Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 50048db8cdc4060002000004

Vertical Limit

transform a succession of one word lines to a an array of strings

Start file
There
is
no
vertical
limit
for
vim
Ninjas
End file
[ "There", "is", "no", "vertical", "limit", "for", "vim", "Ninjas" ]

View Diff

1,8c1
< There
< is
< no
< vertical
< limit
< for
< vim
< Ninjas
---
> [ "There", "is", "no", "vertical", "limit", "for", "vim", "Ninjas" ]

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 669 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#670 Prasanna N / @SupertrampPras - Score: 226 - 08/07/12 @ 16:49
jjjkkkkVGJI[ <C-S><BS><C-S><BS>jj<BS><BS><Esc>A ]<C-]><BS><Esc>hbbbbbbbbblwvei"<C-S>vhhhhi"<C-S><BS><Esc>;llllla"<Esc>ll.uh.uhh.lll.uhh.l.ll.lllhh.llllllll.llh.lllll.llh.lll.ll.uhh.lll.llh.llllll.:w<CR>hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhha,<Esc>lllll.lllll.WWhh.eE.E.E.:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @knarfben

670 active golfers, 2167 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
23
#211 - Aunt Jovie / @auntjovie

05/14/2018 at 05:04PM

23
#212 - towc / @MateiCopot

05/25/2018 at 07:40PM

23
#213 - PCS Solutions / @PeteSolutions

08/15/2018 at 10:57PM

23
#214 - Hugo / @szeyattai

08/19/2018 at 03:37PM

23
#215 - chaotic / @laersn

09/11/2018 at 11:35AM

23
#216 - Dax / @zacoxi

11/12/2018 at 05:06AM

23
#217 - faisal / @faisalhackshah

11/26/2018 at 06:36PM

23
#218 - Bruce Park / @bpark0

12/17/2018 at 12:49AM

23
#219 - Timur Celik / @clktmr

12/21/2018 at 05:10PM

23
#220 - Nick Yeow / @nickyeow

05/23/2019 at 12:29PM

24
#221 - Nipunn Koorapati / @nipunn1313

07/17/2012 at 08:00AM

24
#222 - benkomalo / @benkomalo

07/19/2012 at 05:08AM

24
#223 - Caleb McDaniel / @wcaleb

07/25/2012 at 10:29PM

24
#224 - Chris Brown / @engineercyb

07/26/2012 at 05:40PM

24
#225 - Слава / @slava_and_ipad

08/08/2012 at 11:05AM

24
#226 - Catalin Ciurea / @catalinciurea

08/12/2012 at 05:12PM

24
#227 - Enrique Paredes / @iknite

08/18/2012 at 12:48AM

24
#228 - pixelpurist / @pixelpurist

09/01/2012 at 10:26AM

24
#229 - Javier Cervantes / @solojavier

09/05/2012 at 06:11PM

24
#230 - Gregor Schmidt / @schmidtwisser

09/11/2012 at 07:31PM

24
#231 - Chris Patuzzo / @cpatuzzo

11/03/2012 at 11:31PM

24
#232 - makala noble / @mnoble01

11/13/2012 at 09:52AM

24
#233 - z0k / @z0k

12/19/2012 at 03:16PM

24
#234 - Steve Tjoa / @stevetjoa

02/08/2013 at 09:18PM

24
#235 - Joshua Draper / @JoshuaBDraper

05/25/2013 at 03:26PM

24
#236 - Nick Harding / @nick_harding

06/28/2013 at 03:24AM

24
#237 - Matt Cook / @mattcook08

07/16/2013 at 09:48PM

24
#238 - Francois Picalausa / @fpicalausa

08/17/2013 at 08:51PM

24
#239 - moo goo / @m00g000

08/18/2013 at 10:57PM

24
#240 - Fernando Axel Ellis / @Axel_Ellis

09/09/2013 at 09:52PM