Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d26f42298e8d72471000025

Generate English Alphabets

Start with a, get up to z.

Start file
a
End file
a
b
c
d
e
f
g
h
i
j
k
l
m
n
o
p
q
r
s
t
u
v
w
x
y
z

View Diff

0a1,26
> a
> b
> c
> d
> e
> f
> g
> h
> i
> j
> k
> l
> m
> n
> o
> p
> q
> r
> s
> t
> u
> v
> w
> x
> y
> z
1a2,26
> b
> c
> d
> e
> f
> g
> h
> i
> j
> k
> l
> m
> n
> o
> p
> q
> r
> s
> t
> u
> v
> w
> x
> y
> z

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 186 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#187 Douglas Gibb / @douglasgibb - Score: 83 - 04/05/11 @ 19:16
ob<Esc>oc<Esc>od<Esc>oe<Esc>of<Esc>og<Esc>oh<Esc>oi<Esc>oh<BS>j<Esc>ok<Esc>ol<Esc>om<Esc>on<Esc>oo<Esc>op<Esc>oq<Esc>or<Esc>os<Esc>ot<Esc>ou<Esc>ov<Esc>ow<Esc>ox<Esc>oy<Esc>oz<Esc>:w<CR>:q<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @Ujjwol

187 active golfers, 422 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
25
#61 - Brian Buckley / @bbuckley

01/07/2011 at 12:17PM

25
#62 - Jim Garvin / @coderifous

01/07/2011 at 01:17PM

25
#63 - James Cash / @jamesnvc

01/07/2011 at 02:03PM

25
#64 - Mattiassich Ákos / @mattiassicha

01/07/2011 at 02:09PM

25
#65 - h_east (トロッコ6個) / @h_east

01/07/2011 at 02:27PM

25
#66 - Johannes Martinsson / @moxiba

01/07/2011 at 06:52PM

25
#67 -  Ikhsan Maulana / @ixandidu

01/07/2011 at 06:59PM

25
#68 - Steve Morrow / @yawmark

01/07/2011 at 07:06PM

25
#69 - Pete Johns / @johnsyweb

01/07/2011 at 10:22PM

25
#70 - Przemysław Pawełczyk / @przemoc86

01/07/2011 at 11:22PM

25
#71 - rabidpraxis / @rabidpraxis

01/07/2011 at 11:50PM

25
#72 - William Shackleton / @wshackleton

01/08/2011 at 01:08AM

25
#73 - Paul King / @nrocy

01/08/2011 at 10:15AM

25
#74 - Stephan Weller / @stephan_weller

01/08/2011 at 02:00PM

25
#75 - Victor Vaile / @victorv4_

01/08/2011 at 10:02PM

25
#76 - aaaa3331 / @aaaa3331

01/08/2011 at 10:21PM

25
#77 - alex scott / @4l3xsc0tt

01/10/2011 at 01:44PM

25
#78 - Agus Lopez / @aguslr

01/10/2011 at 08:27PM

25
#79 - Wonha Ryu / @beingryu

01/11/2011 at 06:01AM

25
#80 - Aaron Bull Schaefer / @elasticdog

01/11/2011 at 06:09PM

25
#81 - Benoît Ryder / @benoitryder

01/11/2011 at 08:46PM

25
#82 - Clive Evans / @swish_bob

01/13/2011 at 09:51PM

25
#83 - Eivind Jahren / @HaskellElephant

01/15/2011 at 05:46PM

25
#84 - Tact Overflow / @muppling

01/17/2011 at 12:25PM

25
#85 - Soliman Sylvain / @sylvain_soliman

01/17/2011 at 05:07PM

25
#86 - lemming / @darthlemming

01/18/2011 at 07:31PM

25
#87 - SirVer / @SirVerII

01/23/2011 at 02:21PM

25
#88 - Matthieu Honel / @ocus

01/29/2011 at 03:30PM

25
#89 - Antony Scriven / @antonyscriven

02/07/2011 at 12:55AM

25
#90 - Arthur Chiu / @arthur_chiu

02/12/2011 at 04:53AM