Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a8bf2b8cb3409320002c4

Search and Replace 0

Replace every instance of 'aaa' with 'xaaax'.

Start file
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
aaa
aab
abb
bbb
End file
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb
xaaax
aab
abb
bbb

View Diff

1c1
< aaa
---
> xaaax
5c5
< aaa
---
> xaaax
9c9
< aaa
---
> xaaax
13c13
< aaa
---
> xaaax
17c17
< aaa
---
> xaaax

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1466 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1467 Zac sliker / @Zacsliker - Score: 111 - 01/29/20 @ 16:26
i<Esc>dw<Down><Down><Down><Down>dw<Down><Down><Down><Down>dw<Down><Down><Down><Down>dw<Down><Down><Down><Down>dwi<50-53>xaaax<Esc>[201~<Up><Up><Up><Up><50-53>xaaax<Esc>[201~<Up><Up><Up><Up><50-53>xaaax<Esc>[201~<Up><Up><Up><Up><50-53>xaaax<Esc>[201~<Up><Up><Up><Up><50-53>xaaax<Esc>[201~<Esc>:wq!<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @wolever

1467 active golfers, 4434 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
20
#1321 - Yarin Benado / @yarinb

12/31/2010 at 01:22PM

20
#1322 - ap / @katafractari

02/02/2011 at 09:46PM

20
#1323 - ksauzz / @ksauzz

04/24/2011 at 05:59AM

20
#1324 - lukecowell / @lukecowell

07/28/2011 at 01:22AM

20
#1325 - neerajsharma / @neerajsharma

01/25/2012 at 08:51AM

20
#1326 - Lee Gould / @LeeGould

02/08/2012 at 02:14PM

20
#1327 - Pedro Franceschi / @pedroh96

02/05/2013 at 08:16PM

20
#1328 - Aaron Josephs / @aaronjosephs1

05/01/2013 at 07:39PM

20
#1329 - Andy Copley / @andy_copley

09/19/2013 at 12:34PM

20
#1330 - DING QIAN / @essyding

01/08/2014 at 08:15AM

20
#1331 - thiagoalessio / @thiagoalessio

01/16/2014 at 04:07PM

20
#1332 - Chirag Tailor / @ctailor2

01/27/2014 at 01:13AM

20
#1333 - Fernando Witzke / @pigroxalot

02/13/2014 at 08:29PM

20
#1334 - mini-inny / @mini_inny

03/18/2014 at 08:46PM

20
#1335 - Will Munn / @lfsaw

07/02/2014 at 11:59PM

20
#1336 - Akshay Aurora / @akshayaurora

09/16/2014 at 08:09AM

20
#1337 - Jens Schneider / @Thalion83

08/05/2016 at 02:46PM

20
#1338 - DuĊĦan Baran / @dudoslaf

10/26/2016 at 09:22PM

20
#1339 - Lally / @oolally__

01/14/2018 at 08:14PM

20
#1340 - Jurica / @Jurica34581259

11/16/2018 at 11:37AM

20
#1341 - Oren Koriat / @KoriatOren

12/23/2018 at 09:46AM

20
#1342 - Jonny Wilson / @thejondom

12/27/2018 at 07:18PM

20
#1343 - Graham Singer / @grahamsinger

01/05/2019 at 04:37AM

20
#1344 - Zachary Cetinic / @Swervenstuff

06/19/2019 at 07:02PM

20
#1345 - Kairew / @Kairew1

01/23/2020 at 01:20PM

20
#1346 - timebomb / @timebom44359375

01/25/2020 at 11:20PM

20
#1347 - Mike Wittie / @mike_wittie

01/27/2020 at 07:18PM

20
#1348 - Hunter McGee / @Huntzman56

01/29/2020 at 05:37PM

20
#1349 - Olivia Firth / @OliviaFirth4

01/29/2020 at 07:40PM

20
#1350 - Iuno Jones / @IunoJones

01/30/2020 at 09:48PM