Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 539c50b188b4e20002053e38

Where should I put the Newline?

Help me put the newline.

Start file
You see this --->newline<--- that is the newline.
End file
You see this --->
<--- that is the newline.

View Diff

1c1,2
< You see this --->newline<--- that is the newline.
---
> You see this --->
> <--- that is the newline.

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 399 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#400 Gurukandhamoorthi / @Gurukandhamoor1 - Score: 15 - 07/11/17 @ 14:47
:s/>.*</>\r<<CR>ZZ

0 comments


#401 Jurica / @Jurica34581259 - Score: 15 - 11/16/18 @ 16:41
:s/n.*</\r</<CR>ZZ

0 comments


Created by: @aditcr8

401 active golfers, 798 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
7
#151 - Mutter Mumble / @muttermumble

07/10/2015 at 12:50PM

7
#152 - Louis Burke / @LambdaABeta

07/10/2015 at 01:38PM

7
#153 - Teemu Okkonen / @TeemuOkkonen

07/13/2015 at 04:02PM

7
#154 - Maxim Prokopenko / @max1cp

07/21/2015 at 05:54PM

7
#155 - Ferdev vimgolf / @fergvimgolf

08/12/2015 at 08:29AM

7
#156 - Liam Thurston / @lthurston188

08/17/2015 at 04:49AM

7
#157 - Mikołaj Morzy / @MikolajMorzy

08/18/2015 at 04:25PM

7
#158 - Mike Adams / @davis_cromwell

10/02/2015 at 07:43PM

7
#159 - Walker Boh / @walker_boh

10/06/2015 at 08:45AM

7
#160 - davegoncalves / @davegoncalves

10/10/2015 at 03:36AM

7
#161 - Árpád Krejczinger / @krarpi

11/02/2015 at 05:09PM

7
#162 - Benjamin Schindler / @beschindler

11/23/2015 at 08:27PM

7
#163 - Wilmer Bandres / @WilmerBandres

12/16/2015 at 05:18PM

7
#164 - Jon Krause / @jkrause314

12/30/2015 at 05:18PM

7
#165 - manfred knapp / @fred_pooshka

01/04/2016 at 10:25PM

7
#166 - Roberto Carraretto / @robcarraretto

01/17/2016 at 01:42PM

7
#167 - Ian Trophy / @prfrgg

01/30/2016 at 01:47PM

7
#168 - Aleksey Zhidkov / @AlexeyZhidkov

02/14/2016 at 05:45AM

7
#169 - Jaron Hamlik / @jdhamlik

02/27/2016 at 11:48PM

7
#170 - Jan Bundesmann / @janbundesmann

03/09/2016 at 10:10AM

7
#171 - glepha / @glepha_vim

03/10/2016 at 05:09AM

7
#172 - Dimitar Dimitrov / @kurkale6ka

03/15/2016 at 02:21PM

7
#173 - Lior Rozen / @lixroz

05/02/2016 at 10:02PM

7
#174 - Foo Bar / @foobar01123

06/02/2016 at 03:09PM

7
#175 - Artur Kęsik / @arturkesik

06/24/2016 at 01:19PM

7
#176 - Vaisian / @Vaisian

07/02/2016 at 08:56PM

7
#177 - Will / @obiwan__k3n00bi

07/31/2016 at 08:37PM

7
#178 - George Angelopoulos / @g_usermod

08/04/2016 at 10:53PM

7
#179 - Thiago Belem / @TiuTalk

08/28/2016 at 12:04AM

7
#180 - Stephen Aument / @saument

09/06/2016 at 03:34AM