Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1db1b8de2f897c2a00014a

Reverse Simple Deletion

You did the simple deletion, now reverse it.

Start file
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
End file
a
b
c
d
e
f
g
h
i
j
k
l
m
n
o
p
q
r
s
t
u
v
w
x
y
z

View Diff

1c1,26
< abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
---
> a
> b
> c
> d
> e
> f
> g
> h
> i
> j
> k
> l
> m
> n
> o
> p
> q
> r
> s
> t
> u
> v
> w
> x
> y
> z

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 413 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#414 khebbie / @khebbie - Score: 109 - 12/31/10 @ 13:25
i<Right><CR><Esc>.u<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Right>.<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @Ujjwol

414 active golfers, 730 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
12
#91 - Eugene Ventimiglia / @eventi

12/31/2010 at 02:51PM

12
#92 - Vitaly Kushner / @vkushner

12/31/2010 at 02:53PM

12
#93 - Addisu Taddese / @azeey

12/31/2010 at 03:08PM

12
#94 - ninereeds / @ninereeds

12/31/2010 at 03:22PM

12
#95 - Leeward Bound / @leewardbound

12/31/2010 at 03:39PM

12
#96 - Leon Li / @tubieyi

12/31/2010 at 03:52PM

12
#97 - joakimk / @joakimk

12/31/2010 at 04:04PM

12
#98 - Asmund / @herrasbe

12/31/2010 at 04:26PM

12
#99 - Rod Cloutier / @RodCloutier

12/31/2010 at 04:36PM

12
#100 - Thedward the Edward / @thedward

12/31/2010 at 04:46PM

12
#101 - Brad Taylor / @robotsasquatch

12/31/2010 at 05:22PM

12
#102 - Stephen Celis / @stephencelis

12/31/2010 at 05:35PM

12
#103 - Peter Anselmo / @peter_anselmo

12/31/2010 at 06:01PM

12
#104 - Joe Hassick / @jhassick

12/31/2010 at 06:07PM

12
#105 - Alain Gilbert / @alain_gilbert

12/31/2010 at 06:09PM

12
#106 - Juan C. Muller / @juancmuller

12/31/2010 at 06:52PM

12
#107 - Ryan Horn / @ryan_horn

12/31/2010 at 07:28PM

12
#108 - Will Gray / @graywh

12/31/2010 at 07:45PM

12
#109 - Tim Chase / @gumnos

12/31/2010 at 07:47PM

12
#110 - Michael Andrews / @mjands

12/31/2010 at 07:48PM

12
#111 - Asís García / @asischao

12/31/2010 at 08:08PM

12
#112 - Jordan Lewis / @JordanALewis

12/31/2010 at 08:36PM

12
#113 - clint tseng / @cxlt

12/31/2010 at 09:30PM

12
#114 - Kyle Willmon / @kylewillmon

12/31/2010 at 11:30PM

12
#115 - Joel Taylor / @joelteon_

01/01/2011 at 01:04AM

12
#116 - Paul King / @nrocy

01/01/2011 at 01:37AM

12
#117 - Ryan Elmquist / @relmquist

01/01/2011 at 02:44AM

12
#118 - Vincent Isambart / @vincentisambart

01/01/2011 at 03:28AM

12
#119 - David / @ddddddddavid

01/01/2011 at 04:56AM

12
#120 - Casey W Crites / @caseycrites

01/01/2011 at 06:31AM