18AM

20
#1245 - Kris Leech / @krisleech

12/30/2010 at 03:13PM

20
#1246 - Su. / @0moMi

12/31/2010 at 12:21AM

20
#1247 - Yarin Benado / @yarinb

12/31/2010 at 01:22PM

20
#1248 - ap / @katafractari

02/02/2011 at 09:46PM

20
#1249 - ksauzz / @ksauzz

04/24/2011 at 05:59AM

20
#1250 - lukecowell / @lukecowell

07/28/2011 at 01:22AM

20
#1251 - neerajsharma / @neerajsharma

01/25/2012 at 08:51AM

20
#1252 - Lee Gould / @LeeGould

02/08/2012 at 02:14PM

20
#1253 - Pedro Franceschi / @pedroh96

02/05/2013 at 08:16PM

20
#1254 - Aaron Josephs / @aaronjosephs1

05/01/2013 at 07:39PM

20
#1255 - Andy Copley / @andy_copley

09/19/2013 at 12:34PM

20
#1256 - DING QIAN / @essyding

01/08/2014 at 08:15AM

20
#1257 - thiagoalessio / @thiagoalessio

01/16/2014 at 04:07PM

20
#1258 - Chirag Tailor / @ctailor2

01/27/2014 at 01:13AM

20
#1259 - Fernando Witzke / @pigroxalot

02/13/2014 at 08:29PM

20
#1260 - mini-inny / @mini_inny

03/18/2014 at 08:46PM