Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1aaf2fb11838287d000036

Reverse characters in a line

You have everything you need, just not in the right order. Mastermind would give you 26 white pegs.

Start file
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
End file
zyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba

View Diff

--- in	2010-12-28 19:41:39.000000000 -0800
+++ out	2010-12-28 19:41:59.000000000 -0800
@@ -1 +1 @@
-abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
+zyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 169 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#170 Christopher Suter / cgs1019 - Score: 21 - 12/29/10 @ 04:01
o<Esc>kqq$xj$pk$q25@QddZZ

0 comments


#171 Naveed Massjouni / ironcamel - Score: 21 - 12/29/10 @ 05:30
:perld$_=reverse<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


#172 Perry Zheng / PerryZheng - Score: 21 - 12/29/10 @ 06:38
o<Esc>kqaxjPkq25@addZZ

0 comments


#173 Gordon McCreight / gmccreight - Score: 21 - 12/29/10 @ 07:12
o<Esc>kqqxjPkq25@qddZZ

0 comments


#174 Adam Pohorecki / apohorecki - Score: 21 - 12/29/10 @ 14:00
o<Esc>kqaxjPkq25@addZZ

0 comments


#175 Stephen Mann / thanthese - Score: 21 - 12/29/10 @ 14:08
o<Esc>kqaxjPkq25@addZZ

0 comments


#176 Andrew McDonough / andrewmcdonough - Score: 21 - 12/29/10 @ 19:18
qamm$vd`mPlq26@aZZ

0 comments


#177 pcapriotti / pcapriotti - Score: 22 - 12/29/10 @ 12:44
xA a<Esc>qq0xwPq24@qXZZ

0 comments


#178 無ん垢の叫び / john_ababa - Score: 22 - 05/26/12 @ 06:12
:s/./&<C-V><CR>/g|sor!<CR>27gJZZ

0 comments


#179 Dr Rev J. '𝕵. 𝕶𝖎𝖗𝖈𝖍𝖆𝖗𝖙𝖟' Kirchartz / JKirchartz - Score: 22 - 07/20/13 @ 20:52
:s/./&\r/g|so<Tab>!<CR>27gJZZ

0 comments


#180 Gurukandhamoorthi / Gurukandhamoor1 - Score: 22 - 07/28/17 @ 14:00
x$a <C-R>"<Esc>qq0xwP0q24@qxZZ

0 comments


#181 Christopher Vollick / psycotica0 - Score: 23 - 12/29/10 @ 04:24
qwxfnp$xFmP0q11@wfmxpZZ

0 comments


#182 Ryan Elmquist / relmquist - Score: 23 - 12/29/10 @ 08:26
mm$qax`mPlmm$q26@aZZ

0 comments


#183 Joe McCall / joem86 - Score: 24 - 12/29/10 @ 07:54
xA <C-R>"<Esc>bqaxwPbq24@axZZ

0 comments


#184 DJ Adams / qmacro - Score: 25 - 12/29/10 @ 18:00
c$<C-O>:set revins<CR><C-R>"<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


#185 Arto Vuori / dhpe - Score: 25 - 08/30/12 @ 21:08
A <Esc>0qaexA<Esc>p0q24@adtzAa<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#186 glennphillips / glennphillips - Score: 25 - 07/12/14 @ 03:17
qali<CR><Esc>q25@a:%sort!<CR>26gJZZ

0 comments


#187 Oliver Christ / 0liverChrist - Score: 26 - 10/09/13 @ 21:23
:s/\S/&\r/g|sor!|%s/\n<CR><CR>ZZ

0 comments


#188 Joe Hassick / jhassick - Score: 27 - 12/29/10 @ 16:35
:s/./&\r/g|g/^/m0<CR>V}gJZZ

0 comments


#189 Nadja Untendiegruft / nadjau - Score: 30 - 12/29/10 @ 10:52
Rzyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#190 Behnam Esfahbod / zwnj - Score: 30 - 12/30/10 @ 12:51
Czyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#191 Juan C. Muller / juancmuller - Score: 30 - 12/31/10 @ 04:46
Czyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#192 Nick / quinks25 - Score: 30 - 01/13/11 @ 21:30
Czyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#193 lionel young / lionelyoung - Score: 31 - 12/29/10 @ 07:47
qna<CR><Esc>q24@n:sort!<CR>qjJxq24@JZZ

0 comments


#194 Guillaume Bonnoron / gbonnoron - Score: 31 - 12/31/10 @ 11:55
cczyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#195 Dj Vimgolf / dj_vimgolf - Score: 31 - 01/14/12 @ 18:08
c$zyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#196 drio / drio - Score: 32 - 01/01/11 @ 01:30
cczyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>:x<CR>

