Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d34af20e747f561b3000081

Rotating Philosophers Problem

Can you help the philosophers find a good place to sit before they get five forks and spaghetti?

Start file
Socrates Voltaire Descartes Plato
End file
Socrates Voltaire Descartes Plato Konfuzius
Konfuzius Socrates Voltaire Descartes Plato
Plato Konfuzius Socrates Voltaire Descartes
Descartes Plato Konfuzius Socrates Voltaire
Voltaire Descartes Plato Konfuzius Socrates

View Diff

1c1,5
< Socrates Voltaire Descartes Plato
---
> Socrates Voltaire Descartes Plato Konfuzius
> Konfuzius Socrates Voltaire Descartes Plato
> Plato Konfuzius Socrates Voltaire Descartes
> Descartes Plato Konfuzius Socrates Voltaire
> Voltaire Descartes Plato Konfuzius Socrates

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 152 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#153 shulc / @shulc - Score: 170 - 01/20/11 @ 11:33
A Konfuzius<Esc>yy<Esc>pwwwwdw<Esc>I<Esc>p<Esc>u<Esc>P <Esc>hli <Esc>A<Esc>xlhhhhhlyy<Esc>pwwwwdw<Esc>I<Esc>P <Esc>hli <Esc>Ax<Esc>xx<Esc>yy<Esc>pwwwwdw<Esc>IP<Esc>u<Esc>Pi <Esc>uli <Esc>lllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllx<Esc>yy<Esc>pwwwwdw<Esc>I<Esc>P <Esc>i <Esc>A<Esc>xx<Esc>u<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @HaskellElephant

153 active golfers, 360 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
31
#91 - Stefan Knudsen / @knud32

05/05/2015 at 06:37AM

32
#92 - Soliman Sylvain / @sylvain_soliman

01/17/2011 at 10:23PM

32
#93 - Kevin Hamer / @khamer

01/17/2011 at 11:02PM

32
#94 - Francisco Dibar / @frandibar

01/18/2011 at 12:47AM

32
#95 - Thomas Schönwälder / @Masei1988

01/18/2011 at 12:27PM

32
#96 - Magnus Hörberg / @magnush_

01/18/2011 at 04:54PM

32
#97 - Guillaume Seren / @guillaumeseren

01/18/2011 at 08:48PM

32
#98 - Brian Buckley / @bbuckley

01/18/2011 at 10:31PM

32
#99 - Anatoliy C. / @1602

01/19/2011 at 09:56AM

32
#100 - Dmitry Teslenko / @krab_mozga

01/19/2011 at 01:32PM

32
#101 - Matthieu Honel / @ocus

01/27/2011 at 10:34PM

32
#102 - Jouko Karvonen / @joukokar

02/03/2011 at 04:24AM

32
#103 - Avinash Baliga / @avinashbaliga

03/26/2011 at 04:21AM

32
#104 - William Dunand / @wdunand

11/08/2011 at 06:57AM

32
#105 - Ibrahim Tencer / @ibrahimtencer

02/12/2012 at 09:29PM

32
#106 - 無ん垢の叫び / @john_ababa

02/26/2012 at 12:22PM

32
#107 - cj / @cj01101

10/18/2013 at 10:19PM

32
#108 - Alessandro Lisander / @wuiimu

01/05/2014 at 01:17AM

32
#109 - Joonas Pihlajamaa / @jokkebk

02/21/2014 at 11:44AM

32
#110 - Felipe Jaramillo F / @mrfelipe

05/03/2014 at 04:58PM

32
#111 - Wade / @vvandy

12/17/2014 at 06:52PM

32
#112 - Paul Draghicescu / @pdragy

03/29/2018 at 12:05AM

33
#113 - Asmund / @herrasbe

01/17/2011 at 09:29PM

33
#114 - Toto l'haricot / @nico_le_terribl

01/17/2011 at 09:54PM

33
#115 - Bradly Feeley / @bradly

01/21/2011 at 12:34AM

33
#116 - aimee / @sermoa

01/21/2011 at 03:12PM

33
#117 - timhoa / @timhoa

01/30/2011 at 09:57AM

33
#118 - Pavlo Klets / @p01nt

02/04/2011 at 02:15PM

33
#119 - Beau Dacious / @nocash

03/16/2011 at 04:03PM

33
#120 - Vitaly Kushner / @vkushner

03/16/2011 at 04:17PM