Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5192f96ad8df110002000002

Words in parens

We should all ace this, right?

Start file
one two
three
End file
(one) (two)
(three)

View Diff

1,2c1,2
< one two
< three
---
> (one) (two)
> (three)

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3532 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3533 velina v veleva / @vveleva - Score: 155 - 04/23/15 @ 16:55
::%s/\(\a*\)/(&)/g<CR>ZZ<C-A><BS><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Right><BS><CR><CR>%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ/<Esc><Esc>u<Esc>/<BS>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<CR>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<Left><Left><Right><Right><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><CR><Esc>:w<CR><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3533 active golfers, 11363 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
21
#2971 - SayreBlades / @SayreBlades

07/17/2013 at 02:28PM

21
#2972 - Ian Oxley / @ianoxley

07/19/2013 at 01:36PM

21
#2973 - Laurent Brulet / @lbrulet

08/04/2013 at 12:49PM

21
#2974 - matthew / @mdespuits

08/09/2013 at 02:48PM

21
#2975 - leinlein / @nieldomingo

08/17/2013 at 10:08AM

21
#2976 - Giorgos Giannoutsos / @nuc

08/21/2013 at 09:18PM

21
#2977 - Vambo Põldra / @vambop

08/23/2013 at 04:37AM

21
#2978 - Jose Javier Trapero / @jjaviertb

08/29/2013 at 07:05PM

21
#2979 - The pilgrim / @panpielgrzym

09/10/2013 at 08:33PM

21
#2980 - Felix Angerborn / @FelixAngerborn

09/20/2013 at 11:10PM

21
#2981 - James T. Huggett / @Jmeshka

09/26/2013 at 09:24AM

21
#2982 - venkatakrishnan / @venkatk_

10/03/2013 at 09:02PM

21
#2983 - Greg Spurrier / @gregspurrier

10/09/2013 at 11:12PM

21
#2984 - Ori Kremer / @orikremer

10/25/2013 at 08:07PM

21
#2985 - Jay Rajput / @jayrajput

10/26/2013 at 02:00PM

21
#2986 - Ismail Tigrek / @IsmailTigrek

10/27/2013 at 08:38PM

21
#2987 - Derek Louie / @dklouie

10/31/2013 at 06:51PM

21
#2988 - Anthony / @Scatchell

11/07/2013 at 02:06PM

21
#2989 - Andrew Ruder / @aeruder

11/07/2013 at 04:16PM

21
#2990 - Alberto Sadde / @titicox

11/09/2013 at 09:55PM

21
#2991 - Adam Mulligan / @amulligan

11/10/2013 at 07:41PM

21
#2992 - Matteo Giaccone / @Mat_Jack1

11/13/2013 at 09:46PM

21
#2993 - Alexander Scherbinin / @realmyst

11/15/2013 at 03:32PM

21
#2994 - fehtrar / @fehtrar

11/30/2013 at 02:13AM

21
#2995 - phalkunz / @phalkunz

12/03/2013 at 03:29AM

21
#2996 - Wayne Franklin / @waf1waf

12/03/2013 at 02:18PM

21
#2997 - Alex Rutkowski / @alexmarie84

12/04/2013 at 10:09PM

21
#2998 - Rémi Labeyrie / @rlabeyrie

12/06/2013 at 03:26PM

21
#2999 - Zach Kemp / @zvksf

12/13/2013 at 08:39AM

21
#3000 - Hersh Singh / @HershSingh

12/15/2013 at 06:12PM