Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4ea9bc988b36f70001000008

Sort entries based on date

Sort some entries in a Ledger-file based on date.

Start file
10.09.2011 Description
  Some
  Stuff

15.09.2011 * Anything really
  Random
  Stuff

12.10.2011 Nice
  Not
  Kidding

12.09.2011 Whatever
  Anything
  Can
  Be
  Here

14.09.2011 Cool
  But
  It's always
  Indented

13.09.2011 Testing
  Always
  2 spaces

End file
10.09.2011 Description
  Some
  Stuff

12.09.2011 Whatever
  Anything
  Can
  Be
  Here

13.09.2011 Testing
  Always
  2 spaces

14.09.2011 Cool
  But
  It's always
  Indented

15.09.2011 * Anything really
  Random
  Stuff

12.10.2011 Nice
  Not
  Kidding

View Diff

5,12d4
< 15.09.2011 * Anything really
<   Random
<   Stuff
< 
< 12.10.2011 Nice
<   Not
<   Kidding
< 
18a11,14
> 13.09.2011 Testing
>   Always
>   2 spaces
> 
24,26c20,26
< 13.09.2011 Testing
<   Always
<   2 spaces
---
> 15.09.2011 * Anything really
>   Random
>   Stuff
> 
> 12.10.2011 Nice
>   Not
>   Kidding

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 77 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#78 Daniel / Daniel00288663 - Score: 17 - 04/06/17 @ 14:12
5}jdG{p{{jdG{{pZZ

0 comments

#79 Dave@Highgroove / HighgrooveDave - Score: 18 - 05/23/12 @ 02:46
:24,$m18|13,$m4|x<CR>

0 comments

#80 Felipe Jaramillo F / mrfelipe - Score: 18 - 06/02/14 @ 23:24
:24,$m18|13,$m4|x<CR>

0 comments

#81 Sergi Sorribas / lerovitch - Score: 19 - 12/22/11 @ 12:43
:24,$m18<CR>:13,$m4<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#82 Andy Pincombe / ampersandy - Score: 20 - 10/29/11 @ 19:23
:23,26m17|12,26m3|x<CR>

0 comments

#83 Øystein Walle / oysteinwalle - Score: 20 - 11/09/11 @ 19:32
:19,23m$<CR>:5,8m$<CR>@:ZZ

0 comments

#84 RusAlex Pletnev / RusAlexander - Score: 20 - 11/14/11 @ 17:29
:23,26m17|12,26m3|x<CR>

0 comments

#85 DamienVGN / DamienVGN - Score: 20 - 11/15/11 @ 21:52
:19,23m$<CR>:5,8m$<CR>@:ZZ

0 comments

#86 Diego Calderon / SoIcanSwim - Score: 20 - 11/21/11 @ 23:51
:19,23m$<CR>:5,8m$<CR>@:ZZ

0 comments

#87 Jakub Arnold / darthdeus - Score: 20 - 12/13/11 @ 09:28
:19,23m$<CR>:5,8m$<CR>@:ZZ

0 comments

#88 Thijs Brobbel / tiesmaster - Score: 23 - 12/03/11 @ 13:22
3}dap2{PGV{jd{pVGd{{pZZ

0 comments

#89 Gowtham Madhava / gowthamgowtham - Score: 26 - 11/17/11 @ 13:57
5GdapGp5GdapGp16Gdap10GpZZ

0 comments

#90 James / Dronak - Score: 26 - 09/21/14 @ 03:01
9GdapGp4kdap2{p3{jdap3}pZZ

0 comments

#91 Frank Perez / frankperez87 - Score: 27 - 12/22/11 @ 01:36
:9,12m27|5,8m23|11,15m19|x<CR>

0 comments

#92 無ん垢の叫び / john_ababa - Score: 28 - 02/29/12 @ 07:47
}"ad}"bd}}"cd}}"cP}"aP}"bPZZ

0 comments

#93 Andrew Radev / andrewradev - Score: 30 - 10/28/11 @ 07:32
5G"adap"ndap11GdapGpG"apG"npZZ

0 comments

#94 Oliver Christ / 0liverChrist - Score: 42 - 10/14/13 @ 14:32
:%s/\(\S\)\n/\1!<CR>:sor n<CR>jddGp:%s/!/\r/g<CR>ZZ

0 comments

#95 Kyle Decot / kyledecot - Score: 46 - 01/13/12 @ 21:37
<Up><Down><Up>:<Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Esc><Up><Down><Up>:23,26m17|12,26m3<CR><CR>:w<CR>:q<BS><BS>Z<Esc>:q<CR>

