Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1df910de2f897c2a0003c0

Almost encrypted

Convert the first paragraph to be even less readable.

Start file
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam,
quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo
consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse
cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur.  Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non
proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam,
quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo
consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse
cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur.  Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non
proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum.
End file
Yberz vcfhz qbybe fvg nzrg, pbafrpgrghe zntan nyvdhn. Hg ravz nq zvavz iravnz,
dhvf abfgehq rkrepvgngvba hyynzpb ynobevf avfv hg nyvdhvc rk rn pbzzbqb
pbafrdhng. Qhvf nhgr veher qbybe va erceruraqrevg va ibyhcgngr iryvg rffr
pvyyhz qbyber rh shtvng ahyyn cnevnghe.  Rkprcgrhe fvag bppnrpng phcvqngng aba
cebvqrag, fhag va phycn dhv bssvpvn qrfrehag zbyyvg navz vq rfg ynobehz.

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam,
quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo
consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse
cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur.  Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non
proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum.

View Diff

1,5c1,5
< Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam,
< quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo
< consequat. Duis aute irure dolor in reprehenderit in voluptate velit esse
< cillum dolore eu fugiat nulla pariatur.  Excepteur sint occaecat cupidatat non
< proident, sunt in culpa qui officia deserunt mollit anim id est laborum.
---
> Yberz vcfhz qbybe fvg nzrg, pbafrpgrghe zntan nyvdhn. Hg ravz nq zvavz iravnz,
> dhvf abfgehq rkrepvgngvba hyynzpb ynobevf avfv hg nyvdhvc rk rn pbzzbqb
> pbafrdhng. Qhvf nhgr veher qbybe va erceruraqrevg va ibyhcgngr iryvg rffr
> pvyyhz qbyber rh shtvng ahyyn cnevnghe.  Rkprcgrhe fvag bppnrpng phcvqngng aba
> cebvqrag, fhag va phycn dhv bssvpvn qrfrehag zbyyvg navz vq rfg ynobehz.

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 99 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#100 foo / foo88832727 - Score: 5 - 10/19/13 @ 13:38
g?}ZZ

