Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1c1a3cf655cd081000000d

A Simple One

Here is a very simple one - just to illustrate/introduce a vim feature that some people seem to miss...

Start file
999 1999
End file
1024 2048

View Diff

1c1
< 999 1999
---
> 1024 2048

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 544 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#545 Joe Mansour / @jmanso5 - Score: 41 - 12/30/10 @ 15:48
i1024<Del><Del><Del><Right><Del><Del><Del><Del>2048<Esc>:q<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @bjjwillis

545 active golfers, 806 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
9
#1 - Brad / @bjjwillis

12/30/2010 at 05:37AM

9
#2 - Douglas Stockwell / @dstockwell

12/30/2010 at 05:42AM

9
#3 - Josh Weinberg / @jcweinberg

12/30/2010 at 05:42AM

9
#4 - Aviv Ben-Yosef / @avivby

12/30/2010 at 05:49AM

9
#5 - Wei Dai / @clvv42

12/30/2010 at 05:54AM

9
#6 - Dhruva Sagar / @dhruvasagar

12/30/2010 at 05:55AM

9
#7 - Austin Taylor / @austintaylor

12/30/2010 at 05:57AM

9
#8 - Matthew Draper / @_matthewd

12/30/2010 at 06:00AM

9
#9 - Pierre / @Pihour

12/30/2010 at 06:15AM

9
#10 - Ankit Shankar / @thelastnode

12/30/2010 at 06:26AM

9
#11 - Fer Enaf / @0x00C0FFEE

12/30/2010 at 06:53AM

9
#12 - Alain Gilbert / @alain_gilbert

12/30/2010 at 06:58AM

9
#13 - Nadja Untendiegruft / @nadjau

12/30/2010 at 07:29AM

9
#14 - Utkarsh Kukreti / @utkarshkukreti

12/30/2010 at 08:23AM

9
#15 - Takayuki Tsukitani / @tsukkee

12/30/2010 at 08:30AM

9
#16 - Marian Schubert / @MarianSchubert

12/30/2010 at 08:30AM

9
#17 - Mark McD ☠ / @snuff_man

12/30/2010 at 08:40AM

9
#18 - Benoit D / @Anbcorp

12/30/2010 at 09:02AM

9
#19 - Behnam Esfahbod / @zwnj

12/30/2010 at 09:20AM

9
#20 - h_east (トロッコ6個) / @h_east

12/30/2010 at 09:20AM

9
#21 - YB / @ybudowski

12/30/2010 at 09:24AM

9
#22 - Kornél Lugosi / @Coornail

12/30/2010 at 09:33AM

9
#23 - Henrik Nyh / @henrik

12/30/2010 at 09:35AM

9
#24 - raj / @rajlekkala

12/30/2010 at 09:36AM

9
#25 - Shrikant Sharat / @sharat87

12/30/2010 at 10:03AM

9
#26 - Lee Jarvis / @lee_jarvis

12/30/2010 at 10:03AM

9
#27 - Fred Nias / @frednias

12/30/2010 at 10:27AM

9
#28 - Mikel Ward / @mikelward

12/30/2010 at 10:46AM

9
#29 - Janusz Bossy / @YANOUSHek

12/30/2010 at 10:53AM

9
#30 - Kevin Merlin / @mp3merlin

12/30/2010 at 11:02AM