Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4fe9ab8b5089660001000002

Shuffle and Sort

The values where sorted incorrectly. Get them back to how they are supposed to be

Start file
a,b,c,d,e
a,b,c,d,e
a,b,c,d,e
a,b,c,d,e
a,b,c,d,e
End file
d,e,a,b,c
e,a,b,c,d
a,b,c,d,e
b,c,d,e,a
c,d,e,a,b

View Diff

0a1,2
> d,e,a,b,c
> e,a,b,c,d
2,5c4,5
< a,b,c,d,e
< a,b,c,d,e
< a,b,c,d,e
< a,b,c,d,e
---
> b,c,d,e,a
> c,d,e,a,b

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 57 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#58 Mahefa Randimbisoa / @DotMG - Score: 51 - 07/04/12 @ 10:53
:%s:<BS>!,!!g<CR>2x$pk0x$pkkx0Pk3xlp:%s!.!\0,!g<CR>:%s!,$<CR>ZZ

0 comments


Created by: @psasqw

58 active golfers, 171 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
24
#31 - cj / @cj01101

10/21/2013 at 10:31PM

25
#32 - Nipunn Koorapati / @nipunn1313

07/17/2012 at 05:04PM

26
#33 - Gary Fixler / @gfixler

06/30/2012 at 10:23PM

26
#34 - Sebastian Siadek / @SebSiadek

07/06/2012 at 09:07AM

27
#35 - Alexey Morozov / @alexeysmorozov

06/26/2012 at 06:41PM

27
#36 - J Paul Daigle / @philosodad

07/06/2012 at 04:35PM

27
#37 - Tom Sisk / @TomSisk

07/22/2012 at 08:47AM

27
#38 - annagrammatica1 / @annagrammatica1

08/02/2012 at 06:04AM

27
#39 - Vasil Sakarov / @vsakarov

09/02/2012 at 11:25AM

27
#40 - Maxim Semikin / @O_caliber_O

07/18/2016 at 09:01PM

28
#41 - abernardes / @abernardes

06/26/2012 at 03:19PM

28
#42 - Trevor Powell / @DoomedBunnies

07/04/2012 at 06:11AM

28
#43 - Drew Benedetti / @cnorsl

07/17/2012 at 07:16PM

28
#44 - Sean Griffin / @sgrif

08/13/2012 at 12:23AM

28
#45 - Martin Petrov / @mgpetrov

08/22/2012 at 11:50AM

28
#46 - Sune Simonsen / @sunesimonsen

08/25/2012 at 04:33PM

29
#47 - Mateusz Zawisza / @mateuszzawisza

06/26/2012 at 01:31PM

29
#48 - John Whitley / @johnwhitley

06/27/2012 at 05:16PM

29
#49 - Jordan Sitkin / @DustMason

07/29/2012 at 07:55PM

29
#50 - Joachim / @jodles89

09/11/2012 at 07:33PM

29
#51 - Lieven Keersmaekers / @LievenKeersmaek

11/23/2012 at 07:18PM

30
#52 - Ben Kittrell / @bgkittrell

06/27/2012 at 02:39PM

30
#53 - noom narze / @NarzE

06/29/2012 at 10:54AM

30
#54 - Alvin Francis / @alvinfrancis

07/20/2012 at 01:51PM

33
#55 - Arvin Moezzi / @kraphti

01/13/2014 at 12:05AM

35
#56 - Eumir Gaspar / @corrodedlotus

08/23/2012 at 08:43AM

47
#57 - Philippe Mongeau / @phmongeau

04/28/2013 at 10:23PM

51
#58 - Mahefa Randimbisoa / @DotMG

07/04/2012 at 10:53AM