0 comments

#96 Dühöngő / aswna - Score: 71 - 11/24/11 @ 17:51
:%s/^$/  /|%s/\n  /!/|sor /\d\d\./ n|1,5:sor n|%s/!/\r  /g|%s/^  $//|x<CR>

0 comments

#97 Alex Hammel / AlexJHammel - Score: 80 - 12/24/12 @ 19:58
:%s/\v(\d+)\.(\d+)\.(\d+)/\3.2<BS>\2.\1<CR>:%s/\(..*\)\n/\1;/<CR>:sor<CR>:%s/;/\r/g<CR>:<Up><Up><Up><Up><CR>ZZ

0 comments

Created by: judofyr

97 active golfers, 279 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
11
#1 - h_east (トロッコ6個) / h_east

10/27/2011 at 10:20PM

11
#2 - Tim Chase / gumnos

10/28/2011 at 12:11AM

11
#3 - Pavlo Klets / p01nt

10/28/2011 at 09:09AM

11
#4 - Raphaël De Giusti / raphdg

10/28/2011 at 10:48AM

11
#5 - vimja / vimja666

10/29/2011 at 05:16AM

11
#6 - omelo / omelo

11/10/2011 at 04:51PM

11
#7 - Travis Jeffery / travisjeffery

11/11/2011 at 05:28PM

11
#8 - William Dunand / wdunand

11/14/2011 at 02:35AM

11
#9 - Nick Klauer / klauern

11/20/2011 at 04:21AM

11
#10 - Dragan Cvetinovic / kawkafi

11/20/2011 at 01:51PM

11
#11 - Paul Kalupnieks / kalupa

11/24/2011 at 05:56PM

11
#12 - You-Siang Lin / yslinnctu

11/28/2011 at 03:16AM

11
#13 - Utkarsh Kukreti / utkarshkukreti

12/03/2011 at 03:55PM

11
#14 - Balkoth / _Balkoth_

12/03/2011 at 09:16PM

11
#15 - 0x5042 / 0x5042

12/08/2011 at 09:38PM

11
#16 - A / tndrnt

12/11/2011 at 12:40PM

11
#17 - Alain Gilbert / alain_gilbert

12/15/2011 at 10:30PM

11
#18 - Mihai Crăiță / mihai_craita

12/17/2011 at 02:51PM

11
#19 - Abdel Said / abdelsaid

02/10/2012 at 11:43PM

11
#20 - Dave Harrington / ozzy_dave

02/11/2012 at 08:14PM

11
#21 - Alexander Scherbinin / realmyst

02/14/2012 at 12:18AM

11
#22 - Dan Huang / yuzeh

02/16/2012 at 07:42PM

11
#23 - Federico Galassi / federicogalassi

02/22/2012 at 03:05AM

11
#24 - Renat Aksitov / Korvin79

02/23/2012 at 07:20PM

11
#25 - Peter Anselmo / peter_anselmo

03/08/2012 at 12:49AM

11
#26 - Bartłomiej Kozal / bkzl_

03/26/2012 at 09:04PM

11
#27 - learninghang / learninghang

04/14/2012 at 07:14AM

11
#28 - Sebastian Kusnier / skusnier

04/30/2012 at 12:08PM

11
#29 - ise0615 / ise0615

05/05/2012 at 09:07AM

11
#30 - Son of Bongo / bpcode

05/13/2012 at 11:32AM

11
#31 - Urtica dioica / udioica

05/20/2012 at 04:29AM

11
#32 - Benoit Mortgat / Benoit_Mortgat

06/06/2012 at 12:29PM

11
#33 - Conner McDaniel / connermcd

09/18/2012 at 05:43AM

11
#34 - A / a_akessler

11/03/2012 at 12:03AM

11
#35 - Trevor Powell / DoomedBunnies

04/16/2013 at 06:25AM

11
#36 - Marco Hinz / _mhinz_

05/24/2013 at 02:23PM

11
#37 - Petro Тrouq / zulolosi

07/06/2013 at 01:18AM

11
#38 - John Braxler / braxler

05/14/2014 at 07:42PM

11
#39 - Jon Krause / jkrause314

01/15/2016 at 04:47AM

12
#40 - Neal Lindsay / neall

11/10/2011 at 11:21PM

12
#41 - Matt Woelk / MattWoelk

11/13/2011 at 04:43AM

12
#42 - Mislav Marohnić / mislav

12/06/2011 at 04:18PM

12
#43 - no / jt_vg

12/14/2011 at 03:36PM

12
#44 - Pei-Lun Lee / ypcatw

12/19/2011 at 07:29AM

12
#45 - Justin Love / wondible

