Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 51f4a64c6813e30002000018

quotes inside quotes

taken from tip 85 of the very good book 'Practical Vim: Edit Text at the Speed of Thought' ! I'd be interested what people use :)

Start file
This string contains a 'quoted' word.
This string contains 'two' quoted 'words.'
This 'string doesn't make things easy.'
End file
This string contains a "quoted" word.
This string contains "two" quoted "words."
This "string doesn't make things easy."

View Diff

1,3c1,3
< This string contains a 'quoted' word.
< This string contains 'two' quoted 'words.'
< This 'string doesn't make things easy.'
---
> This string contains a "quoted" word.
> This string contains "two" quoted "words."
> This "string doesn't make things easy."

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 976 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#977 mko_io / @mko_io - Score: 189 - 06/14/14 @ 16:10
f'cs'"f'<Right>cs'"f'S"jjujj<Esc><Esc>ulf'c"s"<C-O>'f'l<BS><BS><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right>x<Right><BS><BS>"<Esc><Esc>jhhhhhhhhhS"uj<Esc><Esc>uf'Sujj<Esc><Esc>ulllllllllllllllllllllC<Esc>us"<Esc><Right><Right><Right><Right>s"<Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right>s"<BS><BS><Right><Left>s"<BS><BS><Esc><Esc><Right>s"<Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><BS>s<BS>S<BS>"<Down><BS>"<Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><BS>"<Esc><Esc>ZZ

0 comments


Created by: @GlobalMaquereau

977 active golfers, 2804 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
19
#901 - fsaintjacques / @fsaintjacques

02/24/2014 at 01:13AM

19
#902 - Dave Derderian / @funayman

03/06/2014 at 07:15PM

19
#903 - Jesse Hixson / @jhixson

06/28/2014 at 06:53PM

19
#904 - Justin Knag / @justinknag

08/28/2014 at 11:10AM

19
#905 - Ilker Mutlu / @ilkermutlu

04/01/2015 at 01:17PM

19
#906 - Kir Shatrov / @kirshatrov

06/19/2016 at 09:00PM

19
#907 - Kaydo Alders / @Yousousen

03/13/2018 at 02:19PM

19
#908 - Robert Xu / @RobertX97592288

11/29/2018 at 01:29AM

20
#909 - Chirag Tailor / @ctailor2

01/27/2014 at 05:40PM

20
#910 - JamesB41 / @JamesB41

02/03/2014 at 04:49AM

20
#911 - chvzvhn / @chvzvhn

04/26/2015 at 06:19AM

20
#912 - Pratap Koritala / @pratap_koritala

02/17/2016 at 02:22PM

21
#913 - Giorgos Giannoutsos / @nuc

08/21/2013 at 09:06PM

21
#914 - Piotr G. / @gbdlin

12/04/2013 at 03:18PM

21
#915 - Edgar Klerks / @eklerks

12/18/2013 at 04:53PM

21
#916 - Johan Berg / @_berg85

12/25/2013 at 03:26PM

21
#917 - Anton Shemerey / @shemerey

01/04/2014 at 06:35AM

21
#918 - Peter Piekarczyk / @ppskeet

01/30/2014 at 05:36AM

21
#919 - Ville Hakulinen / @hakulinenville

02/01/2014 at 04:27PM

21
#920 - CptBong / @cpt1bong

12/04/2018 at 01:23AM

21
#921 - Oren Koriat / @KoriatOren

12/20/2018 at 08:46PM

22
#922 - Jesse Fisher / @jessecfisher

08/23/2013 at 10:27PM

22
#923 - Hiroshi Funai / @hfunai

09/23/2013 at 02:09AM

22
#924 - J. Cliff Dyer / @jcdyer

11/25/2013 at 12:57PM

22
#925 - Tom Himanen / @TomHimanen

11/29/2013 at 12:40AM

22
#926 - JonnyRo / @JonnyRo

01/16/2014 at 07:17PM

22
#927 - teepark / @teepark

01/28/2014 at 06:00PM

22
#928 - Nate Fisher / @FallingNate

01/30/2014 at 05:10PM

22
#929 - John Hilts / @johnhilts

02/04/2014 at 07:13AM

22
#930 - TimWolla / @TimWolla

03/13/2014 at 09:02PM