Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 51e023f92b2f6d0002000066

Hole-in-one

Lets take this golf thing literally.. Drive off the tee into the hole, and of course you don't strike the ball completely clean.

Start file
    
        o
        |


                                     |>
                                     |
                                    ( )
End file
    
        
        
          _

                                     |>
                                     |
                                    (o)

View Diff

3,5c3,5
<         o
<         |
< 
---
>         
>         
>           _
9c9
<                                     ( )
---
>                                     (o)

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 226 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#227 Vitalii / veelenga - Score: 22 - 02/15/14 @ 21:54
2+x+xj10i <Esc>a_<Esc>/ )<CR>roZZ

0 comments


#228 Gennadiy Leyfer / gleyfer - Score: 22 - 02/23/14 @ 23:48
}kyyjVps  _<Esc>k<C-V>kdGlroZZ

0 comments


#229 Jake Eaton / Jake__Eaton - Score: 22 - 06/01/14 @ 06:44
wxwxyyjVpA  _<Esc>/ )<CR>roZZ

0 comments


#230 Rob Glew / RealGlew - Score: 22 - 06/05/14 @ 20:39
++x+xj10i <Esc>a_<Esc>/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#231 TapTemplate / TapTemplate - Score: 22 - 06/28/14 @ 01:42
wxwxYYjVpA  _<Esc>/ )<CR>roZZ

0 comments


#232 Tom Layte / tlayte - Score: 22 - 07/19/14 @ 00:42
2+x+xj10i <Esc>a_<Esc>/ )<CR>roZZ

0 comments


#233 Chris Trotman / solarnz - Score: 22 - 10/06/14 @ 03:07
3Gxjlxj10i <Esc>A_<Esc>9GlroZZ

0 comments


#234 Kevin Merlin / mp3merlin - Score: 22 - 09/21/15 @ 12:42
}kyyjVps  _<Esc>k<C-V>kdGlroZZ

0 comments


#235 Kyouma / kyoumaJohn - Score: 22 - 10/14/16 @ 18:56
w<C-V>jxjj10i <Esc>A_<Esc>/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#236 Peter Chynoweth / pcchynoweth - Score: 22 - 02/06/17 @ 19:51
2+x+xj10i <Esc>a_<Esc>/ )<CR>roZZ

0 comments


#237 bazinga / ___bazinga___ - Score: 23 - 07/12/13 @ 16:28
/o<CR><Del>yyp<Down>A<BS>  _<Down><Del><Esc>G<Right>ro<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#238 Christopher Bahr / bahrware - Score: 23 - 07/12/13 @ 18:26
wxjyyps  _<Esc>kxjjddGlroZZ

0 comments


#239 Fuad Saud / fuadsaud - Score: 23 - 07/20/13 @ 20:56
2+x+xj10i <Esc>a_<Esc>Glro<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


#240 Christophe de Vienne / cmdevienne - Score: 23 - 08/03/13 @ 07:50
3Gxjlxja <Esc>9.a_<Esc>/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#241 codegourmet / codegourmet - Score: 23 - 10/02/13 @ 07:23
3Gxjlxja <Esc>9.a_<Esc>/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#242 Billy Ripper / dirtlamb5 - Score: 23 - 10/23/13 @ 07:09
jjA<BS><Esc>j.YpA  _<Esc>jddGlroZZ

0 comments


#243 Russ Adams / rustushki - Score: 23 - 12/24/13 @ 21:20
/o<CR><C-V>jxjyyjVPa  _<Esc>GlroZZ

0 comments


#244 Johan Berg / _berg85 - Score: 23 - 01/03/14 @ 12:42
2j^xjlxj10i <Esc>a_<Esc>Gao<Del><Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#245 a / asdfsdafdsfdsaf - Score: 23 - 01/04/14 @ 02:29
3G<C-V>jxjj10i <Esc>a_<Esc>/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#246 tacr / tacr4 - Score: 23 - 02/14/14 @ 18:02
3Gx9Gp<Right>x4GxYpa  _<Esc><Down>ddZZ

0 comments


#247 barnabaguy / barnabaguy - Score: 23 - 02/17/14 @ 22:16
/o<CR><C-V>jdjj11i <Esc>r_/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#248 Evan Coleman / edc1591 - Score: 23 - 04/30/15 @ 18:15
3+r_2i <Esc>-xyyp2jddGlroZZ

0 comments


#249 kim h madsen / kim_h_madsen - Score: 24 - 07/15/13 @ 18:28
wxjyyps _<Left> <Esc>kxjjddGlroZZ

