Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 53c66c482b4166000226bbee

Don't know what this is

Replace contents of brackets with matching number of spaces. Don't ask what the format's supposed to be.

Start file
[1:0]
[0:1]
[1:100]
[0:100]
End file
[   ]
[   ]
[     ]
[     ]

View Diff

1,4c1,4
< [1:0]
< [0:1]
< [1:100]
< [0:100]
---
> [   ]
> [   ]
> [     ]
> [     ]

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 482 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#483 luffy / @raxcoi - Score: 75 - 08/01/14 @ 13:29
:<Up><Up><Up>%s/[^\[\]]*/\=repeat()/g<Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Left>' ', strlen()<Left>submatch(0)<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

483 active golfers, 1571 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
11
#31 - Eric Lawless / @eplawless

12/11/2014 at 09:32AM

11
#32 - david hu / @chin33z

12/14/2014 at 03:22PM

11
#33 - Michael LeCompte / @michaelslec

12/29/2014 at 10:33AM

11
#34 - kimber gonzalez / @kimberlycreates

01/09/2015 at 10:49PM

11
#35 - low_ghost / @low_ghost_clone

01/17/2015 at 10:08PM

11
#36 - Naseem Al-Naji / @NaseemAlnaji

02/20/2015 at 03:06AM

11
#37 - Michael Giuffrida / @mgiuffrida

02/22/2015 at 07:48AM

11
#38 - Ala' Ibrahim / @alaa_ibrahim

03/10/2015 at 09:50AM

11
#39 - Matthew Pryor / @HodgekaGames

03/10/2015 at 05:36PM

11
#40 - DrHobo / @_DrHobo_

03/11/2015 at 02:45AM

11
#41 - Alexander Kazakov / @volandkot

03/30/2015 at 07:20AM

11
#42 - raghu erapaneedi / @raghue9

06/22/2015 at 02:33PM

11
#43 - Mutter Mumble / @muttermumble

07/10/2015 at 10:28AM

11
#44 - David Willming / @wdialvmeo

07/17/2015 at 03:32AM

11
#45 - Ferdev vimgolf / @fergvimgolf

08/11/2015 at 08:06PM

11
#46 - Liam Thurston / @lthurston188

08/18/2015 at 04:28AM

11
#47 - T A / @SirAviles

08/31/2015 at 05:57PM

11
#48 - Tamas Gal (Tom) / @tamasgal

09/26/2015 at 09:35PM

11
#49 - Mike Adams / @davis_cromwell

09/30/2015 at 08:51PM

11
#50 - Walker Boh / @walker_boh

10/05/2015 at 10:42AM

11
#51 - NuM / @NuM314

10/24/2015 at 09:18AM

11
#52 - Gabriel Lima / @ewilazarus

11/24/2015 at 11:36PM

11
#53 - Darius Smaliukas / @daraz999

11/29/2015 at 04:32PM

11
#54 - Wilmer Bandres / @WilmerBandres

12/11/2015 at 06:46PM

11
#55 - Jon Krause / @jkrause314

12/30/2015 at 01:23AM

11
#56 - Joseph J. Piché / @jjpiche

01/04/2016 at 10:08PM

11
#57 - Strabs / @artistavenue

01/11/2016 at 03:55PM

11
#58 - jackliusr / @jackliusr

01/13/2016 at 09:21AM

11
#59 - Roberto Carraretto / @robcarraretto

01/27/2016 at 12:22AM

11
#60 - Aleksey Zhidkov / @AlexeyZhidkov

02/01/2016 at 04:22AM