0 comments

#101 Yann Moisan / YannMoisan - Score: 5 - 01/04/14 @ 14:57
g?}ZZ

0 comments

#102 ▚▞▜▛▟▓▛▜░▙▟▒▋▌▊ / null_radix - Score: 5 - 02/03/14 @ 23:59
g?}ZZ

0 comments

#103 Milind Ganjoo / mganjoo - Score: 5 - 03/04/14 @ 02:56
g?}ZZ

0 comments

#104 Joonas Pihlajamaa / jokkebk - Score: 5 - 03/14/14 @ 17:06
g?}ZZ

0 comments

#105 Paul Kunysch / kunysch - Score: 5 - 07/18/14 @ 19:39
g?}ZZ

0 comments

#106 Robert Dyer / NavyJim13 - Score: 5 - 08/17/14 @ 20:51
g?}ZZ

0 comments

#107 John Braxler / braxler - Score: 5 - 08/20/14 @ 22:00
g?}ZZ

0 comments

#108 Dmitriy / _dpy_ - Score: 5 - 09/03/14 @ 20:06
g?}ZZ

0 comments

#109 Caek / Caek_ - Score: 5 - 09/29/14 @ 01:07
g?MZZ

0 comments

#110 kimber gonzalez / kimberlycreates - Score: 5 - 01/06/15 @ 22:56
g?}ZZ

0 comments

#111 T A / SirAviles - Score: 5 - 09/19/15 @ 12:12
g?}ZZ

0 comments

#112 Jon Krause / jkrause314 - Score: 5 - 01/15/16 @ 17:44
g?}ZZ

0 comments

#113 Foo Bar / foobar01123 - Score: 5 - 06/08/16 @ 09:20
g?}ZZ

0 comments

#114 Yannick LM / yanicklm - Score: 6 - 12/31/10 @ 17:19
g?ipZZ

0 comments

#115 kmymtksh / kmymtksh - Score: 6 - 12/31/10 @ 17:46
g?4jZZ

0 comments

#116 Dan / opello - Score: 6 - 12/31/10 @ 18:04
<Esc>g?}ZZ

0 comments

#117 Joe Hassick / jhassick - Score: 6 - 12/31/10 @ 18:04
g?}jZZ

0 comments

#118  Ikhsan Maulana / ixandidu - Score: 6 - 12/31/10 @ 18:11
g?5GZZ

0 comments

#119 Oliver Christ / 0liverChrist - Score: 6 - 11/11/13 @ 16:56
V}g?ZZ

0 comments

#120 Guillaume Bonnoron / gbonnoron - Score: 7 - 12/31/10 @ 16:11
V4jg?ZZ

0 comments

#121 Thedward the Edward / thedward - Score: 7 - 12/31/10 @ 16:32
g?}FUZZ

kimberlycreates: Nice lol

1 comment

#122 Matthieu Honel / ocus - Score: 7 - 01/29/11 @ 13:20
V5Gg?ZZ

0 comments

#123 Tullio Facchinetti / toolleeo - Score: 7 - 07/25/13 @ 21:25
V}kg?ZZ

0 comments

#124 無ん垢の叫び / john_ababa - Score: 383 - 02/24/12 @ 06:13
d}IYberz vcfhz qbybe fvg nzrg, pbafrpgrghe zntan nyvdhn. Hg ravz nq zvavz iravnz,<CR>dhvf abfgehq rkrepvgngvba hyynzpb ynobevf avfv hg nyvdhvc rk rn pbzzbqb<CR>pbafrdhng. Qhvf nhgr veher qbybe va erceruraqrevg va ibyhcgngr iryvg rffr<CR>pvyyhz qbyber rh shtvng ahyyn cnevnghe.  Rkprcgrhe fvag bppnrpng phcvqngng aba<CR>cebvqrag, fhag va phycn dhv bssvpvn qrfrehag zbyyvg navz vq rfg ynobehz.<CR><Esc>ZZ

0 comments

Created by: jamesconroyfinn

124 active golfers, 161 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
5
#1 - Balkoth / _Balkoth_

