Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5192f96ad8df110002000002

Words in parens

We should all ace this, right?

Start file
one two
three
End file
(one) (two)
(three)

View Diff

1,2c1,2
< one two
< three
---
> (one) (two)
> (three)

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3918 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3919 velina v veleva / @vveleva - Score: 155 - 04/23/15 @ 16:55
::%s/\(\a*\)/(&)/g<CR>ZZ<C-A><BS><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Right><BS><CR><CR>%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ/<Esc><Esc>u<Esc>/<BS>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<CR>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<Left><Left><Right><Right><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><CR><Esc>:w<CR><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3919 active golfers, 12736 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
14
#361 - jolka / @jolka19296078

05/23/2014 at 11:34PM

14
#362 - Federico Galassi / @federicogalassi

05/27/2014 at 02:31AM

14
#363 - Alex Tercete / @alextercete

05/31/2014 at 02:24PM

14
#364 - Duke Vladimir / @semitchev

06/01/2014 at 05:56PM

14
#365 - Augusto Pascutti / @augustohp

06/02/2014 at 09:26PM

14
#366 - Lyall Cooper / @lyallcooper

06/03/2014 at 07:53AM

14
#367 - Emil Soman / @emilsoman

06/03/2014 at 08:33PM

14
#368 - Vim Dude / @vim_dude

06/04/2014 at 02:21PM

14
#369 - Ben / @CubicPants

06/04/2014 at 10:55PM

14
#370 - Andy Novocin / @AndyNovocin

06/06/2014 at 01:11AM

14
#371 - yusukesasaki / @yysaki

06/08/2014 at 03:02PM

14
#372 - Robert Bruce / @therealrobru

06/08/2014 at 04:30PM

14
#373 - Jonas Arnold Clasen / @jonasclasen

06/09/2014 at 05:04PM

14
#374 - Tim Seyschab / @SeyschabTim

06/12/2014 at 07:17PM

14
#375 - Zef / @ZefMusic

06/12/2014 at 11:36PM

14
#376 - Evgeniy Veretennikov / @evg_veret

06/13/2014 at 02:44PM

14
#377 - Ole Hansen / @0hansen

06/14/2014 at 01:39PM

14
#378 - yaon / @yaon4

06/15/2014 at 02:12AM

14
#379 - Leland Paul Kusmer / @lelandpaul

06/15/2014 at 11:15PM

14
#380 - Bart / @oneofmanybarts

06/16/2014 at 07:03AM

14
#381 - Timothy Chong / @timothychongg

06/20/2014 at 06:24PM

14
#382 - John Meisner / @jmeisned

06/24/2014 at 03:59AM

14
#383 - Alex Pounds / @acreature

06/24/2014 at 07:37PM

14
#384 - Richard Jones / @metabrew

06/24/2014 at 07:41PM

14
#385 - ドラゴン井門 / @ido_mazine

06/25/2014 at 07:09AM

14
#386 - Caek / @Caek_

06/27/2014 at 03:54AM

14
#387 - jackliusr / @jackliusr

06/28/2014 at 10:10AM

14
#388 - trotha01 / @trotha01

07/01/2014 at 03:52AM

14
#389 - Nico Lehmann / @nilehmann

07/06/2014 at 05:01AM

14
#390 - James Scriven / @JamesDScriven

07/06/2014 at 01:25PM