Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4f0720c8f037090001000007

switch variable

how fast can you switch two variable ?

Start file
int barins, foovariable = 1; 
End file
int foovariable, barins = 1; 

View Diff

1c1
< int barins, foovariable = 1; 
---
> int foovariable, barins = 1; 

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1498 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1499 Pete Pete / @iPetePete - Score: 633 - 02/14/14 @ 18:32
:s/int (.<BS>a<BS>[a-z]+),<Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS>(int )([^,]+)<Right> (/w<BS><BS>w<BS>\w)(.*)/$1$3, $<BS>$2$5<BS>4/<CR>i:<BS><Esc>:s/int (\w)/hi/g<CR>:s.<BS>/iu<BS>nt (\w+), (w<BS>\w+)/int $2, $1/<CR>:s/int ([a-z]+), ([a_<BS>-z])<BS>+)/int $2, #<BS>$1/<CR>:s/int/<BS> ([a-z]+)<CR><Up>:<Up>/ int<BS><BS><BS><BS>int fuck/<CR>:s/int <BS>\ barin<BS><BS><BS><BS><BS>barin<BS><BS><BS><BS><BS>([a-z]+)/<BS>, <BS>\ ([a-z]+)/int $2<BS><BS><BS>\ 2<BS>$2, $2<BS><BS><BS><BS>m<BS>,\ $1/g<CR>/s<BS><BS>:#<BS>%s/barins/foovariable/g<CR>:q<BS>%/s<BS><BS>s/([a-z]+)<BS><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><BS><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right>/dude/g<CR>::<BS>u<CR>:s/int \(a<BS>[a-z]+)<BS>\), \([a-z]+\(<BS>)/int $2, $1/<CR>:<Up><C-A>%<BS><BS><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left>^<Left><Right><BS><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left>%<CR>:<Up><Down>%s/int (<BS>\9a<BS><BS>([a-z]_<BS><BS>]\<BS>\+\)/int $1-fart/<CR>u<Up>:<Up><Left><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS>, \(<BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS>barins)<BS>\), (<BS>\(fa<BS>oovariable\)/int \2, $<BS>\1<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @lukastsai

1499 active golfers, 4301 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
15
#1291 - Sagar Rakshe / @sagarrakshe2

12/20/2013 at 02:47AM

15
#1292 - Hanshuo Tan / @tanhanshuo

01/11/2014 at 05:58AM

15
#1293 - Chirag Tailor / @ctailor2

01/27/2014 at 05:33PM

15
#1294 - harper / @harper

01/28/2014 at 06:38PM

15
#1295 - Patrick Nguyen / @ItsPatricko

01/29/2014 at 12:04AM

15
#1296 - Will Laurance 🚲 / @wlaurance

01/29/2014 at 08:26PM

15
#1297 - Andrew Clissold / @aclissold

01/29/2014 at 11:02PM

15
#1298 - Larijohn Adorable / @jbpnoy6fifty

01/31/2014 at 11:03AM

15
#1299 - Fabian Fritz / @zehdeh90

02/03/2014 at 08:11PM

15
#1300 - Levi / @thatguylevi

02/04/2014 at 09:51PM

15
#1301 - Felix Boers / @felixboers

02/13/2014 at 09:11PM

15
#1302 - Joseph Tyler Jones / @josephtyler

02/26/2014 at 12:07AM

15
#1303 - Timothy Lin / @lzh9102

03/07/2014 at 10:59PM

15
#1304 - Krillian / @Krillian3

03/28/2014 at 03:18PM

15
#1305 - Adrian Bradd / @keepab

09/01/2014 at 02:10PM

15
#1306 - Jan Novak / @odpadnimail

11/19/2014 at 05:08AM

15
#1307 - Markus Schmidinger / @SchmidingerM

11/30/2014 at 02:48PM

15
#1308 - Filipe Almeida / @filipe_almeida

12/31/2014 at 10:15AM

15
#1309 - Abdo Achkar / @Achkar

01/11/2015 at 12:11AM

15
#1310 - ಸುಬ್ರಹ್ಮಣ್ಯ ಜೋಶಿ / @subbucoding

03/29/2015 at 01:45PM

15
#1311 - Edgard Leal / @EdgardLeal

06/03/2015 at 07:09PM

15
#1312 - Kevin Knox / @kevinrknox

06/11/2015 at 07:31PM

15
#1313 - ggdGiBork:3^[:wq / @CopperBadger

10/06/2015 at 01:02AM

15
#1314 - Jay Hack / @_jayhack_

12/11/2015 at 08:47PM

15
#1315 - Stefan Sonski / @stefansonski

02/28/2016 at 05:23PM

15
#1316 - Joe Searle / @artouk

05/02/2016 at 03:16PM

15
#1317 - Jake S / @jakeseiden

05/13/2016 at 01:36PM

15
#1318 - Patrick Sanan / @patricksanan

01/18/2017 at 05:17PM

15
#1319 - Jacob Buete / @JBuete

07/04/2017 at 02:26AM

15
#1320 - Gurukandhamoorthi / @Gurukandhamoor1

07/10/2017 at 12:52PM