Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4f0720c8f037090001000007

switch variable

how fast can you switch two variable ?

Start file
int barins, foovariable = 1; 
End file
int foovariable, barins = 1; 

View Diff

1c1
< int barins, foovariable = 1; 
---
> int foovariable, barins = 1; 

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1518 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1519 Pete Pete / @iPetePete - Score: 633 - 02/14/14 @ 18:32
:s/int (.<BS>a<BS>[a-z]+),<Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS>(int )([^,]+)<Right> (/w<BS><BS>w<BS>\w)(.*)/$1$3, $<BS>$2$5<BS>4/<CR>i:<BS><Esc>:s/int (\w)/hi/g<CR>:s.<BS>/iu<BS>nt (\w+), (w<BS>\w+)/int $2, $1/<CR>:s/int ([a-z]+), ([a_<BS>-z])<BS>+)/int $2, #<BS>$1/<CR>:s/int/<BS> ([a-z]+)<CR><Up>:<Up>/ int<BS><BS><BS><BS>int fuck/<CR>:s/int <BS>\ barin<BS><BS><BS><BS><BS>barin<BS><BS><BS><BS><BS>([a-z]+)/<BS>, <BS>\ ([a-z]+)/int $2<BS><BS><BS>\ 2<BS>$2, $2<BS><BS><BS><BS>m<BS>,\ $1/g<CR>/s<BS><BS>:#<BS>%s/barins/foovariable/g<CR>:q<BS>%/s<BS><BS>s/([a-z]+)<BS><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><BS><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right>/dude/g<CR>::<BS>u<CR>:s/int \(a<BS>[a-z]+)<BS>\), \([a-z]+\(<BS>)/int $2, $1/<CR>:<Up><C-A>%<BS><BS><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left>^<Left><Right><BS><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left>%<CR>:<Up><Down>%s/int (<BS>\9a<BS><BS>([a-z]_<BS><BS>]\<BS>\+\)/int $1-fart/<CR>u<Up>:<Up><Left><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS>, \(<BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS>barins)<BS>\), (<BS>\(fa<BS>oovariable\)/int \2, $<BS>\1<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @lukastsai

1519 active golfers, 4345 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
14
#1111 - Alex Koloskov / @xenocid

02/06/2012 at 07:42PM

14
#1112 - Josh Haberman / @JoshHaberman

02/07/2012 at 11:51PM

14
#1113 - Jyun-Fan Tsai / @fakecolor

02/11/2012 at 03:39AM

14
#1114 - Ari Greenberg / @arigreenberg

02/13/2012 at 12:03AM

14
#1115 - Jonas Engman / @jodas

02/13/2012 at 07:17AM

14
#1116 - Vijay Dev / @vijay_dev

02/13/2012 at 09:22AM

14
#1117 - Alan Oliver / @alol

02/15/2012 at 08:08AM

14
#1118 - sankarj / @sankarj

02/18/2012 at 02:56PM

14
#1119 - Scott Schlesier / @sschlesier

02/22/2012 at 08:10AM

14
#1120 - 無ん垢の叫び / @john_ababa

03/02/2012 at 12:23PM

14
#1121 - Hawk Newton / @hawknewton

03/06/2012 at 08:11PM

14
#1122 - Mislav Marohnić / @mislav

03/19/2012 at 12:10PM

14
#1123 - Chris Penkett / @chrispenkett

04/02/2012 at 10:16PM

14
#1124 - derhumanist.de / @derhumanist_de

04/05/2012 at 11:59PM

14
#1125 - Toto l'haricot / @nico_le_terribl

04/15/2012 at 01:06AM

14
#1126 - Pepe / @GomTvIneluki

04/16/2012 at 07:08PM

14
#1127 - Jez Cope / @jezcope

04/28/2012 at 05:58PM

14
#1128 - ise0615 / @ise0615

05/02/2012 at 06:40PM

14
#1129 - Robert Stump / @stumprm

05/08/2012 at 11:32AM

14
#1130 - John Whitley / @johnwhitley

05/28/2012 at 06:23PM

14
#1131 - Verity / @dv4me

07/15/2012 at 01:14AM

14
#1132 - Cameron S / @TheLastPr0

07/17/2012 at 05:30PM

14
#1133 - Tom Sisk / @TomSisk

07/19/2012 at 09:31PM

14
#1134 - Reed Riley / @ReedRile

08/12/2012 at 10:01PM

14
#1135 - Jason Wolf / @zephyr_wolf

11/08/2012 at 01:42PM

14
#1136 - Eric Andres / @eric_m_andres

12/13/2012 at 11:40PM

14
#1137 - fSchl / @FelixSchlitter

07/16/2013 at 10:03AM

14
#1138 - SayreBlades / @SayreBlades

07/16/2013 at 02:20PM

14
#1139 - J Botsby / @j_botsby

07/17/2013 at 07:52AM

14
#1140 - Steffen Dienst / @sdienst

07/23/2013 at 11:34AM