Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5192f96ad8df110002000002

Words in parens

We should all ace this, right?

Start file
one two
three
End file
(one) (two)
(three)

View Diff

1,2c1,2
< one two
< three
---
> (one) (two)
> (three)

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3271 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3272 velina v veleva / @vveleva - Score: 155 - 04/23/15 @ 16:55
::%s/\(\a*\)/(&)/g<CR>ZZ<C-A><BS><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Right><BS><CR><CR>%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ/<Esc><Esc>u<Esc>/<BS>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<CR>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<Left><Left><Right><Right><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><CR><Esc>:w<CR><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3272 active golfers, 10474 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
14
#331 - Jim Vogel / @BIThoughts

04/15/2014 at 06:07PM

14
#332 - typp / @tehtyppz

04/17/2014 at 03:10PM

14
#333 - kiho choi / @ArtStandAlone

04/18/2014 at 08:14AM

14
#334 - Jones / @Libidijones

04/19/2014 at 04:26PM

14
#335 - Andrew Loucky / @merely_oolong

04/21/2014 at 09:30PM

14
#336 - Diego Lendoiro / @sinvitaminas

04/21/2014 at 09:46PM

14
#337 - みなも@月面三点倒立 / @X___MOON___X

04/25/2014 at 01:21PM

14
#338 - Marcin Mucha / @marcinmucha

04/29/2014 at 08:48PM

14
#339 - Bruno Ferreira Pinto / @brunopint0

05/02/2014 at 07:04PM

14
#340 - Andrei Kashcha / @anvaka

05/03/2014 at 09:08AM

14
#341 - Peeby Thirtyone / @peeby31

05/03/2014 at 11:14AM

14
#342 - Utkarsh Kukreti / @utkarshkukreti

05/03/2014 at 08:15PM

14
#343 - john / @KMKY_Aha

05/04/2014 at 04:23PM

14
#344 - Roman Charushin / @lompee

05/05/2014 at 10:06AM

14
#345 - Nolen Royalty / @NolenRoyalty

05/08/2014 at 02:49AM

14
#346 - Chaitanya Desu / @ChaituNu

05/08/2014 at 05:59AM

14
#347 - Martin Delille / @martinodelilo

05/08/2014 at 11:44AM

14
#348 - Vlad Sukhmel / @idji_karano

05/09/2014 at 03:18PM

14
#349 - Markus Kasper / @KasperBox

05/16/2014 at 07:14PM

14
#350 - Alex / @ven_y_toma

05/18/2014 at 09:57PM

14
#351 - Leigh Bicknell / @Elwon20Leigh

05/20/2014 at 07:23PM

14
#352 - Hogan Seah / @geechrist

05/20/2014 at 08:02PM

14
#353 - たかきの / @srtkmsw

05/23/2014 at 10:35AM

14
#354 - jolka / @jolka19296078

05/23/2014 at 11:34PM

14
#355 - Federico Galassi / @federicogalassi

05/27/2014 at 02:31AM

14
#356 - Alex Tercete / @alextercete

05/31/2014 at 02:24PM

14
#357 - Duke Vladimir / @semitchev

06/01/2014 at 05:56PM

14
#358 - Augusto Pascutti / @augustohp

06/02/2014 at 09:26PM

14
#359 - Lyall Cooper / @lyallcooper

06/03/2014 at 07:53AM

14
#360 - Emil Soman / @emilsoman

06/03/2014 at 08:33PM