Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1eaf7225ba287b2a00018b

Generate Fibonacci Numbers

Use your super vim powers to generate Fibonacci Numbers.

Start file
0
End file
0
1
1
2
3
5
8
13
21
34
55
89
144
233
377
610
987
1597
2584
4181
6765
10946
17711
28657
46368
75025
121393
196418
317811
514229
832040
1346269
2178309
3524578
5702887
9227465
14930352
24157817
39088169

View Diff

1a2,39
> 1
> 1
> 2
> 3
> 5
> 8
> 13
> 21
> 34
> 55
> 89
> 144
> 233
> 377
> 610
> 987
> 1597
> 2584
> 4181
> 6765
> 10946
> 17711
> 28657
> 46368
> 75025
> 121393
> 196418
> 317811
> 514229
> 832040
> 1346269
> 2178309
> 3524578
> 5702887
> 9227465
> 14930352
> 24157817
> 39088169

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 63 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#64 Saikat Guha / guhasaikat - Score: 25 - 01/03/11 @ 11:07
y$o1<Esc>qro<Esc>p0<Up>y$<Down>@"<C-A>q36@rZZ

0 comments

#65 drio / drio - Score: 25 - 01/15/11 @ 14:24
o1<CR>1<Esc>qaYpkky$jj@"<C-A>q35@aZZ

0 comments

#66 Mathias Bynens  / mathias - Score: 25 - 04/08/11 @ 08:53
o1<CR>1<Esc>qaYpkky$jj@"<C-A>q35@aZZ

0 comments

#67 not so punk :] / notsopunk - Score: 25 - 06/19/11 @ 11:08
o1<CR>1<Esc>qaYpkky$jj@"<C-A>q35@aZZ

0 comments

#68 nicolas bo / thevegeta - Score: 25 - 11/09/11 @ 16:21
o1<CR>1<Esc>qqYpkky$jj@"<C-A>q35@qZZ

0 comments

#69 Justin Knag / justinknag - Score: 25 - 08/31/14 @ 06:30
Yp<C-Z><C-A>YpqqYp2kywG@"<C-A>q35@qZZ

0 comments

#70 Dmitry Teslenko / krab_mozga - Score: 26 - 01/19/11 @ 14:08
Yp<C-A>YpqqYp2kywG@"<C-A>q35@q:wq<CR>

0 comments

#71 Matthieu Crapet / mcr05 - Score: 26 - 12/31/14 @ 13:05
Yp<C-A>qqykgPJr+V"=<C-R><C-A><CR>pq36@qZZ

0 comments

#72 Ian McCowan / valrus - Score: 30 - 05/30/11 @ 02:13
Yp<C-A>qak^y$jdwpo<C-R>=<C-R>"+<C-R>0<CR><Esc>q36@aZZ

0 comments

#73 James Cash / jamesnvc - Score: 32 - 01/04/11 @ 15:55
o1<Esc>kqq"ay$jy$o<C-R>=<C-R>a+<C-R>"<CR><Esc>k0q36@qZZ

0 comments

#74 foo / foo88832727 - Score: 32 - 10/19/13 @ 17:03
Yp<C-A>qq-"ayw<CR>"bywo<C-R>=<C-R>a+<C-R>b<CR><Esc>q36@qZZ

0 comments

#75 Phil Dubach / fuiru - Score: 32 - 08/13/14 @ 05:16
o1<Esc>qqywkdwPjo<C-R>=<C-R><C-O>0+<C-R><C-O>"<CR><Esc>0q36@qZZ

0 comments

#76 Chaitanya Desu / ChaituNu - Score: 34 - 05/11/14 @ 04:17
Yp<C-A>qaYp2kywG@"<C-A>q32@q32@a3@aggo1<Esc>ZZ

0 comments

#77 Gerhard Gappmeier / gergap - Score: 34 - 09/15/15 @ 16:00
o1<Esc>qq"ayiwk"byiwjo<C-R>=<C-R>a+<C-R>b<CR><Esc>q36@qZZ

0 comments

#78 Francisco Dibar / frandibar - Score: 58 - 01/08/11 @ 03:50
o1<Esc>qqo<C-R>=getline(line('.')-1)+getline(line('.')-2)<CR><Esc>q36@qZZ

0 comments

#79 Lee Marlow / lmarlow - Score: 75 - 01/01/11 @ 05:14
Yp<C-A>qqo<Esc>:call setline('.',getline(line('.')-1)+getline(line('.')-2))<CR>q36@qZZ

0 comments

Created by: Ujjwol

79 active golfers, 188 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
19
#1 - Federico Galassi / federicogalassi

