Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4fc9d767d3a0d4000100000e

Append semicolon after expressions

Some lines need the semicolon, some don't.

Start file
var foo

var bar = myCoolStuff()

callRemote()

foo = callTheWorld()
End file
var foo;

var bar = myCoolStuff();

callRemote();

foo = callTheWorld();

View Diff

1c1
< var foo
---
> var foo;
3c3
< var bar = myCoolStuff()
---
> var bar = myCoolStuff();
5c5
< callRemote()
---
> callRemote();
7c7
< foo = callTheWorld()
---
> foo = callTheWorld();

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 369 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#370 Noel Alejandro / @noelrock333 - Score: 38 - 06/23/12 @ 00:08
:4<BS>%s.<BS>/s<BS>)/x<BS>no<BS><BS>/<BS>(<BS>);/<CR>1G7la;<Esc>:w<CR><C-W>q

0 comments


Created by: @laurilehmijoki

370 active golfers, 898 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
13
#241 - noom narze / @NarzE

06/18/2012 at 06:20AM

13
#242 - 楚安 / @wwtwi

06/18/2012 at 11:33AM

13
#243 - Johannes Bubenzer / @joh_bub

06/19/2012 at 10:03AM

13
#244 - Ryan Kois / @r_kois

06/20/2012 at 11:19PM

13
#245 - Ibrahim Tencer / @ibrahimtencer

07/05/2012 at 06:13PM

13
#246 - Michael Blatherwick / @rogue_michael

07/06/2012 at 09:41AM

13
#247 - Eric Mathison / @ericmathison

07/13/2012 at 07:51AM

13
#248 - Ben Alpert / @soprano

07/17/2012 at 08:59AM

13
#249 - Drew Benedetti / @cnorsl

07/17/2012 at 07:26PM

13
#250 - Federico Bond / @federicobond

07/22/2012 at 05:21AM

13
#251 - Ryan Patterson / @CGamesPlay

07/29/2012 at 09:45PM

13
#252 - Adam Abeshouse / @AdamAbeshouse

08/09/2012 at 08:18PM

13
#253 - it's not me / @dpree

08/10/2012 at 03:54PM

13
#254 - Michael Limiero / @michaellimiero

08/14/2012 at 11:23PM

13
#255 - Eumir Gaspar / @corrodedlotus

08/23/2012 at 11:30AM

13
#256 - (Emile (Swarts)) / @EmileSwarts

08/26/2012 at 10:22PM

13
#257 - OJ / @TheColonial

08/27/2012 at 10:18AM

13
#258 - Théophile Wallez / @twallez

08/30/2012 at 02:07PM

13
#259 - Arto Vuori / @dhpe

08/31/2012 at 07:36PM

13
#260 - BostX / @BostX

09/06/2012 at 05:10PM

13
#261 - Joachim / @jodles89

09/12/2012 at 12:37AM

13
#262 - John VanderPol / @therealyanamon

09/21/2012 at 08:58PM

13
#263 - Underhill Labs / @underhilllabs

11/03/2012 at 03:49AM

13
#264 - Bunwut Tson / @NbTson

11/08/2012 at 07:46PM

13
#265 - makala noble / @mnoble01

11/13/2012 at 10:06AM

13
#266 - Zbigniew Siciarz / @zsiciarz

11/18/2012 at 08:32PM

13
#267 - . / @cronesan

11/21/2012 at 04:46PM

13
#268 - bob / @vg41

12/21/2012 at 10:43AM

13
#269 - ajh / @AlexJHammel

12/24/2012 at 02:40PM

13
#270 - Global Maquereau / @GlobalMaquereau

12/25/2012 at 08:41PM