Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5192f96ad8df110002000002

Words in parens

We should all ace this, right?

Start file
one two
three
End file
(one) (two)
(three)

View Diff

1,2c1,2
< one two
< three
---
> (one) (two)
> (three)

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3621 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3622 velina v veleva / @vveleva - Score: 155 - 04/23/15 @ 16:55
::%s/\(\a*\)/(&)/g<CR>ZZ<C-A><BS><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Right><BS><CR><CR>%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ/<Esc><Esc>u<Esc>/<BS>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<CR>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<Left><Left><Right><Right><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><CR><Esc>:w<CR><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3622 active golfers, 11684 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
22
#3241 - Kevin Kuchta / @kkuchta

01/28/2014 at 11:03PM

22
#3242 - Luiz Geovani Vier / @lgvier

01/29/2014 at 06:37AM

22
#3243 - Andrea Agosti / @cifvts

01/29/2014 at 09:12AM

22
#3244 - Lavkesh / @OloglogN

01/29/2014 at 12:01PM

22
#3245 - Franck Rethore / @franck_re

02/02/2014 at 07:25PM

22
#3246 - Juan Aguero / @juansta

02/03/2014 at 04:06AM

22
#3247 - Vasil Mikhalenya / @bazillek

02/13/2014 at 04:13PM

22
#3248 - pawelmhm / @pawelmhm

03/14/2014 at 05:43PM

22
#3249 - Benoit d'Oncieu / @bdoncieu

05/21/2014 at 02:36PM

22
#3250 - Apostolis Hardalias / @hardalias

05/24/2014 at 12:23PM

22
#3251 - Мосх Яра / @JaroslavUsenko

06/19/2014 at 01:47PM

22
#3252 - Bryan Rathouz / @BryanRathouz

07/03/2014 at 06:50PM

22
#3253 - Jacob Joaquin / @JacobJoaquin

07/14/2014 at 02:29AM

22
#3254 - Michael Limiero / @michaellimiero

07/15/2014 at 01:11AM

22
#3255 - AA / @stonewareslord

07/16/2014 at 03:16AM

22
#3256 - luke / @lukezhangstudio

07/20/2014 at 08:13PM

22
#3257 - Justin Knag / @justinknag

08/28/2014 at 11:39AM

22
#3258 - Collin Richards / @MrBallinCollin

11/09/2014 at 10:07AM

22
#3259 - Xavier Perez / @DuoSRX

11/16/2014 at 06:25PM

22
#3260 - Ayman Farhat / @aymanfarhat

01/07/2015 at 11:34AM

22
#3261 - Swastik / @__swastik

03/15/2015 at 06:50AM

22
#3262 - Familial Rhino / @FamilialRhino

03/23/2015 at 07:26PM

22
#3263 - Tim Abramson / @timabramson

05/04/2015 at 09:48PM

22
#3264 - Lucien Baron / @Luci1B

06/16/2015 at 06:31PM

22
#3265 - Olik / @oli33k

07/15/2015 at 02:09PM

22
#3266 - Stani Banani / @Stani_Banani

09/10/2015 at 11:04PM

22
#3267 - anonrab / @anonrab

12/28/2015 at 03:33PM

22
#3268 - Jasbir Singh / @jasbirsingh11

01/18/2016 at 04:51PM

22
#3269 - Elias Nyström / @nighstrom

01/27/2016 at 07:56AM

22
#3270 - Camron Flanders / @camflan

03/25/2016 at 01:25PM