01/26/2011 at 03:28AM

19
#2 - Wei Dai / clvv42

01/28/2011 at 07:00AM

19
#3 - vg / vimgolfer

02/27/2011 at 09:59PM

19
#4 - You-Siang Lin / yslinnctu

12/02/2011 at 01:01PM

19
#5 - Renat Aksitov / Korvin79

02/18/2012 at 08:13AM

19
#6 - Urtica dioica / udioica

06/27/2012 at 11:22PM

19
#7 - Kerson Hsiao / KersonHsiao

08/13/2012 at 12:34PM

19
#8 - Conner McDaniel / connermcd

09/25/2012 at 12:30AM

19
#9 - Vim rocks / vimrocks

10/09/2012 at 10:44AM

19
#10 - Victor Ramirez / virako

10/16/2012 at 01:09AM

19
#11 - Вячеслав Аникин / anikinsl

10/17/2012 at 11:21AM

19
#12 - Petro Тrouq / zulolosi

02/15/2013 at 07:19PM

19
#13 - Marco Hinz / _mhinz_

05/26/2013 at 11:11PM

19
#14 - John Braxler / braxler

08/12/2014 at 06:24PM

19
#15 - pftb12345 / pftb12345

04/23/2015 at 01:31PM

20
#16 - Ujjwol Lamichhane / Ujjwol

01/01/2011 at 05:40AM

20
#17 - Josh Weinberg / jcweinberg

01/01/2011 at 06:44AM

20
#18 - Ilya Ermolin / ermolinis

01/01/2011 at 12:03PM

20
#19 - Fer Enaf / 0x00C0FFEE

01/01/2011 at 08:21PM

20
#20 - Clint Tseng / cxlt

01/02/2011 at 02:43AM

20
#21 - Pete Johns / johnsyweb

01/02/2011 at 06:01AM

20
#22 - David Shaw / shawthings

01/02/2011 at 09:31AM

20
#23 - derp derp / derp__

01/03/2011 at 05:29AM

20
#24 - Kyle Willmon / kylewillmon

01/03/2011 at 06:08AM

20
#25 - Glenn / spamcow_moo

01/04/2011 at 12:31AM

20
#26 - aimee / sermoa

01/08/2011 at 05:06PM

20
#27 - h_east (トロッコ6個) / h_east

01/30/2011 at 09:50AM

20
#28 - Justin Love / wondible

07/18/2011 at 02:16PM

20
#29 - Hu Junfeng / junfeng

07/25/2011 at 12:01PM

20
#30 - vimja / vimja666

11/02/2011 at 11:46PM

20
#31 - William Dunand / wdunand

11/22/2011 at 05:54AM

20
#32 - Xavier Nayrac / lkdjiin

12/31/2011 at 04:37PM

20
#33 - Nolen Royalty / NolenRoyalty

04/21/2012 at 01:32AM

20
#34 - Jon Krause / jkrause314

10/20/2015 at 03:43AM

21
#35 - alex scott / 4l3xsc0tt

01/05/2011 at 01:45AM

22
#36 - xaizek / xaizek

07/21/2011 at 05:54PM

22
#37 - 無ん垢の叫び / john_ababa

05/26/2012 at 05:42AM

23
#38 - Matthew Draper / _matthewd

01/01/2011 at 05:19AM

23
#39 - Brad / bjjwillis

01/02/2011 at 12:23AM

23
#40 - Austin Taylor / austintaylor

01/02/2011 at 04:46AM

23
#41 - dominique pellé / vimgolfisto

01/02/2011 at 10:56AM

23
#42 - Stuart Gale / bishboria

01/02/2011 at 06:30PM

23
#43 - Paul King / nrocy

01/02/2011 at 07:16PM

23
#44 - Ben Lenarts / benlenarts

01/02/2011 at 11:57PM

23
#45 - Corey Purcell / coreypurcell

01/03/2011 at 05:00PM

23
#46 -  Ikhsan Maulana / ixandidu

01/06/2011 at 01:38PM

23
#47 - Tim Chase / gumnos

01/13/2011 at 01:20PM

23
#48 - Przemysław Pawełczyk / przemoc86

01/15/2011 at 11:32PM

23
#49 - Oleg Roshupkin / jjjahson

01/20/2011 at 09:45AM

23
#50 - SirVer / SirVerII

01/23/2011 at 02:14PM

23
#51 - Trevor Powell / DoomedBunnies

12/02/2011 at 01:21AM

23
#52 - Tyler Breisacher / tbreisacher

08/25/2012 at 09:03AM

24
#53 - Douglas Stockwell / dstockwell

01/01/2011 at 04:56AM

24
#54 - Alain Gilbert / alain_gilbert

01/01/2011 at 05:10AM

24
#55 - Aurélien Delahaye / alkove

01/01/2011 at 05:27PM

24
#56 - pcapriotti / pcapriotti

01/01/2011 at 06:41PM

24
#57 - Clive Evans / swish_bob

01/01/2011 at 11:54PM

24
#58 - Karel Vervaeke / karel1980

01/06/2011 at 11:32AM

24
#59 - Dave / zzdave13

07/25/2011 at 08:24PM

24
#60 - David / dpa_92

08/02/2011 at 06:55AM

24
#61 - vansan / VinceVansan

08/28/2012 at 08:44PM

25
#62 - johnny / johnnychm

01/01/2011 at 07:58PM

25
#63 - Peter Anselmo / peter_anselmo

01/01/2011 at 08:49PM

25
#64 - Saikat Guha / guhasaikat

01/03/2011 at 11:07AM

25
#65 - drio / drio

01/15/2011 at 02:24PM

25
#66 - Mathias Bynens  / mathias

04/08/2011 at 08:53AM

25
#67 - not so punk :] / notsopunk

06/19/2011 at 11:08AM

25
#68 - nicolas bo / thevegeta

11/09/2011 at 04:21PM

25
#69 - Justin Knag / justinknag

08/31/2014 at 06:30AM

26
#70 - Dmitry Teslenko / krab_mozga

01/19/2011 at 02:08PM

26
#71 - Matthieu Crapet / mcr05

12/31/2014 at 01:05PM

30
#72 - Ian McCowan / valrus

05/30/2011 at 02:13AM

32
#73 - James Cash / jamesnvc

01/04/2011 at 03:55PM

32
#74 - foo / foo88832727

10/19/2013 at 05:03PM

32
#75 - Phil Dubach / fuiru

08/13/2014 at 05:16AM

34
#76 - Chaitanya Desu / ChaituNu

05/11/2014 at 04:17AM

34
#77 - Gerhard Gappmeier / gergap

09/15/2015 at 04:00PM

58
#78 - Francisco Dibar / frandibar

01/08/2011 at 03:50AM

75
#79 - Lee Marlow / lmarlow

01/01/2011 at 05:14AM