Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1c1a3cf655cd081000000d

A Simple One

Here is a very simple one - just to illustrate/introduce a vim feature that some people seem to miss...

Start file
999 1999
End file
1024 2048

View Diff

1c1
< 999 1999
---
> 1024 2048

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 562 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#563 Joe Mansour / @jmanso5 - Score: 41 - 12/30/10 @ 15:48
i1024<Del><Del><Del><Right><Del><Del><Del><Del>2048<Esc>:q<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @bjjwillis

563 active golfers, 840 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
9
#61 - James Wickett / @wickett

12/30/2010 at 06:10PM

9
#62 - Asmund / @herrasbe

12/30/2010 at 06:16PM

9
#63 - Johannes Martinsson / @moxiba

12/30/2010 at 06:17PM

9
#64 - uuu / @uu59

12/30/2010 at 06:21PM

9
#65 - Soliman Sylvain / @sylvain_soliman

12/30/2010 at 06:33PM

9
#66 - Dry / @prolongator

12/30/2010 at 07:06PM

9
#67 - Przemysław Pawełczyk / @przemoc86

12/30/2010 at 07:30PM

9
#68 - Jacob Buys / @wjbuys

12/30/2010 at 07:59PM

9
#69 - Rod Cloutier / @RodCloutier

12/30/2010 at 08:05PM

9
#70 - Akira Matsuda / @a_matsuda

12/30/2010 at 08:41PM

9
#71 - William Shackleton / @wshackleton

12/30/2010 at 09:08PM

9
#72 - Dan Smith / @untermrad

12/30/2010 at 09:41PM

9
#73 - Danny Dulai / @dannydulai

12/30/2010 at 09:57PM

9
#74 - Dezső Zoltán / @zakiazigazi

12/30/2010 at 10:29PM

9
#75 - Dan Dorman / @dandorman

12/30/2010 at 11:15PM

9
#76 - Will Hardy / @whrde

12/30/2010 at 11:22PM

9
#77 - Mike Plotz / @antisuji

12/30/2010 at 11:31PM

9
#78 - greg / @kongo2002

12/30/2010 at 11:48PM

9
#79 - Sam Nardoni / @samnardoni

12/31/2010 at 12:30AM

9
#80 - Matt Curtis / @_mrc

12/31/2010 at 01:34AM

9
#81 - Juan C. Muller / @juancmuller

12/31/2010 at 02:32AM

9
#82 - Dmytro Shteflyuk / @kpumuk

12/31/2010 at 03:00AM

9
#83 - Alexey Kovyrin / @kovyrin

12/31/2010 at 03:10AM

9
#84 - David / @ddddddddavid

12/31/2010 at 03:47AM

9
#85 - rabidpraxis / @rabidpraxis

12/31/2010 at 05:48AM

9
#86 - Casey W Crites / @caseycrites

12/31/2010 at 06:16AM

9
#87 - jacobangel / @jacobangel

12/31/2010 at 08:01AM

9
#88 - razvan dimescu / @razvandimescu

12/31/2010 at 08:25AM

9
#89 - Leonard Chin / @lchin

12/31/2010 at 08:36AM

9
#90 - 藤田祥 / Sho Fujita / @fujisho

12/31/2010 at 11:49AM