Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1cdb0635b40650b8000527

Make Fancy Header

Make the header text stand out with surrounding asterisks

Start file
Make this a fancy header
This is some text under the fancy header.

This is another fancy header
This is some more text
End file
************************
Make this a fancy header
************************
This is some text under the fancy header.

****************************
This is another fancy header
****************************
This is some more text

View Diff

0a1
> ************************
1a3
> ************************
3a6
> ****************************
4a8
> ****************************

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 230 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#231 Akira Matsuda / a_matsuda - Score: 23 - 12/30/10 @ 21:43
O<Esc>24I*<Esc>Yjp}o<Esc>28I*<Esc>YjpZZ

0 comments


#232 Juan C. Muller / juancmuller - Score: 23 - 12/31/10 @ 02:39
YPPVr*jj.:6<CR>YPPVr*jj.ZZ

0 comments


#233 kmymtksh / kmymtksh - Score: 23 - 12/31/10 @ 12:53
qqYP:s/./*/g<CR>Yjpq3j@qZZ

0 comments


#234 Leonard Chin / lchin - Score: 23 - 01/02/11 @ 16:44
qaYP:s/./*/g<CR>Yjpq3j@aZZ

0 comments


#235 drio / drio - Score: 23 - 01/10/11 @ 00:57
qqYP:s/./*/g<CR>Yjpq3j@qZZ

0 comments


#236 Tom Duijf / tomduijf - Score: 23 - 02/12/11 @ 20:41
YPPVr*jj.:6<CR>YPPVr*jj.ZZ

0 comments


#237 Nick Jones / nickj89 - Score: 23 - 02/20/11 @ 23:11
YPPVr*jj.:6<CR>YPPVr*jj.ZZ

0 comments


#238 Shawn / sartak - Score: 23 - 04/23/11 @ 19:37
qqYP:s/./*/g<CR>Yjpq3j@qZZ

0 comments


#239 Christopher Brew / Seph1rothVII - Score: 23 - 01/24/12 @ 00:16
qqYP:s/./*/g<CR>Yjpq3j@qZZ

0 comments


#240 Yann B. / y__b__y - Score: 23 - 03/18/14 @ 23:08
O<Esc>24I*<Esc>Yjp}o<Esc>28I*<Esc>YjpZZ

0 comments


#241 Brendan Timmons / BrendanTimmons - Score: 23 - 08/19/15 @ 04:53
O*<Esc>vy23pYjp5Gpvy4pYjpZZ

0 comments


#242 Gerald Tilma / GeraldTilma - Score: 23 - 10/21/15 @ 02:52
qqYP:s/./*/g<CR>Yjpq3j@qZZ

0 comments


#243 Joe Searle / artouk - Score: 23 - 05/02/16 @ 12:13
qqYP:s/./*/g<CR>Yjpq6G@qZZ

0 comments


#244 Will / obiwan__k3n00bi - Score: 23 - 09/03/16 @ 07:03
qqYP:s/./*/g<CR>Yjpq3j@qZZ

0 comments


#245 Michał Dytko / DytkoM - Score: 23 - 12/28/16 @ 12:19
O<C-O>24i*<Esc>Yjp}o<C-O>28i*<Esc>YjpZZ

0 comments


#246 Brandon Height / Lask0x - Score: 23 - 08/09/17 @ 20:38
YPPVr*jj.:6<CR>YPPVr*jj.ZZ

0 comments


#247 martin tourneboeuf / martintournebo1 - Score: 23 - 06/21/18 @ 05:49
YVr*ppV.r*3jYVr*ppVr*ZZ

0 comments


#248 Tom Adams / holizz - Score: 24 - 12/30/10 @ 19:32
O<Esc>24i*<Esc>Yjpjjo<Esc>28i*<Esc>YjpZZ

0 comments


#249 Dry / prolongator - Score: 24 - 12/30/10 @ 19:36
O<Esc>24i*<Esc>Yjpjjo<Esc>28i*<Esc>YjpZZ

0 comments


#250 William Shackleton / wshackleton - Score: 24 - 12/30/10 @ 21:20
yyPVr*yyjp3jyyPVr*yyjpZZ

0 comments


#251 sjatkinson / sjatkinson - Score: 24 - 08/30/11 @ 03:08
yyPVr*yyjp3jyyPVr*yyjpZZ

0 comments


#252 Benjamin Sullivan / benjaminsull - Score: 24 - 12/06/11 @ 15:40
O<Esc>24i*<Esc>yyjpjjp4i*<Esc>yyjpZZ

0 comments


#253 Nolen Royalty / NolenRoyalty - Score: 24 - 04/20/12 @ 19:36
O<Esc>24i*<Esc>yyjp3jP4A*<Esc>yyjpZZ

0 comments


#254 Arto Vuori / dhpe - Score: 24 - 09/01/12 @ 18:38
O<C-O>24i*<Esc>Yjp6GO<C-O>28i*<Esc>YjpZZ

