Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1cdb0635b40650b8000527

Make Fancy Header

Make the header text stand out with surrounding asterisks

Start file
Make this a fancy header
This is some text under the fancy header.

This is another fancy header
This is some more text
End file
************************
Make this a fancy header
************************
This is some text under the fancy header.

****************************
This is another fancy header
****************************
This is some more text

View Diff

0a1
> ************************
1a3
> ************************
3a6
> ****************************
4a8
> ****************************

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 311 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#312 Jean-Francois / @jfchevrette - Score: 75 - 12/31/10 @ 00:38
O************************<Esc>1yyjp<Esc>jjjO****************************<Esc>1yyjp<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @lionelyoung

312 active golfers, 928 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
21
#241 - Kenny Low / @kennylow

08/16/2019 at 12:50PM

22
#242 - Steve Morrow / @yawmark

12/30/2010 at 07:55PM

22
#243 - Simon Jefford / @simonj

12/30/2010 at 11:08PM

22
#244 - Rune Botten / @runeb

12/31/2010 at 12:36AM

22
#245 - Joe Hassick / @jhassick

12/31/2010 at 07:45PM

22
#246 - Joshua Flanagan / @jflanagan

12/31/2010 at 11:21PM

22
#247 - Yarin Benado / @yarinb

01/01/2011 at 12:07AM

22
#248 - Woojung Kim 김우중 / @_kimwz

07/16/2013 at 12:30AM

22
#249 - Daniel / @Daniel00288663

03/30/2017 at 04:10PM

23
#250 - smergo / @smergo

12/30/2010 at 08:16PM

23
#251 - Jim Garvin / @coderifous

12/30/2010 at 08:25PM

23
#252 - Akira Matsuda / @a_matsuda

12/30/2010 at 09:43PM

23
#253 - Juan C. Muller / @juancmuller

12/31/2010 at 02:39AM

23
#254 - kmymtksh / @kmymtksh

12/31/2010 at 12:53PM

23
#255 - Leonard Chin / @lchin

01/02/2011 at 04:44PM

23
#256 - drio / @drio

01/10/2011 at 12:57AM

23
#257 - Tom Duijf / @tomduijf

02/12/2011 at 08:41PM

23
#258 - Nick Jones / @nickj89

02/20/2011 at 11:11PM

23
#259 - Shawn / @sartak

04/23/2011 at 07:37PM

23
#260 - Christopher Brew / @Seph1rothVII

01/24/2012 at 12:16AM

23
#261 - Yann B. / @y__b__y

03/18/2014 at 11:08PM

23
#262 - Brendan Timmons / @BrendanTimmons

08/19/2015 at 04:53AM

23
#263 - Gerald Tilma / @GeraldTilma

10/21/2015 at 02:52AM

23
#264 - Joe Searle / @artouk

05/02/2016 at 12:13PM

23
#265 - Will / @obiwan__k3n00bi

09/03/2016 at 07:03AM

23
#266 - Michał Dytko / @DytkoM

12/28/2016 at 12:19PM

23
#267 - Brandon Height / @Lask0x

08/09/2017 at 08:38PM

23
#268 - martin tourneboeuf / @martintournebo1

06/21/2018 at 05:49AM

24
#269 - Tom Adams / @holizz

12/30/2010 at 07:32PM

24
#270 - Dry / @prolongator

12/30/2010 at 07:36PM