Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1c1a3cf655cd081000000d

A Simple One

Here is a very simple one - just to illustrate/introduce a vim feature that some people seem to miss...

Start file
999 1999
End file
1024 2048

View Diff

1c1
< 999 1999
---
> 1024 2048

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 558 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#559 Joe Mansour / @jmanso5 - Score: 41 - 12/30/10 @ 15:48
i1024<Del><Del><Del><Right><Del><Del><Del><Del>2048<Esc>:q<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @bjjwillis

559 active golfers, 832 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
9
#91 - Su. / @0moMi

12/31/2010 at 01:07PM

9
#92 - Peter Gibson / @p_gibson

12/31/2010 at 01:37PM

9
#93 - Christoph Stock / @christophstock

12/31/2010 at 01:51PM

9
#94 - paulfariello ✏️ / @paulfariello

12/31/2010 at 01:59PM

9
#95 - mrlboa / @mrlboa

12/31/2010 at 02:18PM

9
#96 - Matt DiGregorio / @mattgreggs

12/31/2010 at 02:29PM

9
#97 - pyrhho / @pyrhho

12/31/2010 at 02:51PM

9
#98 - Josh Reynolds / @jreynolds

12/31/2010 at 05:27PM

9
#99 - Will Gray / @graywh

12/31/2010 at 07:29PM

9
#100 - Prody / @Prody225

12/31/2010 at 07:58PM

9
#101 - Asís García / @asischao

12/31/2010 at 08:10PM

9
#102 -  Ikhsan Maulana / @ixandidu

12/31/2010 at 09:43PM

9
#103 - Kyle Willmon / @kylewillmon

01/01/2011 at 12:10AM

9
#104 - Joshua Flanagan / @jflanagan

01/01/2011 at 12:28AM

9
#105 - Paul King / @nrocy

01/01/2011 at 02:04AM

9
#106 - Israel Chauca F. / @Raimondi

01/01/2011 at 02:06AM

9
#107 - Andrew Chen / @anjrewchen

01/01/2011 at 02:57AM

9
#108 - Vincent Isambart / @vincentisambart

01/01/2011 at 03:30AM

9
#109 - Lee Marlow / @lmarlow

01/01/2011 at 04:40AM

9
#110 - larsd / @larsd

01/01/2011 at 06:30AM

9
#111 - Thedward the Edward / @thedward

01/01/2011 at 07:59AM

9
#112 - Balkoth / @_Balkoth_

01/01/2011 at 11:46AM

9
#113 - AD / @golferTest101

01/01/2011 at 04:22PM

9
#114 - Ben Brown / @benofbrown

01/01/2011 at 07:45PM

9
#115 - dominique pellé / @vimgolfisto

01/01/2011 at 08:35PM

9
#116 - nat / @natblue55

01/02/2011 at 12:27AM

9
#117 - Brandon Liu / @bdonl

01/02/2011 at 04:34AM

9
#118 - Pete Johns / @johnsyweb

01/02/2011 at 10:17AM

9
#119 - Mickael / @mickaelb

01/02/2011 at 12:41PM

9
#120 - Nick Klauer / @klauern

01/02/2011 at 02:23PM