0 comments


#250 Vestrobaa / Vestrobaa - Score: 24 - 07/18/13 @ 21:05
/o<CR>xjlxj10A <Esc>A_<Esc>/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#251 James / Dronak - Score: 24 - 08/29/13 @ 21:22
2+x+x+10i <Esc>A_<Esc>/ <BS>(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#252 Marian Vevurka / MVevurka - Score: 24 - 10/17/13 @ 15:49
2+x+xyypa  _<Esc>+dd/ )<CR>roZZ

0 comments


#253 Eric Potter / pottereric - Score: 24 - 10/27/13 @ 01:03
/o<CR>xjlx<CR>10i <Esc>a_<Esc>/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#254 Larry Boltovskoi / larrybolt - Score: 24 - 12/08/13 @ 01:07
2+x+xyypA  _<Esc>jdd3+R(o<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#255 curist / curist - Score: 24 - 01/16/14 @ 03:10
wDwyypC  _<Up><BS><Esc>2jdd3wlroZZ

0 comments


#256 n.st / 0013901644043f9 - Score: 24 - 02/03/14 @ 04:06
3GxjlxyyjVpa  _<Esc>/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#257 Huy Zing / huyzing - Score: 24 - 02/13/14 @ 08:48
/o<CR>xYpjlC  _<Esc>jdd/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#258 ren / wxoc - Score: 24 - 02/20/14 @ 10:06
/o<CR>xYpjlC  _<Esc>jdd/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#259 Mathias Münch / mmutng - Score: 24 - 03/28/14 @ 15:13
2j$xjlxj10i <Esc>A_<Esc>/ )<CR>roZZ

0 comments


#260 Felipe Jaramillo F / mrfelipe - Score: 24 - 04/02/14 @ 20:10
:5<CR>i_<Esc>10i <Esc>kxklxGao<Esc>lxZZ

0 comments


#261 Michael J Rosenthal / micimize - Score: 24 - 04/09/14 @ 18:57
/o<CR><C-V>jxjj10i <Esc>a_<Esc>Glro:wq<CR>

0 comments


#262 wizardwerdna / wizardwerdna - Score: 24 - 05/16/14 @ 05:35
++x+xj10i <Esc>a+<BS>_<Esc>/)<CR>hroZZ

0 comments


#263 yamasita taisuke / yaasita - Score: 24 - 07/12/14 @ 04:49
:3<CR>xjlxj10i <Esc>a_<Esc>:9<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#264 Jan Novak / odpadnimail - Score: 24 - 11/22/14 @ 03:36
2+xjlxyypa  _<Esc>jDddGlroZZ

0 comments


#265 Hiroshi Funai / hfunai - Score: 25 - 09/23/13 @ 02:41
/o<CR>x/(<CR>plx/|<CR>xj10i <Esc>a_<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#266 David Tran / everyzero - Score: 25 - 10/30/13 @ 19:36
/o<CR>DyypjC   _<Esc>jdd/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#267 Chris / 143Pi - Score: 25 - 03/28/14 @ 15:21
/o<CR>x<Esc>wxj10i <Esc>a_<Esc>/(<CR>lro<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#268 A / a_akessler - Score: 25 - 08/27/14 @ 17:05
++x+xj10i <Esc>a_<Esc>/)<BS><CR>Gao<Del><Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#269 Alain / ducouloa - Score: 25 - 12/01/15 @ 20:15
/o<CR>xyypjlR  _<Esc>jdd/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#270 Tom Cammann / tea_sea - Score: 26 - 05/12/14 @ 16:34
WxGlpXggwY+Vps  _<Esc>kkYjVpZZ

0 comments


#271 Brian Peck / bpeck614 - Score: 26 - 06/11/14 @ 06:04
jj$xj$xj10i <Esc>a_<Esc>/)h<BS><CR>hroZZ

0 comments


#272 João Carvalho / joaoCarvas - Score: 26 - 07/18/14 @ 22:50
/o<CR><C-V>jdjyypA  _<Esc>jdd/ )<CR>roZZ

0 comments


#273 Raynard, Jordan / raynard_jordan - Score: 26 - 01/14/15 @ 15:48
/o<CR><S-><C-V>jxy<Home>jjpa   _<Esc>/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#274 Oliver Christ / 0liverChrist - Score: 26 - 02/08/15 @ 20:58
jj<End>xjyypkxjlC  _<Esc>jddGlroZZ

