Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 50048db8cdc4060002000004

Vertical Limit

transform a succession of one word lines to a an array of strings

Start file
There
is
no
vertical
limit
for
vim
Ninjas
End file
[ "There", "is", "no", "vertical", "limit", "for", "vim", "Ninjas" ]

View Diff

1,8c1
< There
< is
< no
< vertical
< limit
< for
< vim
< Ninjas
---
> [ "There", "is", "no", "vertical", "limit", "for", "vim", "Ninjas" ]

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 668 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#669 Prasanna N / @SupertrampPras - Score: 226 - 08/07/12 @ 16:49
jjjkkkkVGJI[ <C-S><BS><C-S><BS>jj<BS><BS><Esc>A ]<C-]><BS><Esc>hbbbbbbbbblwvei"<C-S>vhhhhi"<C-S><BS><Esc>;llllla"<Esc>ll.uh.uhh.lll.uhh.l.ll.lllhh.llllllll.llh.lllll.llh.lll.ll.uhh.lll.llh.llllll.:w<CR>hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhha,<Esc>lllll.lllll.WWhh.eE.E.E.:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @knarfben

669 active golfers, 2163 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
22
#151 - Chester Yap / @Chest_ErYap

07/22/2019 at 12:41PM

22
#152 - Baine Wedlock / @BaineWedlock

09/26/2019 at 09:04AM

22
#153 - Kenny Low / @kennylow

09/27/2019 at 10:37AM

23
#154 - John Whitley / @johnwhitley

07/17/2012 at 12:17AM

23
#155 - Kerson Hsiao / @KersonHsiao

07/17/2012 at 03:10AM

23
#156 - Daniel S / @smatter0ne

07/17/2012 at 09:12AM

23
#157 - David Galeano / @davidgaleano

07/17/2012 at 11:00AM

23
#158 - Frank Twitting / @knarfben

07/17/2012 at 11:10AM

23
#159 - Veezus Kreist / @veezus

07/17/2012 at 06:44PM

23
#160 - Tesnorth / @Tesnorth

07/17/2012 at 08:08PM

23
#161 - Tadas Sce / @tadassce

07/18/2012 at 12:53PM

23
#162 - abernardes / @abernardes

07/18/2012 at 05:28PM

23
#163 - David Hu / @divad_12

07/19/2012 at 05:19AM

23
#164 - d1hotpep / @d1hotpep

07/29/2012 at 05:44PM

23
#165 - Jacob Taylor / @jacobltaylor

08/05/2012 at 02:16AM

23
#166 - (Emile (Swarts)) / @EmileSwarts

08/11/2012 at 11:20PM

23
#167 - jDeveloper / @jDevEE

08/15/2012 at 07:35PM

23
#168 - Alex Tercete / @alextercete

08/24/2012 at 04:54AM

23
#169 - Brendan Op 't Root / @OptrootB

08/27/2012 at 11:25AM

23
#170 - J. Nick Terry / @deft_code

08/28/2012 at 07:16AM

23
#171 - tmr / @tmr314

09/04/2012 at 01:33PM

23
#172 - 無ん垢の叫び / @john_ababa

09/16/2012 at 07:46AM

23
#173 - Édouard M'tou / @DouardM

10/09/2012 at 08:31AM

23
#174 - Nathan / @boysetsfrog

10/13/2012 at 11:27AM

23
#175 - marcos grillo / @marcos_grillor

11/01/2012 at 07:39PM

23
#176 - David Barnett / @mu_mind

11/26/2012 at 09:47AM

23
#177 - DR / @dde81

12/23/2012 at 01:54AM

23
#178 - Yann Moisan / @YannMoisan

02/03/2013 at 07:55PM

23
#179 - Timothée Gauthier / @zmf_tim

07/06/2013 at 04:59PM

23
#180 - Bradd Szonye / @bszonye

07/11/2013 at 07:27AM