Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 50048db8cdc4060002000004

Vertical Limit

transform a succession of one word lines to a an array of strings

Start file
There
is
no
vertical
limit
for
vim
Ninjas
End file
[ "There", "is", "no", "vertical", "limit", "for", "vim", "Ninjas" ]

View Diff

1,8c1
< There
< is
< no
< vertical
< limit
< for
< vim
< Ninjas
---
> [ "There", "is", "no", "vertical", "limit", "for", "vim", "Ninjas" ]

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 669 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#670 Prasanna N / @SupertrampPras - Score: 226 - 08/07/12 @ 16:49
jjjkkkkVGJI[ <C-S><BS><C-S><BS>jj<BS><BS><Esc>A ]<C-]><BS><Esc>hbbbbbbbbblwvei"<C-S>vhhhhi"<C-S><BS><Esc>;llllla"<Esc>ll.uh.uhh.lll.uhh.l.ll.lllhh.llllllll.llh.lllll.llh.lll.ll.uhh.lll.llh.llllll.:w<CR>hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhha,<Esc>lllll.lllll.WWhh.eE.E.E.:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @knarfben

670 active golfers, 2167 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
22
#91 - Martin Lundberg / @marlun

07/17/2012 at 09:57AM

22
#92 - Andrew Dorman / @andydorman

07/17/2012 at 12:43PM

22
#93 - Federico Galassi / @federicogalassi

07/17/2012 at 02:05PM

22
#94 - Justin Love / @wondible

07/17/2012 at 03:07PM

22
#95 - Conner McDaniel / @connermcd

07/17/2012 at 03:15PM

22
#96 - Gary Fixler / @gfixler

07/18/2012 at 07:16AM

22
#97 - Stephen Crosby / @stevecrozz

07/19/2012 at 04:31AM

22
#98 - Chris Klaiber / @chrisklaiber

07/19/2012 at 05:48AM

22
#99 - Kevin Manalo / @kevinmanalo

07/20/2012 at 09:54AM

22
#100 - James Davis / @tripvg

08/03/2012 at 04:49PM

22
#101 - Sean Griffin / @sgrif

08/13/2012 at 12:00AM

22
#102 - 刘玮 / @lwjef

08/17/2012 at 12:57AM

22
#103 - Sune Simonsen / @sunesimonsen

08/25/2012 at 04:17PM

22
#104 - Joseph J. Piché / @jjpiche

08/26/2012 at 04:23AM

22
#105 - Yi EungJun / @semtlnori

09/30/2012 at 04:16PM

22
#106 - Peter Lacey-Bordeaux / @placeybordeaux

10/10/2012 at 03:36PM

22
#107 - Victor Ramirez / @virako

10/13/2012 at 02:19AM

22
#108 - Dan Goldstein / @dggoldst

10/14/2012 at 02:41AM

22
#109 - Serge Pirotte / @SergePirotte

10/18/2012 at 06:37PM

22
#110 - ♜ Pepe Doval / @pepellou

10/25/2012 at 02:05PM

22
#111 - Son of Bongo / @bpcode

03/03/2013 at 10:46AM

22
#112 - Trevor Powell / @DoomedBunnies

03/20/2013 at 03:22AM

22
#113 - Vito / @GodFather

06/07/2013 at 07:13AM

22
#114 - Shoop Da Whoop / @ShoopDaWhoop8

06/17/2013 at 11:16PM

22
#115 - Arturo Escaip / @arturoescaip

09/03/2013 at 01:37AM

22
#116 - Dimitar Dimitrov / @kurkale6ka

10/18/2013 at 04:36PM

22
#117 - Casey Dwyer / @caseydwyer

10/24/2013 at 02:40PM

22
#118 - thasso / @thasso23

11/01/2013 at 01:00PM

22
#119 - sockdude1 / @sockdude1

11/05/2013 at 07:22AM

22
#120 - Marchand Paul-Valère / @pvmarch

03/05/2014 at 02:44PM