0 comments


#275 Gurukandhamoorthi / Gurukandhamoor1 - Score: 27 - 07/13/17 @ 09:01
/ox<BS><CR>xjlxj10i <Esc>A_<Esc>/)<CR>i<Esc>roZZ

0 comments


#276 brett / brettyukich - Score: 29 - 09/18/13 @ 11:01
/o<CR><C-V>jxjji          _<Esc>/ )<CR>roZZ

0 comments


#277 Daniel Gray / DanielFGray - Score: 30 - 10/15/13 @ 08:43
wxGlvp{{}kyypjddkkwxjlcw  _<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


#278 w1zeman1p / wizemanip - Score: 32 - 05/11/14 @ 04:45
2jfo<C-V>jxjyypi   _<Esc>lxjddf<Esc>/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#279 Helmut Irle / psyonara - Score: 33 - 07/19/13 @ 11:25
/o<CR><Del><Down><Right><Del><Down>i          _<Esc>/(<CR><Right>io<Del><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


#280 Adam Quentin / AdamQuentin2 - Score: 34 - 07/23/13 @ 15:45
4ji          _<Esc>kxklxGra<Esc>ulro:w<CR>:q<CR>

0 comments


#281 Zack Danger Brown / ztbrown - Score: 34 - 06/30/14 @ 18:30
2jfo<C-C><C-C><C-V>jxjyypi   _<Esc>lxjddf<Esc>/(<CR>lroZZ

0 comments


#282 Justin Thomas / base698 - Score: 35 - 04/17/14 @ 23:28
/o<CR>"axjji          _<Esc>kx/(l<BS><CR>lvProZZ

0 comments


#283 Brian Peiris / brianpeiris - Score: 43 - 12/28/13 @ 05:28
/|<CR>:se vir<Tab>=a<Tab><BS>ll<CR>jlls_<Esc>kkb<C-V>jd<Esc>/(<CR>2s(o<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: boyfromkansas

283 active golfers, 922 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
15
#1 - Emil Soman / emilsoman

06/02/2014 at 07:43PM

15
#2 - David / Latiku

08/25/2017 at 01:56PM

16
#3 - Bradd Szonye / bszonye

07/13/2013 at 03:04AM

16
#4 - Urtica dioica / udioica

07/13/2013 at 03:17AM

16
#5 - Petro Тrouq / zulolosi

07/13/2013 at 11:24AM

16
#6 - Aaron Bieber / aaronbieber

07/13/2013 at 04:59PM

16
#7 - eWaves / GiulioBortot

07/14/2013 at 08:37PM

16
#8 - Roland Schatz / fl_Overmind

07/14/2013 at 11:00PM

16
#9 - Luke Walsh / boyfromkansas

07/16/2013 at 03:53PM

16
#10 - Andy Balaam / andybalaam

07/17/2013 at 01:53PM

16
#11 - James Davis / tripvg

07/17/2013 at 08:09PM

16
#12 - Bruno Sutic / brunosutic

07/18/2013 at 03:55AM

16
#13 - Ingo / ist3fani

07/18/2013 at 06:12PM

16
#14 - ———đίxίє—flαтlίиє——— / _dixie_flatline

07/19/2013 at 06:30PM

16
#15 - Armand Halbert / armandhalbert

08/07/2013 at 05:15PM

16
#16 - Christopher Green / cg433n

08/12/2013 at 04:26AM

16
#17 - Andrew / vimGolfAndrew

08/15/2013 at 10:35PM

16
#18 - Jiří Chára / JiriChara

08/21/2013 at 02:23PM

16
#19 - Barry Nichols / Barry_Nichols

08/26/2013 at 07:16AM

16
#20 - Abdel Said / abdelsaid

08/26/2013 at 11:14PM

16
#21 - Dan / dan_winkler

08/28/2013 at 12:57AM

16
#22 - Leif Bladt / leifbladt

08/29/2013 at 09:55AM

16
#23 - Joey Twiddle / joeytwiddle

09/01/2013 at 01:38AM

16
#24 - Matěj Nikl / MatejNikl

09/09/2013 at 06:57PM

16
#25 - Rafa Garcia / fafa

09/11/2013 at 10:25AM

16
#26 - Stephen Drodge / sjdrodge

09/12/2013 at 02:36AM

16
#27 - Dary Merckens / merckens

09/23/2013 at 04:31PM

16
#28 - Throw Away / throwaway111111

10/01/2013 at 11:49PM

16
#29 - StarkHalo / hellektor

10/07/2013 at 12:35PM

16
#30 - Jamie Schembri / shkm

10/09/2013 at 07:42PM