0 comments


#255 Mathieu Larouche / matdube - Score: 24 - 11/19/13 @ 12:53
qqYP:s/./*/g<CR>YjjPq3j@qZZ

0 comments


#256 Patrick Pitoscia / Patrick03960431 - Score: 24 - 08/16/14 @ 00:25
O<Esc>24i*<Esc>Yjp3jO<Esc>28i*<Esc>YjpZZ

0 comments


#257 Ameen P / Ameen_P1 - Score: 24 - 06/25/16 @ 18:41
O<Esc>24I*<Esc>Yjp2jo<Esc>28I*<Esc>YjpZZ

0 comments


#258 Kyouma / kyoumaJohn - Score: 24 - 10/14/16 @ 20:47
O<Esc>24i*<Esc>yyjp2jp4i*<Esc>yyjpZZ

0 comments


#259 Antonio Lucca / tonyxzt - Score: 25 - 12/30/10 @ 19:46
yyPPVr*jj.:6<CR>yyPPVr*jj.ZZ

0 comments


#260 brett / brettyukich - Score: 25 - 09/22/13 @ 04:16
qqYpp:s/./*/g<CR>2k@:q5j@qZZ

0 comments


#261 Tj / yrddy - Score: 25 - 08/19/14 @ 07:54
qaYp:s/./*/g<CR>YjkkPq6G@aZZ

0 comments


#262 Lee Marlow / lmarlow - Score: 26 - 12/30/10 @ 22:45
O*<Esc>x24p5Go<Esc>28PyykPggyyjpZZ

0 comments


#263 Sailesh Mittal / saileshmittal - Score: 26 - 01/15/11 @ 05:25
YPP24r*jj0.3jYPP28r*jj0.ZZ

0 comments


#264 Joost / vlabakje - Score: 26 - 02/12/11 @ 00:24
O<Esc>24i*<Esc>yyjpjjpA****<Esc>yyjpZZ

0 comments


#265 Oliver Christ / 0liverChrist - Score: 26 - 09/27/13 @ 17:27
O<Esc>24i*<Esc>yyjp6GO<Esc>28i*<Esc>yyjpZZ

0 comments


#266 Katie Kennedy / cappy_haddock - Score: 27 - 12/30/10 @ 21:36
O*<Esc>yl23pyyjpyl6GO<Esc>28pyyjpZZ

0 comments


#267 Peter Anselmo / peter_anselmo - Score: 27 - 12/31/10 @ 00:58
yypp3jyyppVr*2k.3k.2k.<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


#268 michael caviness / michaelmichael - Score: 27 - 12/31/10 @ 20:19
O<Esc>24i*<Esc>yyjp<Esc>6GO<Esc>28i*<Esc>yyjpZZ

0 comments


#269 Tim Andersson / Boerworz - Score: 27 - 04/19/11 @ 23:24
yyPVr*2jPVr*3jyyPVr*jpVr*ZZ

0 comments


#270 William Ott / oddalot - Score: 27 - 04/11/15 @ 00:44
O<Esc>24i*<Esc>yyjp<Esc>jjo<Esc>28i*<Esc>yyjpZZ

0 comments


#271 solsTiCe d'Hiver / solstice_dhiver - Score: 28 - 12/30/10 @ 20:23
yyPVr*yyjp3jyyPvr*<Esc>Vr*yyjpZZ

0 comments


#272 Ricardo Sisnett / mrjackinc - Score: 28 - 01/02/11 @ 06:22
qqyypp:s/./\*/g<CR>kk:<Up><CR>q5j@qZZ

0 comments


#273 Rolf K. / mindleftbody - Score: 28 - 06/17/11 @ 16:08
O*<Esc>x24pjo<Esc>24pjjo<Esc>28pjo<Esc>28pZZ

0 comments


#274 Filippo Ghibellini / f_ghibellini - Score: 28 - 03/05/14 @ 21:38
O<C-O>24i*<Esc>yyjpjj"0p4i*<Esc>yyjp:wq<CR>

0 comments


#275 johan wester / wester87 - Score: 29 - 11/12/11 @ 12:36
i<CR><Up>*<Esc>yw23pyyjp2jp$yw4pyyjp<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#276 Robert Rosolek / robertrosolek - Score: 29 - 10/18/13 @ 09:32
24I*<Esc>a<CR><Esc>kyy2jP2jpA****<Esc>yyjpZZ

0 comments


#277 RobertT / techrt2050 - Score: 30 - 08/23/13 @ 06:44
24I*<Esc>j.G28I*<Esc>k.:%s/[TM]/\r&<CR>ZZ

0 comments


#278 Nicolas Friedli / NicolasFriedli - Score: 31 - 10/30/12 @ 14:17
yyPCu<Esc>u<C-V>$r*yy<Down>p3<Down>Yp<C-C><C-C><C-V>$r*yy<Up>PZZ

0 comments


#279 Justin Knag / justinknag - Score: 31 - 08/28/14 @ 12:39
O*<C-C><C-C>yw23pyyjpjjpjp4pux5pkk5pxZZ