12/31/2010 at 06:30PM

5
#2 - Lee Jarvis / lee_jarvis

12/31/2010 at 06:33PM

5
#3 - Tim Chase / gumnos

12/31/2010 at 06:43PM

5
#4 - Josh Weinberg / jcweinberg

12/31/2010 at 06:53PM

5
#5 - Juan C. Muller / juancmuller

12/31/2010 at 06:55PM

5
#6 - Henrik Nyh / henrik

12/31/2010 at 07:01PM

5
#7 - Alain Gilbert / alain_gilbert

12/31/2010 at 07:03PM

5
#8 - Behnam Esfahbod / zwnj

12/31/2010 at 07:16PM

5
#9 - Leeward Bound / leewardbound

12/31/2010 at 07:30PM

5
#10 - Stephen Morrow / yawmark

12/31/2010 at 08:04PM

5
#11 - Jordan Lewis / JordanALewis

12/31/2010 at 08:40PM

5
#12 - larsd / larsd

12/31/2010 at 09:00PM

5
#13 - clint tseng / cxlt

12/31/2010 at 09:03PM

5
#14 - Bill Odom / billodom

12/31/2010 at 10:35PM

5
#15 - Vincent Isambart / vincentisambart

12/31/2010 at 11:00PM

5
#16 - Kyle Willmon / kylewillmon

12/31/2010 at 11:27PM

5
#17 - Joel Taylor / joelteon_

01/01/2011 at 01:03AM

5
#18 - Wei Dai / clvv42

01/01/2011 at 01:23AM

5
#19 - TD Mackey / tdmackey

01/01/2011 at 01:46AM

5
#20 - Matthew Draper / _matthewd

01/01/2011 at 02:44AM

5
#21 - Ujjwol Lamichhane / Ujjwol

01/01/2011 at 02:49AM

5
#22 - Lee Marlow / lmarlow

01/01/2011 at 04:10AM

5
#23 - Asmund Liseth / Asmund_L

01/01/2011 at 07:15AM

5
#24 - Brad / bjjwillis

01/01/2011 at 11:05AM

5
#25 - Martin Hauser / grummel

01/01/2011 at 02:46PM

5
#26 - Stephan Weller / stephan_weller

01/01/2011 at 04:33PM

5
#27 - Ben Brown / benofbrown

01/01/2011 at 06:52PM

5
#28 - n / kivran

01/01/2011 at 07:28PM

5
#29 - Rune Botten / runeb

01/01/2011 at 07:44PM

5
#30 - Aurélien Delahaye / alkove

01/02/2011 at 12:13AM

5
#31 - Pete Johns / johnsyweb

01/02/2011 at 07:24AM

5
#32 - James Cash / jamesnvc

01/02/2011 at 07:19PM

5
#33 - dominique pellé / vimgolfisto

01/02/2011 at 08:45PM

5
#34 - Ben Lenarts / benlenarts

01/02/2011 at 10:56PM

5
#35 - derp derp / derp__

01/03/2011 at 05:13AM

5
#36 - Clément Nodet / clementnodet

01/03/2011 at 05:23PM

5
#37 - Benoît Ryder / benoitryder

01/03/2011 at 11:04PM

5
#38 - aaaa3331 / aaaa3331

01/04/2011 at 12:28AM

5
#39 - Yann Thomas-Gérard / inside_

01/04/2011 at 01:54PM

5
#40 - Aaron Bull Schaefer / elasticdog

01/05/2011 at 12:40AM

5
#41 - Karel Vervaeke / karel1980

01/06/2011 at 08:33PM

5
#42 - Francisco Dibar / frandibar

01/07/2011 at 12:30AM

5
#43 - aimee / sermoa

01/08/2011 at 12:03PM

5
#44 - Toto l'haricot / nico_le_terribl

01/09/2011 at 02:01PM

5
#45 - Paul King / nrocy

01/10/2011 at 11:15AM

5
#46 - drio / drio

01/10/2011 at 01:05PM

5
#47 - Jes / vim_jes

01/13/2011 at 11:31PM

5
#48 - fuck you / jerkassholeface

01/15/2011 at 12:30AM

5
#49 - Stuart Gale / bishboria

01/16/2011 at 01:44PM

5
#50 - Federico Galassi / federicogalassi

01/17/2011 at 10:10PM

5
#51 - Clive Evans / swish_bob

01/17/2011 at 11:20PM

5
#52 - Chris Waring / cwaring

01/18/2011 at 12:26AM

5
#53 - Andrey A. Ugolnik / andreyugolnik

01/19/2011 at 07:45PM

5
#54 - Oleg Roshupkin / jjjahson

01/20/2011 at 05:39PM

5
#55 - Thomas Schönwälder / Masei1988

01/20/2011 at 09:06PM

5
#56 - h_east (トロッコ6個) / h_east

01/30/2011 at 03:00AM

5
#57 - Alekseyka2 / Alekseyka2

02/02/2011 at 05:12PM

5
#58 - vg / vimgolfer

02/27/2011 at 09:09PM

5
#59 - Pavlo Klets / p01nt

03/19/2011 at 09:01AM

5
#60 - Terje Larsen / terlars

04/07/2011 at 07:47PM

5
#61 - Mathias Bynens  / mathias

04/08/2011 at 08:16AM

5
#62 - mightyfoo / mightyfoo

05/26/2011 at 10:02PM

5