0 comments


#197 ☣Rob Mason☠ / necr0mancer - Score: 32 - 01/18/11 @ 11:30
ddizyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#198 Paul Tarjan / ptarjan - Score: 33 - 12/29/10 @ 11:42
Szyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#199 Ujjwol Lamichhane / Ujjwol - Score: 33 - 12/29/10 @ 12:19
Dizyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


#200 jonlorusso / jonlorusso - Score: 33 - 12/29/10 @ 15:49
Czyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#201 Adam Bachman / abachman - Score: 33 - 12/29/10 @ 21:47
:s/\(.\)/\1<C-V><CR>/|sor!|%s/\n/<CR><CR>ZZ

0 comments


#202 Rajit Singh / rajitbsingh - Score: 33 - 12/29/10 @ 23:06
Czyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#203 Lee Marlow / lmarlow - Score: 33 - 12/29/10 @ 23:43
Czyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#204 Julien Gormotte / gormux - Score: 33 - 12/30/10 @ 09:47
cczyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


#205 Chris Lerum / ChrisLerum - Score: 34 - 12/29/10 @ 05:15
ddizyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


#206 Alison Rowland / arowla - Score: 34 - 12/29/10 @ 05:59
cczyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#207 It's Me / soidid - Score: 35 - 12/29/10 @ 05:47
Czyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


#208 Scott Werner / scottwisme - Score: 35 - 12/29/10 @ 14:31
Vdizyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#209 Aleksander Balicki / alekbalicki - Score: 36 - 12/29/10 @ 14:45
<Esc>ddizyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#210 Abhishek Mukherjee / abhishekmukherg - Score: 40 - 12/29/10 @ 16:11
cczyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc>:wqa<BS><CR>

0 comments


#211 Ajith Antony / ajithantony - Score: 47 - 12/29/10 @ 12:30
ddp<Esc><Up>ddddazyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba<Esc><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


#212 Ricardo Mendes / locks - Score: 194 - 12/30/10 @ 01:54
xpjhxplllllllllllllllllllllllxphhx$phhhx$phhhhx$phhhhhx$phhhhhhx$p7j7hx$p8hx$p9hx$p10hx$p11j11hx$10pup12hx$p13hx$p14hx$p15hx$p16hx$p17hx$p18hx$p19hx$p20hx$p21hx$p22hx$p23hx$p24hx$p25hx$p<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: josh_triplett

212 active golfers, 547 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
12
#1 - Urtica dioica / udioica

11/26/2012 at 03:04PM

12
#2 - xavier kt / xav_kt

02/04/2013 at 11:50PM

12
#3 - Adam Bell / adamgbell

03/29/2013 at 10:01PM

12
#4 - Brent Carmer / brent_carmer

04/08/2013 at 05:02AM

12
#5 - Marco Hinz / _mhinz_

05/21/2013 at 02:43PM

12
#6 - John Braxler / braxler

05/07/2014 at 12:52PM

12
#7 - Johannes H. / neVexa

10/30/2014 at 01:08PM

12
#8 - Walker Boh / walker_boh

11/24/2015 at 08:50AM

12
#9 - lynn / la_lalxu

09/05/2016 at 02:27PM

12
#10 - Daniel / Daniel00288663

04/03/2017 at 03:44PM

12
#11 - Turkey Man / lvturkeyman

11/26/2017 at 11:08AM

12
#12 - martin tourneboeuf / martintournebo1

02/05/2018 at 07:34PM

12
#13 - Iury Adones / Iury_Adones

05/08/2018 at 05:40PM

13
#14 - Sailesh Mittal / saileshmittal

01/09/2011 at 09:13AM

13
#15 - Clive Evans / swish_bob

01/17/2011 at 11:28PM

13
#16 - Matthieu Honel / ocus

01/28/2011 at 05:26PM

13
#17 - Tim Chase / gumnos

06/11/2011 at 12:25AM

13
#18 - Johan Sveholm / rymdtjuren

06/24/2011 at 04:35AM

13
#19 - Sammasati / sammasati0

07/15/2011 at 06:11PM

13
#20 - Jim Infield / jinfield

07/19/2011 at 02:48PM

13
#21 - Jason Then / racc69

08/09/2011 at 04:25AM

13
#22 - Dario Cazzaro / darioqa

09/18/2011 at 10:27PM

13
#23 - Jon Keating / emostar

11/02/2011 at 09:26AM

13
#24 - vimja / vimja666

11/02/2011 at 11:50PM

13
#25 - nicolas bo / thevegeta

11/15/2011 at 03:56PM

13
#26 - William Dunand / wdunand

12/05/2011 at 07:59AM

13
#27 - Al / 96258

12/12/2011 at 01:52PM

13
#28 - Jaime A. Sánchez / jashbeta

12/22/2011 at 06:45AM

13
#29 - Henry Johnes / xeosvn

01/31/2012 at 01:25PM

13
#30 - Renat Aksitov / Korvin79

02/07/2012 at 05:05PM