0 comments


#280 Guillaume Bonnoron / gbonnoron - Score: 34 - 12/30/10 @ 22:14
qqO*<Esc>y$23pq2j@q3jqs@q$3hy$pq2j@sZZ

0 comments


#281 John Hawthorn / jhawthorn - Score: 35 - 12/31/10 @ 03:18
O<Esc>24a*<Esc>yy<Down>p<Down><Down>p4a*<Esc>yy<Down>p<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


#282 Travis Swicegood / tswicegood - Score: 38 - 12/30/10 @ 21:58
i*<Esc>23.lli<CR><Esc>kYjpjjji<CR><Esc>ki*<Esc>26.i*<Esc>Y<Esc>jp:x<CR>

0 comments


#283 Mac Tynow / MacTynow - Score: 38 - 01/04/11 @ 10:26
i<CR><Up>*<Esc>vy23pyy<Down>p<Down><Down>p<Down>p<End>a****<Up><Up>****ZZ<BS><BS><Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#284 sorami / boredoms - Score: 38 - 05/01/11 @ 00:08
yyp:s/./*/g<CR>kjyykP6Gyyp:s/./*/g<CR>yykPZZ

0 comments


#285 Will Gorman / willgorman - Score: 42 - 12/31/10 @ 17:33
yyp.jjjyyp.:s/./\*/g<CR>kk:sg<CR>kkk:sg<CR>kk:sg<CR>ZZ

0 comments


#286 Su. / 0moMi - Score: 44 - 12/31/10 @ 04:17
24i*<Esc>a<CR><Esc>j24i*<Esc>a<CR><Esc>jj28i*<Esc>ai<BS><CR><Esc>j28i*<Esc>a<CR><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


#287 Miles Forrest / MilesForrest - Score: 65 - 12/30/10 @ 23:02
24i*<Esc><Right>i<CR><Down><Esc>24i*<Esc><Right>i<CR><Down><Down><Esc>28i*<Esc>i<Right><CR><Down><Esc>28i*<Esc><Esc><Right><CR><Esc><CR><Esc><Esc>i<CR><Esc>:x<CR>

0 comments


#288 Jean-Francois / jfchevrette - Score: 75 - 12/31/10 @ 00:38
O************************<Esc>1yyjp<Esc>jjjO****************************<Esc>1yyjp<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: lionelyoung

288 active golfers, 867 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
16
#1 - Douglas Stockwell / dstockwell

12/30/2010 at 07:38PM

16
#2 - Jordan Lewis / JordanALewis

12/30/2010 at 07:41PM

16
#3 - Brad / bjjwillis

12/31/2010 at 02:37AM

16
#4 - Dmytro Shteflyuk / kpumuk

12/31/2010 at 04:43AM

16
#5 - rabidpraxis / rabidpraxis

12/31/2010 at 05:51AM

16
#6 - Utkarsh Kukreti / utkarshkukreti

12/31/2010 at 05:58AM

16
#7 - Matt Mendell / mpmendell

12/31/2010 at 07:07AM

16
#8 - Henrik Nyh / henrik

12/31/2010 at 09:29AM

16
#9 - Ilya Ermolin / ermolinis

12/31/2010 at 09:49AM

16
#10 - Behnam Esfahbod / zwnj

12/31/2010 at 12:39PM

16
#11 - Prody / Prody225

12/31/2010 at 01:35PM

16
#12 - Matt DiGregorio / mattgreggs

12/31/2010 at 01:44PM

16
#13 - mrlboa / mrlboa

12/31/2010 at 02:10PM

16
#14 - Amir Hedayaty / hedayaty

12/31/2010 at 02:21PM

16
#15 - James Conroy-Finn / jamesconroyfinn

12/31/2010 at 04:09PM

16
#16 - Zhao Yao / Lynch8080

12/31/2010 at 06:18PM

16
#17 - Alain Gilbert / alain_gilbert

12/31/2010 at 07:10PM

16
#18 - Vincent Isambart / vincentisambart

01/01/2011 at 05:48AM

16
#19 - Johan Sahlén / jsahlen

01/01/2011 at 10:07AM

16
#20 - Pete Johns / johnsyweb

01/02/2011 at 01:46AM

16
#21 - wyl rof / wylrof

01/02/2011 at 10:19AM

16
#22 - Clark Fischer / clark_fischer

01/02/2011 at 11:31PM

16
#23 - Wei Dai / clvv42

01/02/2011 at 11:38PM

16
#24 - ls lahrs / lslah

01/03/2011 at 09:10AM

16
#25 - derp derp / derp__

01/03/2011 at 05:04PM

16
#26 - Tim Chase / gumnos

01/05/2011 at 02:39AM

16
#27 - Danny O'Sullivan / db0s

01/05/2011 at 11:44AM

16
#28 - Ujjwol Lamichhane / Ujjwol

01/06/2011 at 02:14PM

16
#29 - Balkoth / _Balkoth_

01/08/2011 at 10:54PM

16
#30 - Andrey A. Ugolnik / andreyugolnik

01/19/2011 at 08:21PM