Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d2061daf1a3f252f4000087

Solve the Sokoban

A wink for all Vimgolfers that play Nethack too.

Start file
-------- ------
|<|@...---....|
|^|-.00....0..|
|^||..00|.0.0.|
|^||....|.....|
|^|------0----|
|^|    |......|
|^------......|
|..^^^^0000...|
|??-----......|
----   --------
End file
-------- ------
|@|>...---....|
|.|-..........|
|.||..00|.....|
|.||....|.....|
|.|------.----|
|.|    |......|
|.------......|
|.............|
|..-----......|
----   --------

View Diff

2,10c2,10
< |<|@...---....|
< |^|-.00....0..|
< |^||..00|.0.0.|
< |^||....|.....|
< |^|------0----|
< |^|    |......|
< |^------......|
< |..^^^^0000...|
< |??-----......|
---
> |@|>...---....|
> |.|-..........|
> |.||..00|.....|
> |.||....|.....|
> |.|------.----|
> |.|    |......|
> |.------......|
> |.............|
> |..-----......|

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 68 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#69 Solomon White / @rubysolo - Score: 53 - 01/03/11 @ 00:26
:%s/0/./g<CR>:%s!\^!.!g<CR>jls.<Esc>l.2Gls@<Esc>lls><Esc>jjlll2s00<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @0x00C0FFEE

69 active golfers, 158 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
30
#31 - Renat Aksitov / @Korvin79

02/22/2012 at 03:20AM

30
#32 - Kai Yuan / @kentyuan

05/22/2013 at 10:19PM

30
#33 - Joonas Pihlajamaa / @jokkebk

03/15/2014 at 11:28AM

30
#34 - kiou / @smallletterquu

12/05/2015 at 02:38AM

31
#35 - Marian Schubert / @MarianSchubert

01/02/2011 at 02:36PM

31
#36 - Kyle Willmon / @kylewillmon

01/03/2011 at 05:53AM

31
#37 - Chris / @diracdelta

01/03/2011 at 06:03PM

31
#38 - David Pflug / @dpflug

01/09/2011 at 11:57PM

31
#39 - Thomas Schönwälder / @Masei1988

01/12/2011 at 07:16PM

31
#40 - Clive Evans / @swish_bob

01/17/2011 at 11:10PM

31
#41 - h_east (トロッコ6個) / @h_east

02/02/2011 at 03:35PM

31
#42 - Tact Overflow / @muppling

03/13/2011 at 01:21AM

31
#43 - Jesús Espino / @jespinog

09/07/2011 at 12:26AM

31
#44 - Tara Bass / @tara_bass

12/23/2011 at 04:31PM

31
#45 - Xavier Nayrac / @lkdjiin

01/02/2012 at 10:16AM

31
#46 - 無ん垢の叫び / @john_ababa

02/24/2012 at 08:24AM

31
#47 - James / @Dronak

09/05/2013 at 08:59PM

32
#48 - Matthew Draper / @_matthewd

01/02/2011 at 12:47PM

32
#49 -  Ikhsan Maulana / @ixandidu

01/02/2011 at 12:54PM

32
#50 - Tim Chase / @gumnos

01/02/2011 at 01:03PM

32
#51 - Aurélien Delahaye / @alkove

01/02/2011 at 01:37PM

32
#52 - Mickael / @mickaelb

01/02/2011 at 01:54PM

32
#53 - Alain Gilbert / @alain_gilbert

01/02/2011 at 05:12PM

32
#54 - Peter Anselmo / @peter_anselmo

01/02/2011 at 06:35PM

32
#55 - Jordan Lewis / @JordanALewis

01/02/2011 at 08:42PM

32
#56 - Nándor Komzák / @rubymood

01/03/2011 at 12:09AM

32
#57 - Paul Tarjan / @ptarjan

01/08/2011 at 08:10PM

32
#58 - Paul King / @nrocy

01/10/2011 at 09:38AM

32
#59 - drio / @drio

01/16/2011 at 04:22PM

32
#60 - Nomen Nescio / @vadtusan

04/14/2011 at 10:15PM