Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d2478e20947c63e2600009c

Insert a Markdown link

Put a link in a markdown document, using the after-the-paragraph format.

Start file
Markdown is a text-to-HTML conversion tool for web writers. Markdown allows you
to write using an easy-to-read, easy-to-write plain text format, then convert
it to structurally valid XHTML (or HTML).
End file
Markdown is a text-to-HTML conversion tool for web writers. [Markdown][] allows you
to write using an easy-to-read, easy-to-write plain text format, then convert
it to structurally valid XHTML (or HTML).

    [Markdown]:

View Diff

1c1
< Markdown is a text-to-HTML conversion tool for web writers. Markdown allows you
---
> Markdown is a text-to-HTML conversion tool for web writers. [Markdown][] allows you
3a4,5
> 
>     [Markdown]:

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 131 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#132 Kelan Champagne / @kelan - Score: 85 - 01/30/11 @ 08:30
*i"<Esc>wwhi"<Esc><Left>ywGuuuuuuuuuuulhi[<Esc>f<Esc><Esc>t<Esc><Esc>ea][]<F1><Esc>:q<CR><Left><Left><Left><Left>ywGoo<BS><CR>    [p<Esc>xp<Esc>u<Right>aMarkdown]:<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @jamesnvc

132 active golfers, 392 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
33
#121 - Alexander Flatter / @aflatter

11/28/2011 at 09:45PM

34
#122 - fuck you / @jerkassholeface

01/13/2011 at 01:33AM

34
#123 - Matt Donahoe / @mdonahoe

11/26/2011 at 11:54PM

34
#124 - Simon Andermatt / @SimonAndermatt

08/27/2019 at 05:44AM

35
#125 - Guillaume Bonnoron / @gbonnoron

01/05/2011 at 09:11PM

35
#126 - Ben Bleything / @bleything

01/05/2011 at 09:30PM

35
#127 - Pablo Villalba / @micho

01/09/2011 at 02:52PM

38
#128 - Mathias Fussenegger / @mfussenegger

06/06/2011 at 09:22PM

38
#129 - David Wilemski / @davidwilemski

06/09/2011 at 06:44PM

38
#130 - Sam Beaven / @SamBeaven

09/13/2014 at 12:47PM

40
#131 - Florian Vallen / @florianvallen

01/09/2011 at 02:59PM

85
#132 - Kelan Champagne / @kelan

01/30/2011 at 08:30AM