Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1c1a3cf655cd081000000d

A Simple One

Here is a very simple one - just to illustrate/introduce a vim feature that some people seem to miss...

Start file
999 1999
End file
1024 2048

View Diff

1c1
< 999 1999
---
> 1024 2048

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 558 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#559 Joe Mansour / @jmanso5 - Score: 41 - 12/30/10 @ 15:48
i1024<Del><Del><Del><Right><Del><Del><Del><Del>2048<Esc>:q<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @bjjwillis

559 active golfers, 832 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
13
#511 - Julien Gormotte / @gormux

12/30/2010 at 08:58AM

13
#512 - Rajit Singh / @rajitbsingh

12/30/2010 at 09:54AM

13
#513 - Andrei Chirila / @andrei_chirila

12/30/2010 at 01:50PM

13
#514 - Tien Le / @tienlex

12/30/2010 at 02:23PM

13
#515 - Alex / @eskanete

12/30/2010 at 03:09PM

13
#516 - Olivier Grisel / @ogrisel

12/30/2010 at 04:04PM

13
#517 - Andy Goldstein / @andygoldstein

12/30/2010 at 05:52PM

13
#518 - ssmithstone / @ssmithstone

12/30/2010 at 06:52PM

13
#519 - Kendra / @callifneeded

12/30/2010 at 08:55PM

13
#520 - Tony Hillerson / @thillerson

12/30/2010 at 11:52PM

13
#521 - Franck Verrot / @CesarioGW

12/31/2010 at 12:07AM

13
#522 - Guten / @GutenYe

12/31/2010 at 12:48AM

13
#523 - agastiya / @agastiya

12/31/2010 at 06:15AM

13
#524 - Yarin Benado / @yarinb

12/31/2010 at 10:28AM

13
#525 - woodspock / @woodspock

12/31/2010 at 01:36PM

13
#526 - Brian Frantz / @brian_frantz

12/31/2010 at 02:36PM

13
#527 - Jordan Owens / @signalhandler

12/31/2010 at 08:11PM

13
#528 - Javier Arce / @javier

01/05/2011 at 08:39PM

13
#529 - Ryan Kanno / @ryankanno

01/07/2011 at 12:59AM

13
#530 - fuck you / @jerkassholeface

01/15/2011 at 12:45AM

13
#531 - John Lemp / @duckworth

03/08/2011 at 12:17PM

13
#532 - Tatsuro Baba / @_tbaba

04/07/2011 at 08:54AM

13
#533 - David Wilemski / @davidwilemski

06/09/2011 at 06:47PM

13
#534 - 無ん垢の叫び / @john_ababa

02/23/2012 at 03:47PM

13
#535 - Bernhard Urban / @lewurm

06/24/2012 at 04:20PM

13
#536 - Jurica / @Jurica34581259

11/19/2018 at 09:42PM

13
#537 - faisal / @faisalhackshah

11/26/2018 at 07:26PM

14
#538 - akatz / @akatz

12/30/2010 at 06:32AM

14
#539 - Marek Šuppa / @mr__shu

12/30/2010 at 10:04AM

14
#540 - Cyril Pascal / @paxal

12/30/2010 at 02:16PM