Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 51f4a64c6813e30002000018

quotes inside quotes

taken from tip 85 of the very good book 'Practical Vim: Edit Text at the Speed of Thought' ! I'd be interested what people use :)

Start file
This string contains a 'quoted' word.
This string contains 'two' quoted 'words.'
This 'string doesn't make things easy.'
End file
This string contains a "quoted" word.
This string contains "two" quoted "words."
This "string doesn't make things easy."

View Diff

1,3c1,3
< This string contains a 'quoted' word.
< This string contains 'two' quoted 'words.'
< This 'string doesn't make things easy.'
---
> This string contains a "quoted" word.
> This string contains "two" quoted "words."
> This "string doesn't make things easy."

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 963 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#964 mko_io / @mko_io - Score: 189 - 06/14/14 @ 16:10
f'cs'"f'<Right>cs'"f'S"jjujj<Esc><Esc>ulf'c"s"<C-O>'f'l<BS><BS><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right>x<Right><BS><BS>"<Esc><Esc>jhhhhhhhhhS"uj<Esc><Esc>uf'Sujj<Esc><Esc>ulllllllllllllllllllllC<Esc>us"<Esc><Right><Right><Right><Right>s"<Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right>s"<BS><BS><Right><Left>s"<BS><BS><Esc><Esc><Right>s"<Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><BS>s<BS>S<BS>"<Down><BS>"<Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><BS>"<Esc><Esc>ZZ

0 comments


Created by: @GlobalMaquereau

964 active golfers, 2770 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
18
#871 - Peter Flockhart / @FreshPeter_

02/24/2015 at 12:57AM

18
#872 - Котов Роман / @Oxaide16

05/22/2015 at 10:36PM

18
#873 - Christopher Wells / @ExcaliburZero_Z

12/19/2015 at 08:03PM

18
#874 - Micha / @michman89

08/12/2016 at 09:57AM

18
#875 - Akilan Anbalagan / @akilananb

03/27/2018 at 09:32AM

18
#876 - Ian Webster / @iwebst

07/28/2018 at 06:58PM

18
#877 - adir ohayon / @AdirKip

01/07/2019 at 10:45PM

19
#878 - Romain Pomier / @RPomier

08/02/2013 at 08:13PM

19
#879 - Sheng / @shenghis

08/25/2013 at 07:45PM

19
#880 - Francesco Negri / @dhinus

09/17/2013 at 10:37AM

19
#881 - John Moon / @johnmoon6

11/21/2013 at 01:39PM

19
#882 - Christian Schilling / @initcrash

11/27/2013 at 02:52PM

19
#883 - Simon Eskildsen / @Sirupsen

12/17/2013 at 01:51AM

19
#884 - WoljaIlpapa / @WoljaIlpapa

12/27/2013 at 09:57PM

19
#885 - albert peng / @holoiii

01/10/2014 at 01:33AM

19
#886 - Yuval Netanel / @Yuval5555

01/28/2014 at 01:20PM

19
#887 - Julian Arni / @jk_arni

02/05/2014 at 06:28PM

19
#888 - ; / @dandwor

02/06/2014 at 11:50AM

19
#889 - fsaintjacques / @fsaintjacques

02/24/2014 at 01:13AM

19
#890 - Dave Derderian / @funayman

03/06/2014 at 07:15PM

19
#891 - Jesse Hixson / @jhixson

06/28/2014 at 06:53PM

19
#892 - Justin Knag / @justinknag

08/28/2014 at 11:10AM

19
#893 - Ilker Mutlu / @ilkermutlu

04/01/2015 at 01:17PM

19
#894 - Kir Shatrov / @kirshatrov

06/19/2016 at 09:00PM

19
#895 - Kaydo Alders / @Yousousen

03/13/2018 at 02:19PM

19
#896 - Robert Xu / @RobertX97592288

11/29/2018 at 01:29AM

20
#897 - Chirag Tailor / @ctailor2

01/27/2014 at 05:40PM

20
#898 - JamesB41 / @JamesB41

02/03/2014 at 04:49AM

20
#899 - chvzvhn / @chvzvhn

04/26/2015 at 06:19AM

20
#900 - Pratap Koritala / @pratap_koritala

02/17/2016 at 02:22PM