Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5192f96ad8df110002000002

Words in parens

We should all ace this, right?

Start file
one two
three
End file
(one) (two)
(three)

View Diff

1,2c1,2
< one two
< three
---
> (one) (two)
> (three)

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3486 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3487 velina v veleva / @vveleva - Score: 155 - 04/23/15 @ 16:55
::%s/\(\a*\)/(&)/g<CR>ZZ<C-A><BS><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Right><BS><CR><CR>%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ/<Esc><Esc>u<Esc>/<BS>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<CR>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<Left><Left><Right><Right><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><CR><Esc>:w<CR><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3487 active golfers, 11195 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
14
#151 - Daniel Marjenburgh / @dmarjenburgh

11/19/2013 at 09:14AM

14
#152 - Cassiano Leal / @cassianoleal

11/21/2013 at 04:46PM

14
#153 - Gonçalo Nogueira / @JGNog

11/21/2013 at 06:00PM

14
#154 - Rob Findley / @Rob_Findley

11/22/2013 at 01:03AM

14
#155 - Johan Kristiansson / @johankri

11/23/2013 at 02:17PM

14
#156 - J / @planck0

11/25/2013 at 05:17PM

14
#157 - Casper Christensen / @Casper__C

11/26/2013 at 02:24PM

14
#158 - Sandeep Dhavale / @sandeep_dhavale

11/27/2013 at 03:44AM

14
#159 - Akshay Hegde / @ajh_17

11/29/2013 at 07:12AM

14
#160 - Piotr G. / @gbdlin

12/03/2013 at 08:35PM

14
#161 - Zifei Tong / @chevalun

12/05/2013 at 03:00PM

14
#162 - Mark Smullen / @Net_Creator

12/06/2013 at 03:32AM

14
#163 - Kent Frazier / @mindredefined

12/07/2013 at 03:04AM

14
#164 - Bill Gates / @BillGat80055899

12/07/2013 at 10:59AM

14
#165 - digitalronin / @digitalronin

12/07/2013 at 02:00PM

14
#166 - R. Alex / @Ralex1098

12/08/2013 at 08:46PM

14
#167 - adi li / @guessimtoolate

12/09/2013 at 01:08PM

14
#168 - Tim Smart / @tim_smart

12/09/2013 at 09:41PM

14
#169 - Preston Cabe / @PrestonCabe

12/09/2013 at 09:48PM

14
#170 - ichnom / @ichnom

12/10/2013 at 07:30PM

14
#171 - Vernon Grimshaw / @Vernon_Grimshaw

12/12/2013 at 11:04AM

14
#172 - ynwsoft / @ynwsoft

12/12/2013 at 01:06PM

14
#173 - Joakim L. Engeset / @joakim_eng

12/12/2013 at 02:22PM

14
#174 - Ivan Brennan / @ivanbrennan

12/13/2013 at 08:43PM

14
#175 - Sam Lau / @samlau95

12/14/2013 at 11:05AM

14
#176 - Taro Yamada / @t_yamada8karad

12/15/2013 at 05:58AM

14
#177 - Augustin Trancart / @autra42

12/16/2013 at 05:26PM

14
#178 - Jason Miller / @Aidenn0

12/17/2013 at 12:27AM

14
#179 - Joseph Ku / @josephku

12/17/2013 at 10:39AM

14
#180 - Andrew O'Neill / @AndroidOatmeal

12/17/2013 at 03:43PM