Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1dfe2cde2f897c2a0003e3

Letters are numbers

Letters and numbers are interchangeable. A lot of programming languages give you simple ways to convert individual letters to hex, binary and decimal but does Vim?

Start file
Letters can also be numbers. Not sure how it works but it does
End file
761011161161011141153299971103297108115111329810132110117109981011141154632781111163211511711410132104111119321051163211911111410711532981171163210511632100111101115

View Diff

1c1
< Letters can also be numbers. Not sure how it works but it does
---
> 761011161161011141153299971103297108115111329810132110117109981011141154632781111163211511711410132104111119321051163211911111410711532981171163210511632100111101115

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 50 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#51 Mattiassich Ákos / mattiassicha - Score: 32 - 01/08/11 @ 09:32
:s/./\=char2nr(submatch(0))/g<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#52 aaaa3331 / aaaa3331 - Score: 32 - 01/08/11 @ 22:33
:s/./\=char2nr(submatch(0))/g<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#53 Dragan Cvetinovic / kawkafi - Score: 32 - 06/18/11 @ 09:23
:s/./\=char2nr(submatch(0))/g<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#54 Xavier Nayrac / lkdjiin - Score: 32 - 12/30/11 @ 15:39
:s/./\=char2nr(submatch(0))/g<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#55 Dj Vimgolf / dj_vimgolf - Score: 32 - 01/14/12 @ 18:34
:s/./\=char2nr(submatch(0))/g<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#56 Renat Aksitov / Korvin79 - Score: 32 - 03/09/12 @ 01:49
:s/./\=char2nr(submatch(0))/g<NL>ZZ

0 comments

#57 Oliver Christ / 0liverChrist - Score: 32 - 11/11/13 @ 22:32
:s/./\=char2nr(submatch(0))/g<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#58 Alessandro Lisander / wuiimu - Score: 32 - 01/06/14 @ 09:10
:s/./\=char2nr(submatch(0))/g<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#59 James / Dronak - Score: 32 - 09/04/14 @ 15:48
:s/./\=char2nr(submatch(0))/g<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#60 Rod Cloutier / RodCloutier - Score: 33 - 12/31/10 @ 16:15
:%s/./\=char2nr(submatch(0))/g<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#61 Hung Huu Hoang / hungh3 - Score: 35 - 01/02/11 @ 07:26
:%s/./\=char2nr(submatch(0))/g<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments

#62 kmymtksh / kmymtksh - Score: 40 - 12/31/10 @ 17:24
:%!perl -ne'map{print ord}split""'<CR>$xxZZ

0 comments

#63 無ん垢の叫び / john_ababa - Score: 169 - 02/24/12 @ 06:15
C761011161161011141153299971103297108115111329810132110117109981011141154632781111163211511711410132104111119321051163211911111410711532981171163210511632100111101115<Esc>ZZ

0 comments

Created by: jamesconroyfinn

63 active golfers, 121 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
20
#1 - Federico Galassi / federicogalassi