#63 - Raphael Sofaer / rsofaer

06/13/2011 at 02:27AM

5
#64 - Peter Anselmo / peter_anselmo

06/24/2011 at 08:51PM

5
#65 - Johan Sveholm / rymdtjuren

06/30/2011 at 08:58AM

5
#66 - Justin Love / wondible

07/13/2011 at 10:26PM

5
#67 - Hu Junfeng / junfeng

07/22/2011 at 08:09AM

5
#68 - Dave / zzdave13

07/26/2011 at 09:43PM

5
#69 - Anton / al_alley

07/31/2011 at 12:20PM

5
#70 - Torben Rasmussen / rasmustorben

08/16/2011 at 09:16PM

5
#71 - Simon's Calf / simonscarfe

08/30/2011 at 02:07PM

5
#72 - p0ckets / p0ckets

10/06/2011 at 08:23PM

5
#73 - Infertux / Infertux

11/04/2011 at 03:34PM

5
#74 - William Dunand / wdunand

11/28/2011 at 09:25AM

5
#75 - Trevor Powell / DoomedBunnies

12/01/2011 at 12:33AM

5
#76 - You-Siang Lin / yslinnctu

12/02/2011 at 08:37AM

5
#77 - Xavier Nayrac / lkdjiin

12/30/2011 at 03:36PM

5
#78 - Rik Lomas / riklomas

01/01/2012 at 12:32AM

5
#79 - Renat Aksitov / Korvin79

01/29/2012 at 07:09AM

5
#80 - ɟpsq / bsdf

02/08/2012 at 07:44PM

5
#81 - Steven Sloss / StevenSloss

02/19/2012 at 02:44AM

5
#82 - Chris Penkett / chrispenkett

04/02/2012 at 10:50PM

5
#83 - Timothy Hahn / timyhahn

04/23/2012 at 05:39PM

5
#84 - Cat Dragon / catragon

05/04/2012 at 11:48AM

5
#85 - Sunny Klair / 0xSunhay

05/13/2012 at 11:19PM

5
#86 - Urtica dioica / udioica

05/29/2012 at 06:32AM

5
#87 - mwatkward / AftrschoolSpe

07/02/2012 at 10:00PM

5
#88 - Kerson Hsiao / KersonHsiao

08/24/2012 at 04:24PM

5
#89 - tmr / tmr314

09/10/2012 at 01:00PM

5
#90 - Conner McDaniel / connermcd

09/25/2012 at 12:00AM

5
#91 - Vim rocks / vimrocks

10/08/2012 at 10:35PM

5
#92 - Emile Swarts / EmileSwarts

10/28/2012 at 10:26AM

5
#93 - Jonas Lindmark / lindmarkjonas

11/22/2012 at 02:22PM

5
#94 - Fred Nias / frednias

12/07/2012 at 12:59PM

5
#95 - Michael / patheticpat

12/17/2012 at 09:44PM

5
#96 - M8R eonxi21 / eonxi21

05/21/2013 at 01:46AM

5
#97 - Marco Hinz / _mhinz_

05/24/2013 at 09:08PM

5
#98 - Dr Rev J Kirchartz / JKirchartz

07/28/2013 at 11:48PM

5
#99 - James / Dronak

09/01/2013 at 11:49PM

5
#100 - foo / foo88832727

10/19/2013 at 01:38PM

5
#101 - Yann Moisan / YannMoisan

01/04/2014 at 02:57PM

5
#102 - ▚▞▜▛▟▓▛▜░▙▟▒▋▌▊ / null_radix

02/03/2014 at 11:59PM

5
#103 - Milind Ganjoo / mganjoo

03/04/2014 at 02:56AM

5
#104 - Joonas Pihlajamaa / jokkebk

03/14/2014 at 05:06PM

5
#105 - Paul Kunysch / kunysch

07/18/2014 at 07:39PM

5
#106 - Robert Dyer / NavyJim13

08/17/2014 at 08:51PM

5
#107 - John Braxler / braxler

08/20/2014 at 10:00PM

5
#108 - Dmitriy / _dpy_

09/03/2014 at 08:06PM

5
#109 - Caek / Caek_

09/29/2014 at 01:07AM

5
#110 - kimber gonzalez / kimberlycreates

01/06/2015 at 10:56PM

5
#111 - T A / SirAviles

09/19/2015 at 12:12PM

5
#112 - Jon Krause / jkrause314

01/15/2016 at 05:44PM

5
#113 - Foo Bar / foobar01123

06/08/2016 at 09:20AM

6
#114 - Yannick LM / yanicklm

12/31/2010 at 05:19PM

6
#115 - kmymtksh / kmymtksh

12/31/2010 at 05:46PM

6
#116 - Dan / opello

12/31/2010 at 06:04PM

6
#117 - Joe Hassick / jhassick

12/31/2010 at 06:04PM

6
#118 -  Ikhsan Maulana / ixandidu

12/31/2010 at 06:11PM

6
#119 - Oliver Christ / 0liverChrist

11/11/2013 at 04:56PM

7
#120 - Guillaume Bonnoron / gbonnoron

12/31/2010 at 04:11PM

7
#121 - Thedward the Edward / thedward

12/31/2010 at 04:32PM

7
#122 - Matthieu Honel / ocus

01/29/2011 at 01:20PM

7
#123 - Tullio Facchinetti / toolleeo

07/25/2013 at 09:25PM

383
#124 - 無ん垢の叫び / john_ababa

02/24/2012 at 06:13AM