Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 50048db8cdc4060002000004

Vertical Limit

transform a succession of one word lines to a an array of strings

Start file
There
is
no
vertical
limit
for
vim
Ninjas
End file
[ "There", "is", "no", "vertical", "limit", "for", "vim", "Ninjas" ]

View Diff

1,8c1
< There
< is
< no
< vertical
< limit
< for
< vim
< Ninjas
---
> [ "There", "is", "no", "vertical", "limit", "for", "vim", "Ninjas" ]

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 668 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#669 Prasanna N / @SupertrampPras - Score: 226 - 08/07/12 @ 16:49
jjjkkkkVGJI[ <C-S><BS><C-S><BS>jj<BS><BS><Esc>A ]<C-]><BS><Esc>hbbbbbbbbblwvei"<C-S>vhhhhi"<C-S><BS><Esc>;llllla"<Esc>ll.uh.uhh.lll.uhh.l.ll.lllhh.llllllll.llh.lllll.llh.lll.ll.uhh.lll.llh.llllll.:w<CR>hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhha,<Esc>lllll.lllll.WWhh.eE.E.E.:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @knarfben

669 active golfers, 2163 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
29
#571 - Jonathan Gin / @jonathangin52

12/04/2018 at 02:00AM

29
#572 - Timothy Michael Fox / @Timothy_M_Fox

12/18/2018 at 05:12PM

29
#573 - churaki / @churaki

01/26/2019 at 05:08AM

29
#574 - LoKi_gamer / @LoKigamer19

03/26/2019 at 04:28PM

29
#575 - tnagai / @tnagai

04/29/2019 at 05:58AM

30
#576 - Alvin Francis / @alvinfrancis

07/19/2012 at 05:07PM

30
#577 - Thijs Brobbel / @tiesmaster

07/30/2012 at 08:54AM

30
#578 - Petri Rosenström / @wuzuuz

08/12/2012 at 10:14AM

30
#579 - bob / @vg41

12/20/2012 at 10:52AM

30
#580 - XGOLFER / @vimg0lfer

01/06/2013 at 03:05AM

30
#581 - Michael Coles / @gen_ale_drinker

08/19/2013 at 03:37PM

30
#582 - Chirag Tailor / @ctailor2

01/29/2014 at 04:58AM

30
#583 - Sebastián Lara M. / @slaramen

03/10/2014 at 12:38AM

30
#584 - Kirill / @wedens_

07/14/2014 at 04:54AM

30
#585 - daveseibert / @daveseibert

08/02/2014 at 03:45AM

30
#586 - AC / @quadface

08/23/2014 at 07:27PM

30
#587 - Dmitry Zudochkin / @zudochkin

02/20/2015 at 08:24AM

30
#588 - Alex Bartol / @alexbartol

05/06/2015 at 05:49AM

30
#589 - luffy / @raxcoi

06/06/2015 at 05:07PM

30
#590 - Jakob Schöttl / @jschoettl

12/20/2015 at 05:20AM

30
#591 - Michael Rose / @mdroseDev

11/23/2018 at 08:36AM

30
#592 - Phoon / @justflashhim

05/10/2019 at 09:38PM

31
#593 - Brendan Gilroy / @BGilroy

07/19/2012 at 01:28AM

31
#594 -  Ikhsan Maulana / @ixandidu

08/18/2012 at 03:07PM

31
#595 - Raphaela Wrede / @raphaelawrede

10/14/2012 at 07:49AM

31
#596 - Andrew Crites / @ExplosionPills

09/12/2013 at 01:12PM

31
#597 - Robert Rosolek / @robertrosolek

10/18/2013 at 09:04AM

31
#598 - Edgar Hipp / @EdgarHipp

11/19/2013 at 02:03PM

31
#599 - shugen / @shugeno

03/24/2015 at 09:07PM

31
#600 - Jonas Ng / @jnshey

05/15/2015 at 04:26PM