Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a8bf2b8cb3409320002c4

Search and Replace 0

Replace every instance of 'aaa' with 'xaaax'.

Start file
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
End file
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb

View Diff

1c1
< aaa
---
> xaaax
5c5
< aaa
---
> xaaax
9c9
< aaa
---
> xaaax
13c13
< aaa
---
> xaaax
17c17
< aaa
---
> xaaax

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1360 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1361 Richard Kaufman / @sparragus - Score: 96 - 12/29/10 @ 14:56
:/<BS>%/<Left><Left><Right>s<Right>'aa'<Left>a<Right>/<Left><Left>x<Left><Right><Right><BS><BS><Left><Left><Left><BS><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right>xaaax/g<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @wolever

1361 active golfers, 4187 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
20
#1261 - Will Munn / @lfsaw

07/02/2014 at 11:59PM

20
#1262 - Akshay Aurora / @akshayaurora

09/16/2014 at 08:09AM

20
#1263 - Jens Schneider / @Thalion83

08/05/2016 at 02:46PM

20
#1264 - Dušan Baran / @dudoslaf

10/26/2016 at 09:22PM

20
#1265 - Lally / @oolally__

01/14/2018 at 08:14PM

20
#1266 - Jurica / @Jurica34581259

11/16/2018 at 11:37AM

20
#1267 - Oren Koriat / @KoriatOren

12/23/2018 at 09:46AM

20
#1268 - Jonny Wilson / @thejondom

12/27/2018 at 07:18PM

20
#1269 - Graham Singer / @grahamsinger

01/05/2019 at 04:37AM

20
#1270 - Zachary Cetinic / @Swervenstuff

06/19/2019 at 07:02PM

21
#1271 - buck mild / @andyleclair

12/29/2010 at 01:46AM

21
#1272 - Alfredo Deza / @alfredodeza

12/29/2010 at 02:05AM

21
#1273 - Tyler Wymer / @twymer

12/29/2010 at 02:33AM

21
#1274 - Cleve Pasarell / @clevepasarell

12/29/2010 at 03:04AM

21
#1275 - Al / @broohaha

12/29/2010 at 04:25AM

21
#1276 - Mint Shows / @mintshows

12/29/2010 at 05:07AM

21
#1277 - Andrew Myers / @drewrm

12/29/2010 at 05:35AM

21
#1278 - Kenny Parnell / @kennyp

12/29/2010 at 07:15AM

21
#1279 - Dhruva Sagar / @dhruvasagar

12/29/2010 at 07:17AM

21
#1280 - thisbetom / @thisbetom

12/29/2010 at 07:23AM

21
#1281 - Fraxtil / @Fraxtil

12/29/2010 at 07:56AM

21
#1282 - Porkchop Diet / @porkchopdiet

12/29/2010 at 09:26AM

21
#1283 - marklu / @marklu

12/29/2010 at 09:48AM

21
#1284 - theshadowhost / @theshadowhost

12/29/2010 at 01:21PM

21
#1285 - Lasse Højgaard / @lhojgaard

12/29/2010 at 01:28PM

21
#1286 - Fredrik / @S_edrik

12/29/2010 at 02:23PM

21
#1287 - Chris Cooke / @chriscooke

12/29/2010 at 03:19PM

21
#1288 - MrITR / @MrITR

12/29/2010 at 07:09PM

21
#1289 - Andrew McDonough / @andrewmcdonough

12/29/2010 at 07:22PM

21
#1290 - Chris Brown / @xoebus

12/29/2010 at 07:59PM