Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1db1b8de2f897c2a00014a

Reverse Simple Deletion

You did the simple deletion, now reverse it.

Start file
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
End file
a
b
c
d
e
f
g
h
i
j
k
l
m
n
o
p
q
r
s
t
u
v
w
x
y
z

View Diff

1c1,26
< abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
---
> a
> b
> c
> d
> e
> f
> g
> h
> i
> j
> k
> l
> m
> n
> o
> p
> q
> r
> s
> t
> u
> v
> w
> x
> y
> z

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 413 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#414 khebbie / @khebbie - Score: 109 - 12/31/10 @ 13:25
i<Right><CR><Esc>.u<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @Ujjwol

414 active golfers, 730 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
12
#61 - Marian Schubert / @MarianSchubert

12/31/2010 at 12:12PM

12
#62 - h_east (トロッコ6個) / @h_east

12/31/2010 at 12:16PM

12
#63 - Peter Gibson / @p_gibson

12/31/2010 at 12:18PM

12
#64 - Behnam Esfahbod / @zwnj

12/31/2010 at 12:19PM

12
#65 - Mariusz Ceier / @mceier

12/31/2010 at 12:22PM

12
#66 - Chris / @chrisnklein

12/31/2010 at 12:22PM

12
#67 - Aurélien Delahaye / @alkove

12/31/2010 at 12:25PM

12
#68 - woodspock / @woodspock

12/31/2010 at 12:41PM

12
#69 - Brian Buckley / @bbuckley

12/31/2010 at 12:48PM

12
#70 - Amir Hedayaty / @hedayaty

12/31/2010 at 12:49PM

12
#71 - Prody / @Prody225

12/31/2010 at 12:51PM

12
#72 - Bart Van Geyt / @Bart_VG

12/31/2010 at 01:05PM

12
#73 - paulfariello ✏️ / @paulfariello

12/31/2010 at 01:10PM

12
#74 - Stephan Weller / @stephan_weller

12/31/2010 at 01:13PM

12
#75 - Matt DiGregorio / @mattgreggs

12/31/2010 at 01:16PM

12
#76 - Tim Smith / @tim_smith

12/31/2010 at 01:18PM

12
#77 -  Ikhsan Maulana / @ixandidu

12/31/2010 at 01:26PM

12
#78 - Pau / @masylum

12/31/2010 at 01:29PM

12
#79 - PA Parent / @paparent

12/31/2010 at 01:42PM

12
#80 - Balkoth / @_Balkoth_

12/31/2010 at 01:42PM

12
#81 - Aviv Ben-Yosef / @avivby

12/31/2010 at 01:49PM

12
#82 - James Conroy-Finn / @jamesconroyfinn

12/31/2010 at 01:54PM

12
#83 - mrlboa / @mrlboa

12/31/2010 at 01:55PM

12
#84 - Janusz Bossy / @YANOUSHek

12/31/2010 at 02:11PM

12
#85 - Simon Jefford / @simonj

12/31/2010 at 02:25PM

12
#86 - Fitz / @Fitzface

12/31/2010 at 02:30PM

12
#87 - Rune Botten / @runeb

12/31/2010 at 02:33PM

12
#88 - Ricardo Mendes / @locks

12/31/2010 at 02:35PM

12
#89 - Henrik Nyh / @henrik

12/31/2010 at 02:42PM

12
#90 - Josh Reynolds / @jreynolds

12/31/2010 at 02:46PM