12/24/2011 at 04:15PM

12
#46 - Vasil Sakarov / vsakarov

12/28/2011 at 09:14AM

12
#47 -  Ikhsan Maulana / ixandidu

01/07/2012 at 05:36AM

12
#48 - Arton0306 / Arton0306

01/15/2012 at 09:56AM

12
#49 - kcliu / kcliutw

01/30/2012 at 07:44AM

12
#50 - oliver mueller / marcontwit

02/25/2012 at 03:59PM

12
#51 - not so punk :] / notsopunk

03/31/2012 at 07:01AM

12
#52 - Chris Penkett / chrispenkett

04/03/2012 at 05:57PM

12
#53 - Yusuke Tsutsumi / tsutsumiyusuke

05/03/2012 at 09:28PM

12
#54 - Marcin Sza / coot_

09/25/2012 at 09:55PM

12
#55 - cj / cj01101

08/26/2013 at 10:46PM

12
#56 - Joonas Pihlajamaa / jokkebk

02/23/2014 at 04:51PM

13
#57 - Jason Bruce / jbrucenet

11/24/2011 at 04:31AM

13
#58 - Gabriel Barta / gbarta

12/02/2011 at 12:22PM

13
#59 - Al / 96258

12/12/2011 at 11:31PM

13
#60 - pmuston / pmuston

03/28/2012 at 05:57AM

13
#61 - Kerson Hsiao / KersonHsiao

05/06/2012 at 07:34AM

14
#62 - Daniel Hjerth / danielhjerth

11/09/2011 at 05:38PM

14
#63 - D A / 7187dd578b325d2

11/24/2011 at 12:13PM

14
#64 - John Anderson / opejn

12/26/2011 at 06:25AM

14
#65 - Dave / zzdave13

02/01/2012 at 11:20PM

14
#66 - Jiří Chára / JiriChara

02/03/2012 at 12:09PM

15
#67 - Rik Lomas / riklomas

12/18/2011 at 10:56PM

15
#68 - Burkhard Zimmermann / BurkZimm

12/30/2011 at 08:55PM

15
#69 - TMcE / t_mce

02/12/2012 at 12:46PM

15
#70 - Anouar ADLANI / aadlani

07/12/2012 at 11:14PM

15
#71 - Reed Riley / ReedRile

08/12/2012 at 10:28PM

15
#72 - brett / brettyukich

09/23/2013 at 05:09AM

16
#73 - Jer Wilson / superjercom

10/28/2011 at 07:52AM

16
#74 - Mattiassich Ákos / mattiassicha

11/23/2011 at 06:48PM

17
#75 - twobit / _2bt

01/04/2012 at 01:07AM

17
#76 - veki / vx_ras

02/02/2012 at 08:10PM

17
#77 - Ram Tamtam / ramtamtamtam

07/02/2014 at 01:18PM

17
#78 - Daniel / Daniel00288663

04/06/2017 at 02:12PM

18
#79 - Dave@Highgroove / HighgrooveDave

05/23/2012 at 02:46AM

18
#80 - Felipe Jaramillo F / mrfelipe

06/02/2014 at 11:24PM

19
#81 - Sergi Sorribas / lerovitch

12/22/2011 at 12:43PM

20
#82 - Andy Pincombe / ampersandy

10/29/2011 at 07:23PM

20
#83 - Øystein Walle / oysteinwalle

11/09/2011 at 07:32PM

20
#84 - RusAlex Pletnev / RusAlexander

11/14/2011 at 05:29PM

20
#85 - DamienVGN / DamienVGN

11/15/2011 at 09:52PM

20
#86 - Diego Calderon / SoIcanSwim

11/21/2011 at 11:51PM

20
#87 - Jakub Arnold / darthdeus

12/13/2011 at 09:28AM

23
#88 - Thijs Brobbel / tiesmaster

12/03/2011 at 01:22PM

26
#89 - Gowtham Madhava / gowthamgowtham

11/17/2011 at 01:57PM

26
#90 - James / Dronak

09/21/2014 at 03:01AM

27
#91 - Frank Perez / frankperez87

12/22/2011 at 01:36AM

28
#92 - 無ん垢の叫び / john_ababa

02/29/2012 at 07:47AM

30
#93 - Andrew Radev / andrewradev

10/28/2011 at 07:32AM

42
#94 - Oliver Christ / 0liverChrist

10/14/2013 at 02:32PM

46
#95 - Kyle Decot / kyledecot

01/13/2012 at 09:37PM

71
#96 - Dühöngő / aswna

11/24/2011 at 05:51PM

80
#97 - Alex Hammel / AlexJHammel

12/24/2012 at 07:58PM