Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 52bc9404cbab90000200001c

O Christmas Tree

Design a macro that makes trees grow (or ASCII triangles, if that's too hard).

Start file
^

End file
^

 ^
^^^

  ^
 ^^^
^^^^^

   ^
  ^^^
 ^^^^^
^^^^^^^

    ^
   ^^^
  ^^^^^
 ^^^^^^^
^^^^^^^^^

View Diff

2a3,20
>  ^
> ^^^
> 
>   ^
>  ^^^
> ^^^^^
> 
>    ^
>   ^^^
>  ^^^^^
> ^^^^^^^
> 
>     ^
>    ^^^
>   ^^^^^
>  ^^^^^^^
> ^^^^^^^^^
> 

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 31 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#32 Andrew Smith / amazing_andrew - Score: 31 - 08/14/16 @ 01:15
qqVGyGpmaGkYpI^^<Esc>k0<C-V>`aI <Esc>q3@qZZ

0 comments

#33 Erik Mainz / ermainz - Score: 32 - 12/27/13 @ 05:32
qqVGyGp0<C-V>GkI <Esc>GkYp0r^A^<Esc>{jq3@qZZ

0 comments

#34 Ryan Dwyer / ryan_dwyer - Score: 32 - 06/05/16 @ 21:29
qaVGyGpmb<C-V>GkI <Esc>GkYp>>Vr^`bq3@aZZ

0 comments

#35 Jan Willem / jagij - Score: 33 - 12/28/13 @ 15:15
qqyapGpvip<C-V>I <Esc>Gkyyp0cl^^<Esc>q3@q:wq<CR>

0 comments

#36 Dmitry Teslenko / krab_mozga - Score: 33 - 04/07/14 @ 08:05
qqyGGp<C-V>GkI <Esc>Gkyyphr^F<Esc>A^<Esc>{jq3@qZZ

0 comments

#37 Quota / Quotad - Score: 34 - 01/10/14 @ 14:09
qqyGGpYp:.,$s/\S\+/^&^<CR>{<CR>i <Esc>q3@qZZ

0 comments

#38 Andreas Källberg / Anka213 - Score: 34 - 01/17/14 @ 01:18
qqyapGp:'[,$s/^/ <CR>xkyyphs^^<Esc>q3@qZZ

0 comments

#39 Brian Peiris / brianpeiris - Score: 59 - 12/28/13 @ 04:27
:set list<CR>qq0yGGp0<C-V>GI <Esc>Gkyyp0s^<Esc>$a^<Esc>Gd$qkk@qkkk@qkkkk@q:wq<CR>

0 comments

Created by: udioica

39 active golfers, 88 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
22
#1 - Urtica dioica / udioica

12/27/2013 at 09:52PM

22
#2 - Petro Тrouq / zulolosi

12/29/2013 at 06:21AM

22
#3 - 黒猫 / darkfeline

01/17/2014 at 11:39AM

22
#4 - John Braxler / braxler

03/21/2014 at 08:35PM

23
#5 - oliver mueller / marcontwit

01/10/2014 at 08:01PM

25
#6 - Domingue Justin / _jdomingue

12/28/2013 at 09:43PM

25
#7 - Ali Moeeny / alimoeeny

12/29/2013 at 02:20AM

25
#8 - Denis Otkidach / otkds

02/04/2014 at 11:58AM

25
#9 - Kerson Hsiao / KersonHsiao

02/16/2014 at 10:38AM

25
#10 - Pedro Santos / pedrosans

02/20/2014 at 08:08PM

25
#11 - Joonas Pihlajamaa / jokkebk

03/21/2014 at 09:45AM

26
#12 - Tibor Claassen / codebeige

12/28/2013 at 12:08PM

26
#13 - Jacob Niehus / wilywampa

01/04/2014 at 08:52PM

26
#14 - Matthew Draper / _matthewd

02/28/2014 at 03:45PM

27
#15 - Roland Schatz / fl_Overmind

01/06/2014 at 01:14PM

27
#16 - Jacob Branaugh / jacobbranaugh

06/25/2014 at 11:00PM

28
#17 - Steve Tjoa / stevetjoa

12/27/2013 at 05:15AM

28
#18 - hiding / I_haveno_name

01/13/2014 at 11:38PM

28
#19 - Patrick Oscity / der_padde

03/27/2014 at 11:12AM

29
#20 - Herrington Darkholme / nonamesheep

12/27/2013 at 09:12AM

29
#21 - winterlight / winterlight4

12/27/2013 at 10:14PM

29
#22 - Brian Olpin / bolpin

04/20/2014 at 01:31AM

30
#23 - Joel Gärtner / Jeerok

01/08/2014 at 06:13PM

30
#24 - Marcin Cabaj / marcincabaj

02/04/2014 at 06:52PM

30
#25 - cj / cj01101

02/04/2014 at 11:37PM

30
#26 - Huang Yu / trave7er

03/05/2014 at 09:11PM

31
#27 - Allan Tokuda / atokuda

12/26/2013 at 10:20PM

31
#28 - Bobby R / onethereis

12/26/2013 at 10:38PM

31
#29 - Matthew Kirk / mjkirk

12/31/2013 at 06:16PM

31
#30 - Yann Moisan / YannMoisan

01/01/2014 at 06:01PM

31
#31 - Justin Knag / justinknag

10/14/2014 at 06:40PM

31
#32 - Andrew Smith / amazing_andrew

08/14/2016 at 01:15AM

32
#33 - Erik Mainz / ermainz

12/27/2013 at 05:32AM

32
#34 - Ryan Dwyer / ryan_dwyer

06/05/2016 at 09:29PM

33
#35 - Jan Willem / jagij

12/28/2013 at 03:15PM

33
#36 - Dmitry Teslenko / krab_mozga

04/07/2014 at 08:05AM

34
#37 - Quota / Quotad

01/10/2014 at 02:09PM

34
#38 - Andreas Källberg / Anka213

01/17/2014 at 01:18AM

59
#39 - Brian Peiris / brianpeiris

12/28/2013 at 04:27AM