Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 52222f6ea98cbe0002000078

Letter case trickery

This file is in a downright esoteric format, consisting of hexadecimal numbers, non-hexadecimal keywords, and "Z" indicating end-of-line. Make the hexadecimal numbers lowercase.

Start file
A4E SUM 3C0Z
2B A9 NE F2Z
End file
a4e SUM 3c0Z
2b a9 NE f2Z

View Diff

1,2c1,2
< A4E SUM 3C0Z
< 2B A9 NE F2Z
---
> a4e SUM 3c0Z
> 2b a9 NE f2Z

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 466 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#467 Thomas Feiler / @SirTibsTibsford - Score: 45 - 09/04/13 @ 21:23
:%s-\<\([0-9A-F]\+\)\([Z$]*\)\>-\L\1\E\2-g<CR>ZZ

0 comments


#468 mathac / @mathacgolf - Score: 45 - 05/05/14 @ 19:29
:%s/A\|E\|C\|\B\|F/\L&/g<Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left>4<CR>ZZ

0 comments


Created by: @NbTson

468 active golfers, 1403 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
10
#91 - Norm Fasey / @DeathRay1977

05/03/2014 at 11:55AM

10
#92 - Chaitanya Desu / @ChaituNu

05/04/2014 at 04:06PM

10
#93 - Federico Galassi / @federicogalassi

05/27/2014 at 10:49AM

10
#94 - Steffen Siering / @ursobln

06/06/2014 at 12:07AM

10
#95 - Robert Bruce / @therealrobru

06/11/2014 at 12:54AM

10
#96 - John Meisner / @jmeisned

06/24/2014 at 08:31PM

10
#97 - Lasse Dalegaard / @ldalegaard

07/07/2014 at 08:49PM

10
#98 - Dominik Szerszeń / @DominikSze

07/23/2014 at 07:26AM

10
#99 - Oleg Tsymbalyuk / @oleg_tc

07/30/2014 at 04:46AM

10
#100 - Mattias Fransson / @azzidoos

09/15/2014 at 08:29PM

10
#101 - Johannes H. / @neVexa

09/23/2014 at 09:27AM

10
#102 - Roberto Alegro / @robertoaall

11/30/2014 at 05:00AM

10
#103 - Ivan Brennan / @ivanbrennan

12/06/2014 at 05:29PM

10
#104 - Michael LeCompte / @michaelslec

12/29/2014 at 10:52AM

10
#105 - yachi / @yaachi

12/29/2014 at 11:20AM

10
#106 - Jake Eskel / @JakeEskel

01/07/2015 at 02:42AM

10
#107 - Jordana Lachow / @TomofBedlam

01/12/2015 at 09:27PM

10
#108 - Charles Wu / @Congeec

01/14/2015 at 04:04AM

10
#109 - kimber gonzalez / @kimberlycreates

01/20/2015 at 03:10PM

10
#110 - Michael Giuffrida / @mgiuffrida

02/24/2015 at 09:10AM

10
#111 - Darth Shuvalov / @shuvalov_anton

03/01/2015 at 02:16PM

10
#112 - Alexander Kazakov / @volandkot

03/31/2015 at 08:21AM

10
#113 - Emmanuel Denloye-Ito / @EmmanuelDenloye

04/11/2015 at 08:10PM

10
#114 - E Both / @enboth

04/24/2015 at 07:50PM

10
#115 - Mutter Mumble / @muttermumble

07/10/2015 at 02:57PM

10
#116 - Ferdev vimgolf / @fergvimgolf

08/13/2015 at 09:16PM

10
#117 - Mike Adams / @davis_cromwell

10/02/2015 at 08:11PM

10
#118 - Walker Boh / @walker_boh

10/05/2015 at 02:45PM

10
#119 - Robert Goeddel / @f0rdpr3fect

11/11/2015 at 06:39PM

10
#120 - Tarik Koc / @tariktheturk

11/22/2015 at 01:40AM