Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1cdb0635b40650b8000527

Make Fancy Header

Make the header text stand out with surrounding asterisks

Start file
Make this a fancy header
This is some text under the fancy header.

This is another fancy header
This is some more text
End file
************************
Make this a fancy header
************************
This is some text under the fancy header.

****************************
This is another fancy header
****************************
This is some more text

View Diff

0a1
> ************************
1a3
> ************************
3a6
> ****************************
4a8
> ****************************

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 312 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#313 Jean-Francois C. / @jfchevrette - Score: 75 - 12/31/10 @ 00:38
O************************<Esc>1yyjp<Esc>jjjO****************************<Esc>1yyjp<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @lionelyoung

313 active golfers, 929 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
29
#301 - Robert Rosolek / @robertrosolek

10/18/2013 at 09:32AM

30
#302 - RobertT / @techrt2050

08/23/2013 at 06:44AM

31
#303 - Nicolas Friedli / @NicolasFriedli

10/30/2012 at 02:17PM

31
#304 - Justin Knag / @justinknag

08/28/2014 at 12:39PM

34
#305 - Guillaume Bonnoron / @gbonnoron

12/30/2010 at 10:14PM

35
#306 - John Hawthorn / @jhawthorn

12/31/2010 at 03:18AM

38
#307 - Travis Swicegood / @tswicegood

12/30/2010 at 09:58PM

38
#308 - Mac Tynow / @MacTynow

01/04/2011 at 10:26AM

38
#309 - sorami / @boredoms

05/01/2011 at 12:08AM

42
#310 - Will Gorman / @willgorman

12/31/2010 at 05:33PM

44
#311 - Su. / @0moMi

12/31/2010 at 04:17AM

65
#312 - Miles Forrest / @MilesForrest

12/30/2010 at 11:02PM

75
#313 - Jean-Francois C. / @jfchevrette

12/31/2010 at 12:38AM