01/17/2011 at 10:18PM

23
#2 - Urtica dioica / udioica

08/12/2012 at 07:41AM

23
#3 - Conner McDaniel / connermcd

09/25/2012 at 12:02AM

23
#4 - John Braxler / braxler

09/12/2014 at 07:28PM

23
#5 - lynn / la_lalxu

08/21/2016 at 09:56AM

24
#6 - pftb12345 / pftb12345

04/17/2015 at 05:41AM

24
#7 - Jon Krause / jkrause314

12/24/2015 at 07:12PM

25
#8 - Bruno Sutic / brunosutic

07/19/2013 at 04:21AM

26
#9 - Douglas Stockwell / dstockwell

12/31/2010 at 07:38PM

26
#10 - Alain Gilbert / alain_gilbert

12/31/2010 at 08:32PM

26
#11 - Behnam Esfahbod / zwnj

12/31/2010 at 08:59PM

26
#12 - eolo999 / eolo999

12/31/2010 at 10:45PM

26
#13 - Wei Dai / clvv42

01/01/2011 at 01:28AM

26
#14 - dominique pellé / vimgolfisto

01/03/2011 at 09:14AM

26
#15 - Corey Purcell / coreypurcell

01/03/2011 at 02:15PM

26
#16 - Benoît Ryder / benoitryder

01/03/2011 at 10:56PM

26
#17 - Ujjwol Lamichhane / Ujjwol

01/06/2011 at 02:24PM

26
#18 - drio / drio

01/10/2011 at 01:17PM

26
#19 - Oleg Roshupkin / jjjahson

01/20/2011 at 01:43PM

26
#20 - xhtmlforum / xhtmlforum

01/24/2011 at 10:21PM

26
#21 - h_east (トロッコ6個) / h_east

01/30/2011 at 03:46AM

26
#22 - vg / vimgolfer

02/27/2011 at 09:16PM

26
#23 - Justin Love / wondible

07/14/2011 at 04:24PM

26
#24 - Hu Junfeng / junfeng

07/22/2011 at 08:33AM

26
#25 - Dave / zzdave13

07/26/2011 at 07:09PM

26
#26 - Tim Tsu / vimgolfpunk

08/29/2011 at 02:57PM

26
#27 - Trevor Powell / DoomedBunnies

12/01/2011 at 05:39AM

26
#28 - You-Siang Lin / yslinnctu

12/02/2011 at 11:25AM

26
#29 - Christopher Brew / Seph1rothVII

01/19/2012 at 09:07PM

26
#30 - hiding / I_haveno_name

10/26/2013 at 09:02PM

26
#31 - Joonas Pihlajamaa / jokkebk

03/15/2014 at 04:22PM

26
#32 - Arthur叔 / Arthurljg

05/10/2014 at 04:31PM

28
#33 - Francisco Dibar / frandibar

01/12/2011 at 02:42PM

28
#34 - Kerson Hsiao / KersonHsiao

07/23/2012 at 12:41PM

28
#35 - M8R eonxi21 / eonxi21

05/21/2013 at 02:08AM

30
#36 - Aurélien Delahaye / alkove

01/02/2011 at 12:03AM

31
#37 - Kyle Willmon / kylewillmon

01/03/2011 at 05:17PM

31
#38 - Emeric Dupont / stucule

08/23/2011 at 02:38PM

32
#39 - Thedward the Edward / thedward

12/31/2010 at 04:20PM

32
#40 - Utkarsh Kukreti / utkarshkukreti

12/31/2010 at 04:32PM

32
#41 - Fitz / Fitzface

12/31/2010 at 04:35PM

32
#42 - Matthew Draper / _matthewd

12/31/2010 at 05:03PM

32
#43 - Peter Anselmo / peter_anselmo

12/31/2010 at 06:05PM

32
#44 - Tim Chase / gumnos

12/31/2010 at 06:45PM

32
#45 - Israel Chauca F. / Raimondi

12/31/2010 at 07:58PM

32
#46 - David / ddddddddavid

12/31/2010 at 08:45PM

32
#47 - Bill Odom / billodom

12/31/2010 at 10:19PM

32
#48 - Vincent Isambart / vincentisambart

12/31/2010 at 10:54PM

32
#49 - Stephan Weller / stephan_weller

01/01/2011 at 05:30PM

32
#50 - Pete Johns / johnsyweb

01/02/2011 at 07:13AM

32
#51 - Mattiassich Ákos / mattiassicha

01/08/2011 at 09:32AM

32
#52 - aaaa3331 / aaaa3331

01/08/2011 at 10:33PM

32
#53 - Dragan Cvetinovic / kawkafi

06/18/2011 at 09:23AM

32
#54 - Xavier Nayrac / lkdjiin

12/30/2011 at 03:39PM

32
#55 - Dj Vimgolf / dj_vimgolf

01/14/2012 at 06:34PM

32
#56 - Renat Aksitov / Korvin79

03/09/2012 at 01:49AM

32
#57 - Oliver Christ / 0liverChrist

11/11/2013 at 10:32PM

32
#58 - Alessandro Lisander / wuiimu

01/06/2014 at 09:10AM

32
#59 - James / Dronak

09/04/2014 at 03:48PM

33
#60 - Rod Cloutier / RodCloutier

12/31/2010 at 04:15PM

35
#61 - Hung Huu Hoang / hungh3

01/02/2011 at 07:26AM

40
#62 - kmymtksh / kmymtksh

12/31/2010 at 05:24PM

169
#63 - 無ん垢の叫び / john_ababa

02/24/2012 at 06:15AM