Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4fc9d767d3a0d4000100000e

Append semicolon after expressions

Some lines need the semicolon, some don't.

Start file
var foo

var bar = myCoolStuff()

callRemote()

foo = callTheWorld()
End file
var foo;

var bar = myCoolStuff();

callRemote();

foo = callTheWorld();

View Diff

1c1
< var foo
---
> var foo;
3c3
< var bar = myCoolStuff()
---
> var bar = myCoolStuff();
5c5
< callRemote()
---
> callRemote();
7c7
< foo = callTheWorld()
---
> foo = callTheWorld();

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 366 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#367 Noel Alejandro / @noelrock333 - Score: 38 - 06/23/12 @ 00:08
:4<BS>%s.<BS>/s<BS>)/x<BS>no<BS><BS>/<BS>(<BS>);/<CR>1G7la;<Esc>:w<CR><C-W>q

0 comments


Created by: @laurilehmijoki

367 active golfers, 890 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
11
#31 - Drew Neil / @nelstrom

11/26/2012 at 11:09PM

11
#32 - Felix Ingram / @lllamaboy

11/27/2012 at 07:42PM

11
#33 - Tomasz Jureczko / @codehaha

11/27/2012 at 07:46PM

11
#34 - Claudio Ortolina / @cloud8421

11/27/2012 at 07:47PM

11
#35 - mattgibb / @mattgibb

11/27/2012 at 07:48PM

11
#36 - Yann Moisan / @YannMoisan

01/05/2013 at 01:18PM

11
#37 - sweet.mike.vg / @SweetMikeVg

05/02/2013 at 01:07AM

11
#38 - Marco Hinz / @_mhinz_

05/21/2013 at 02:08PM

11
#39 - Tom User / @kiryph

05/30/2013 at 05:30PM

11
#40 - Petro Тrouq / @zulolosi

06/01/2013 at 02:02AM

11
#41 - powertomato / @powertomato

06/27/2013 at 07:42PM

11
#42 - Bradd Szonye / @bszonye

07/13/2013 at 02:07AM

11
#43 - Matt Cook / @mattcook08

07/16/2013 at 08:27PM

11
#44 - Todd Branchflower / @toddbranch

07/18/2013 at 09:02PM

11
#45 - Joel Taylor / @joelteon_

07/23/2013 at 08:18PM

11
#46 - Chris Webb / @chriswebb_42

08/23/2013 at 10:05PM

11
#47 - John Papanastasiou / @JohnPapps

08/24/2013 at 11:09PM

11
#48 - Sam Rose / @samwhoo

08/27/2013 at 06:34PM

11
#49 - Florian Rathgeber / @frathgeber

08/27/2013 at 06:51PM

11
#50 - James / @Dronak

08/29/2013 at 11:00PM

11
#51 - isayoldchap / @isayoldchap

09/07/2013 at 10:07PM

11
#52 - brett / @brettyukich

09/21/2013 at 05:45AM

11
#53 - codegourmet / @codegourmet

10/02/2013 at 08:47AM

11
#54 - Adam McLain / @adammclain

10/02/2013 at 11:26PM

11
#55 - NuM / @NuM314

10/05/2013 at 10:34PM

11
#56 - Milind Ganjoo / @mganjoo

10/24/2013 at 10:07AM

11
#57 - Casey Dwyer / @caseydwyer

10/30/2013 at 08:29AM

11
#58 - Fnord Everywhere / @FnordE

10/31/2013 at 12:27PM

11
#59 - Edgar Hipp / @EdgarHipp

11/14/2013 at 06:19PM

11
#60 - Daniel Marjenburgh / @dmarjenburgh

11/17/2013 at 01:00PM